Royals tackle Tigers at Donald

DONALD faces a red-hot Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers as third meets second in Saturday’s 14th round of senior footy in the Goldacres North Central Football League season.

Top spot is not yet decided as the ladder-leading Birchip Watchem which is a win clear of Sea Lake Nandaly hosts the Tigers in the 15th round.

The Donald line-up will be desperate to take the points and lift confidence going into the finals series.

When Sea Lake Nandaly and Donald met in round seven it was the Tigers who won 104-62.

The Joel Donnan-coached SLN led 54-29 at ½.

Donald struck back to win the third term, 22-21, but the Tigers were too strong.

Trent Donnan and Billy McInnes led the Tigers attack on three goals.

Best for SLN were Trent Donnan, Ryan O’Sullivan, Luke Martin and Bryce Delmenico.

The Royals’ best were Ryan Hards, Brody Haddow, Sam Griffiths and Ross Young.

Donald and Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers were victorious last round.

The Royals won at Wedderburn’s Donaldson Park by 20 points as Sam Griffiths and Brody Haddow kicked three goals each.

Donald onballer Brody Haddow was best afield as Reece McNally, Daniel Venditti, Ross Young, Josh Potter and Scott Wood played well.

The Tigers marked a 149-point win at home against Boort as Will Simpson kicked seven goals in a best afield performance.

A talented attack includes Wade Donnan, Matt Elliott, Justin Ellis and Billy McInnes.

In-form players for the Tigers include Brodie Adcock, Wade Donnan, Austin Mertz, Callan Noonan and Jai Wright.


Birchip Watchem takes on Wedderburn on the Bulls’ turf at George Cartwright Oval in Birchip.

Latest showdown between the clubs ended in a 52-point win for the Bulls at Wedderburn where Daniel Castellano kicked four goals and ruckman Lochlan Sirett added three.

Best for Birchip Watchem in that match were Clayton and Dale Hinkley, Sam Simmons and Lochlan Sirett.

The Redbacks’ attack was led by Tom Campbell on three goals as Hamish Winter-Irving, Sam Lockhart, Luke Holt and Corey Lowry were best for the red and black.

In last Saturday’s action, Campbell kicked seven goals against Donald.

Key players for Wedderburn include Jackson Guan, Jaran McKay and Jordan Rosengren.

The Bulls turned a 15-point lead at half-time of the round 14 match against Wycheproof Narraport into a 52-point victory as Nathan Gordon, five goals, and Sam Simmons, three, led the way.

Players to watch for Birchip Watchem include Josh Booth at full-back, ruck-rover Elliot Jaeschke, James Lindeback in defence, and Kyle Stevens on a wing.


Boort tackles St Arnaud at Boort Park.

The Magpies will be under pressure from a team chasing consecutive wins.

In round seven it was Boort which won 75-71 at St Arnaud’s Lord Nelson Park.

Jesse Muscatello kicked three goals as Cam Barr, Keiren Wilson, Cody Gunn and Alex Davis were Boort’s best.

The Saints’ attack was led by Jack Tillig on five goals to be among the best with Kurtis Torney, Daniel Gifford and Jacob Tillig.

Best for the Saints in last Saturday’s win against Charlton were Daniel Gifford, Jacob Tillig, Thomas Douglas, Will Bertalli, Will Jackson and Harley Durward.

Boort will look to Matt Chisari, Sam Green, Levi Moss, Tom Potter, Nathan Twigg and Keiren Wilson to lead the way to its fifth win of the year.


Charlton is at home against Wycheproof Narraport.

The Demons scored a big win against the Navies in round seven and will be confident of taking the points.

Key players for Wycheproof-Narraport include Rick and Spencer Allan, Connor Burge, Gedd Hommelhoff, Damien Horbury, Cody Green and Jack McHutchsion.

Charlton will rely a lot on the play of Tim Hill, Kade Blow, Riely Thiesz, Mason Heenan, Charles Patullo, Patrick Soulsby, Jed and Rhys Thompson, and Aaron Walklate to break the Navies’ winless run.


North Central FL senior footy ladder:

Birchip Watchem 259 per cent, 48 points; Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers 317 44; Donald 250, 44; Wedderburn 110, 32; Boort 47, 16; Wycheproof-Narraport 67, 12; St Arnaud 41, 12; Charlton 27, 0.


Leading goalkickers:

52 Billy McInnes, SLN.

38 Daniel Castellano, BW.

36 Will Sheahan, BW.

34 Will Simpson, SLN.

33 Tom Campbell, W’burn.

32 Blake Grant, D.

27 Justin Ellis, SLN.

26 Jordan Rosengren, W’burn.

23 Leigh Burke, D; Cody Green, WN; Brody Haddow, D.

20 Danny Benaim, W’burn; Brodie Leonard-Shannon, B.

18 Wade Donnan, SLN; Matt Elliott, SLN; Elliot Jaeschke, BW.

17 Dylan Adkins, BW; Trent Donnan, SLN.

16 Nathan Gordon, BW; Gedd Hommelhoff, WN.


Written by Nathan Dole.