NCFL | Round 16 WRAP UP

Top four victorious in run to finals

ALL top four teams warmed up for finals by winning in Saturday’s 16th round of senior footy in the Goldacres North Central Football League.

It was CHS Broadbent round in which the logo for the grain company was proudly displayed on all footballs in senior matches and on the league record.

Closest margin of the day in the senior footy was at Wedderburn’s Donaldson Park where the Redbacks beat Wycheproof-Narraport by 29 points.

The Boe Bish-coached Wycheproof-Narraport made a great start to lead 24-20 at quarter-time and 37-31 by the long break.

It was Wedderburn which dominated most of the second half as it added 8.7 to 2.8 to win 86-57.

Tom Campbell led the Redbacks’ attack on three goals as Danny Benaim and Luke Holt added two each.

The Demons’ attack was led by the classy Gedd Hommelhoff on four goals.

Wedderburn’s best were Mitchell McEwen, Jordan Rosengren, Joe Lockhart, Jaran McKay, Luke Holt and Chris Hargreaves.

Best for the Demons were James Coatsworth, Gedd Hommelhoff, Justin Bateson, Spencer Allan, Damien Horbury and Tom Trewin.

Donald won by 67 points at Lord Nelson Park in St Arnaud.

The Rohan Brown-coached Royals led 20-4 at quarter-time, but the Saints struck back to score 21 points in the second term as Donald added 33.

Defences were on top in the third as Donald scored 1.5 to 1.1.

Led by the play on-ballers Ross Young, Brody Haddow and the versatile Ryley Barrack it was the Royals who switched to another gear in the last as they scored 6.2 to 0.3 to complete a 102-35 victory.

Leigh Burke kicked five goals for Donald as Noah Berry, Will Burke and Brody Haddow chipped in with two each.

The Saints’ attack was led by Thomas Douglas on two.

Best for Donald included Dyson Bell-Warren, Reece McNally and Ryan Leeder.

Matt Goode, Thomas Bertalli, Mitch Birthisel, Jack Tillig, Mace Bibby and William Bertalli played well for the Torin Petrie-coached Saints.

The Bulls from Birchip Watchem charged to a 29-8 lead by quarter-time of the clash at Boort Park.

It was 56-14 in favour of the Bulls by half-time.

Boort’s defensive pressure lifted markedly in the second half as it held the visitors to 5.5.

Daniel Castellano and Lachy Foott led the Birchip Watchem attack on three and two goals apiece in a 91-29 result.

Sam Barraclough kicked two goals for Boort.

Best for the Bulls were ruckman Lochlan Sirett, Nathan Gordon, Clayton and Dale Hinkley, Daniel Ratcliffe and Cormacc Wilson.

Sam Green, Nathan Twigg, Keiren Wilson, Matt Chisari, Tom Hawker and Alex Davis worked hard for Boort.

A tally of eight goals by Will Simpson was a highlight in Sea Lake Nandaly’s big win at home against Charlton.

The Tigers raced to a 27-nil lead by quarter-time and added 7.3 to 0.2 in the second.

Sea Lake Nandaly dominated the second half with returns of 9.8 and 10.7 as the Navies scored 2.1.

A formidable attack led by Simpson, and four goals apiece Justin Ellis, Billy McInnes and John Summerhayes ensured the Tigers passed the 200-point mark.

Simpson, McInnes, Jack Poulter, captain Matt Elliott, Wade Donnan and ruckman Ryan O’Sullivan were best in a 201-15 victory by the Joel Donnan-coached Tigers.

Best for Charlton were Jed and Rhys Thompson, Aaron Walklate, Patrick Soulsby, Tim Hill and Kade Blow in what’s been a tough run for the Navies.


Final ladder after 16 rounds in the Goldacres-backed NCFL senior footy season:

Birchip Watchem 256 per cent, 60 points; Donald 254, 56; Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers 285, 48; Weddeburn 112, 40; Wycheproof Narraport 76, 20; Boort 46, 20; St Arnaud 43, 12; Charlton 27, 0.


Leading goalkickers:

58 Billy McInnes, SLN.

43 Will Simpson, SLN.

42 Tom Campbell, W’burn; Daniel Castellano, BW; Will Sheahan, BW.

34 Leigh Burke, D.

33 Blake Grant, D; Justin Ellis, SLN.

31 Cody Green, WN.

28 Brody Haddow, D.

27 Danny Benaim, W’burn; Josh Potter, D; Jordan Rosengren, W’burn.

26 Nathan Gordon, BW.

24 Gedd Hommelhoff, WN.

23 Brodie Leonard-Shannon, B.

22 Matt Elliott, SLN.


Finals action kicks off next Saturday at Donald where Sea Lake Nandaly takes on Wedderburn in the first semi-final.

The second semi-final on August 27 at Sea Lake features Birchip Watchem up against Donald.

Preliminary finals will be on September 3 at Charlton Park.

This year’s grand finals on September 10 will be contested at Wycheproof.


Written by Nathan Dole.

Photo Credit – 1Mile2Go Photography