NCFL Round 1 Review


Birchip-Watchem takes points on Nullawil’s turf

THE Birchip-Watchem Bulls marked a four-goal victory on Nullawil’s turf in Saturday’s start to the Goldacres-sponsored senior football in the North Central Football League.

Nine goals to five in the first half set up a fine win by the Trevor Ryan-coached Bulls.

Runner-up last season, a new-look Nullawil had Darryl Wilson, a multiple premiership coach at Strathfieldsaye Storm and Colbinabbin mark his first match as Maroons’ coach.

A closely-fought opening term ended with the Bulls up 26-19.

Birchip-Watchem then scored five goals straight to lead 56-33 by the main break.

Nullawil fought back to win the next term, 26-20.

The Bulls finished with plenty of run as they added 5.2 to 4.1 in the last to complete a 108-84 victory.

Ben Edwards was in superb form as he kicked seven goals as Ty Colbert and Nicholas Rippon added four each.

Nullawil’s leading goalkickers were Mitch Farmer, five, and recruits, Nick Keogh from Kangaroo Flat and Jack Exell from Strathfieldsaye on four and three majors.

Best for the Bulls were Dale Hinkley, Nicholas Rippon, Ty Colbert, Lachlan Ryan, Ben Edwards and Angus Butterfield.

David Isbister, Matthew Wade, Dean Putt, Lucas Caccaviello, Charlie Fawcett and Andrew Casey were Nullawil’s best.

Donald fought from 14 points down at the start of the second half to beat Wycheproof-Narraport by 27 points.

It was the Wayne Mitrovic-coached Demons who put the heat on in the second to lead 40-26 by the main break.

Donald lifted its play to win the crucial third term, 24-7.

Inspired by the play of Jesse Wallin, Andrew Browne and Trent Grant it was the Josh Potter-coached Donald which added 5.6 to 2.0 in the last quarter.

At the final siren the Royals led 86-59.

Trent Grant kicked six goals for Donald as Andrew Browne and Dale Kerr added two.

Former North Melbourne forward and long-time Wycheproof-Narraport star Corey Jones kicked three goals as Steven Kennedy chipped in with two.

Best for Donald included Hayden Geddes, Noah Berry and Dale Kerr.

The Demons’ best were Steven Kennedy, Morgan Fawcett, George Turner, Robert Fawcett, Chris Cox and Lachlan Van Schaik.

Reigning premier Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers overcame a slow start at home to beat Boort by 41 points.

It was the Dale Cameron-coached Boort which took right up to the champs in the first term to lead 26-20 by the break.

Eight goals to just two in the second put SLN in front by 32 points at half-time.

Boort struck back to win the next term, 20-8, but the Tigers won the last, 40-19.

At the final siren Sea Lake Nandaly led 119 to 78.

Former Adelaide and Geelong key forward Josh Jenkins led the Tigers attack on eight goals to earn best on ground honours as Will Simpson chipped in with four.

Boort’s attack was led James Keeble, three; Ryan McGhie and Will Perryman, two.

The Tigers’ best were Josh Jenkins, Wade Donnan, Tyson McKenzie, Thomas Cox, Lachy McClelland and Connor Michael.

James Keeble, Jhye Baddeley-Kelly, James Byrne, Natnael McLaren and Jayden Dick played well for the Magpies.

A triple premiership player at North Bendigo, Tom Metherell marked his senior coaching debut with Wedderburn on St Arnaud’s ground at Lord Nelson Park.

The Wedderburn Redbacks made a flying start to lead 44-6 by quarter-time.

Oscar Holt and Antony Zelencich capped off plenty of moves with four goals apiece and Jackson McEwen added three as Wedderburn kicked away to win 20.7 (127) to 6.2 (38).

St Arnaud’s leading goalkickers were Torin Petrie, three, and Josh Walters, two.

Wedderburn’s best were Hamish Lockhart, Jackson McEwen, Oscar Holt, Darcy Jackson, Joe Lockhart and Louis Holt.

Harley Durward, Zac Phillips, Ryan Lempa, Kurtis Torney, Daniel Gifford and Matthew Goode played well for the Scott Driscoll-coached Saints.

Standings in the Goldacres-sponsored senior footy in the North Central FNL:

Wedderburn 334 per cent, 4 points; Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers 152, 4; Donald 145, 4; Birchip-Watchem 128, 4; Nullawil 77, 0; Wycheproof-Narraport 68, 0; Boort 65, 0; St Arnaud 29, 0; Charlton 0, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

8 Josh Jenkins, Sea Lake Nandaly.

7 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

6 Trent Grant, Donald.

5 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

4 Ty Colbert, Birchip-Watchem.

4 Oscar Holt, Wedderburn.

4 Nick Keogh, Nullawil.

4 Nicholas Rippon, Birchip-Watchem.

4 Will Simpson, Sea Lake Nandaly.

4 Anthony Zelencich, Wedderburn.

3 Jack Exell, Nullawil.

3 Corey Jones, Wycheproof-Narraport.

3 James Keeble, Boort.

3 Jackson McEwen, Wedderburn.

3 Torin Petrie, St Arnaud.

Ladder leaders Wedderburn and Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers clash in next Saturday’s second round at Wedderburn’s Donaldson Park from 2.30pm.

Wycheproof-Narraport takes on St Arnaud at Wycheproof.

Boort faces Charlton at Boort Park.

Birchip-Watchem and Donald will fight for the premiership points at Birchip’s George Cartwright Oval.

Nullawil has the bye.