NCFL Round 1 Review | Nullawil outruns Bulls at Birchip


NULLAWIL marked an impressive first hit-out in the Goldacres North Central Football League’s senior footy action on Saturday at Birchip.

It was a unique contest between two premiers of the previous season.

Birchip-Watchem the reigning NCFL champion opened the ’23 campaign at home at George Cartwright Oval.

Nullawil had won the Golden Rivers grand final and then a clearance to the North Central.

It was the Brett Barker-coached Nullawil which made a flying start.

The Maroons led 26-4 at quarter-time and 42-19 by the main break.

Nullawil’s ability to win plenty of stoppages was a key factor as it scored 3.1 in the third term.

The Trevor Ryan-coached Bulls were astray with kicking at goal as they were down 2.10 to 9.7 at a quarter to go.

A high-scoring final term went Nullawil’s way, 22-20, as the Maroons marked an impressive 83-42 victory.

Mitch Farmer and Adam Thomson kicked three goals apiece as Dean Smith and Mark Thomson chipped in with two each.

Birchip-Watchem’s only multiple goalkicker was Ben Edwards on three.

Nullawil’s best were Dean Putt, Jordan Humphreys, Dean Smith, Zac Caccaviello, Mitch Farmer and Matt Quigley.

Jos Builder, Dale Hinkley, Nicholas Rippon, Joseph Reid, Lochlan Sirett and Ben Edwards were best for the Bulls.

Wycheproof-Narraport won a low-scoring contest on Donald’s turf.

The Boe Bish-coached Demons led 25-7 at quarter-time.

Donald struck back to win the second term, 20-8, but it was the visitors who held a goal buffer by the long break.

Led by the play of Damien Horbury, Jack McHutchison and Dane McLennan, Wycheproof-Narraport added two goals and kept the Royals to 1.2 in the vital third term.

The Demons won the last, 4-1, and celebrated a hard-fought 49-36 victory against the Rohan Brown-coached Donald which was runner-up last season.

Cody Green led the Demons’ attack on three goals.

Sam Dunstan booted three goals for the Royals.

Assistant coach Josh Walsh, Gedd Hommelhoff and Aaron Bateson were also among Wycheproof-Narraport’s best.

Jesse Wallin, Ryley Barrack, Jamie Papalia, James Heslop, Ross Young and Sam Dunstan were Donald’s best.

Wedderburn dominated the second half of its clash with Charlton in the Redbacks’ web at Wedderburn’s Donaldson Park.

The Andy Nisbet-coached Charlton made a great start to lead 20-13 at quarter-time.

Wedderburn hit back to win the second, 25-9, for a 38-29 lead by the main break.

In the third the Sam Barnes-coached Wedderburn took control.

The Redbacks scored 3.5 to 1.1 and then slammed on 7.5 to a point in the final term to complete a 108-37 victory.

Tom Campbell kicked a match-high five goals and Barnes chipped in with three.

There were no multiple goalkickers for the Navies.

Wedderburn’s best were Joe Lockhart, Isaac Holt, Tom Campbell, Jaran McKay, Jordan Rosengren and Louis Holt.

Daniel Thiesz, Jaydon Cowling, Rhyen Woods, Jed Thompson, Sam Woods and Tim Hill worked hard for Charlton.

The day’s play was completed under the Boort Park lights as Boort met Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers.

Highly-prized recruits and former AFL players Shane Biggs and Josh Jenkins did not take to the field for Boort or SLN respectively.

The Dale Cameron-coached Boort led 8-3 at quarter-time.

In the second it was the Tigers who blitzed by scoring 3.4 to nil for a 25-8 lead by the main break.

Defences were well on top in the third term as two behinds by SLN were the only scores.

Jointly coached by Bryce Delmenico and Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly turned a 19-point lead at the final break into a 25-point winning margin.

The Tigers won a highly-entertaining final term, 25-19, for a 52-27 victory.

Will Simpson kicked two goals for SLN to be the only multiple goalkicker in the match.

Best for the Tigers were Matthew Farrelly, Ryan O’Sullivan, Bryce Delmenico, Luke Martin, Jack Poulton and Charlie Cox.

Tom Potter, Levi Moss, Jarrod Fitzpatrick, Matthew Hodoras and Nathan Twigg played well for the Magpies.

St Arnaud had the bye.

North Central FL senior footy ladder:

Wedderburn 291 per cent, 4 points; Nullawil 197, 4; Sea Lake Nandaly 192, 4; Wycheproof-Narraport 136, 4; Donald 73, 0; Boort 51, 0; Birchip-Watchem 50, 0; Charlton 34, 0; St Arnaud 0, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

5 Tom Campbell, W’burn.

3 Sam Barnes, W’burn; Sam Dunstan, D; Ben Edwards, BW; Mitch Farmer, N; Cody Green, WN; Adam Thomson, N.

The Anthony Bourke-coached St Arnaud makes the trek to Nullwail for the round two showdown.

Sea Lake Nandaly takes on Birchip-Watchem at Sea Lake Oval.

Charlton and Boort clash at Charlton Park.

Wycheproof-Narraport faces Wedderburn at Wycheproof.

Donald has the bye.