NCFL Round 4 Review | Charlton celebrates long-awaited victory


CHARLTON’S winless run was broken in Saturday’s fourth round of senior and reserves footy in the Goldacres North Central FNL competition.

The Navies made a hot start to the senior clash with St Arnaud at Charlton Park.

Desperate to mark a victory after a winless run in ’22 and across the opening three rounds of this season, Charlton led 46-nil at quarter-time.

St Arnaud struck back to win the second, 33-16, but the Andy Nisbet-coached Charlton controlled play in the third term as it added 4.2 to just two points.

Although St Arnaud won the final quarter, 25-19, it was the Navies players and fans who celebrated a 104-60 victory.

Charlton’s attack in a 16-goal game was led by Kris Clifford, four; Travis Baird and Nick Thompson, three.

Also on target were Jaydon Cowling and Harrison Taylor, two; Riely Thiesz and Sam Woods.

Leading goalkickers for the Saints were Jake Hicks, four; and captain Kurtis Torney, two.

Charlton’s best were Jesse Taylor, Jed Carey, Rhyen Woods, Kris Clifford, Anthony Judd and Harrison Taylor.

Best for St Arnaud were Jake Hicks, Kurtis Torney, Nick Birthisel, Mitch Egan, Harley Durward and coach Anthony Bourke.

A memorable day for Charlton included a seven-goal win by the reserves.

It was the Navies’ first victory in the reserves in four years.

Match of the day in the seniors was at Sea Lake where the Tigers took on Nullawil.

The Sea Lake Nandaly line-up led 16-6 at quarter-time and then dominated most of the second to gain a 22-point buffer by half-time.

Nullawil fought back to win the third, 27-21, but it was the Bryce Delmenico and Billy McInnes-coached Tigers who scored 4.4 to nil in the last to complete a 91-47 victory.

McInnes kicked a match-high six goals as Thomas Cox and Wade Donnan chipped in with two each.

Nullawil’s attack was led by Mitch Farmer, three; and Adam Thomson, two.

Tigers’ captain Ryan O’Sullivan and Billy McInnes were best afield.

Trent Donnan, Austin Mertz, Wade Donnan and Jack Poulton all played well for the yellow and black.

Best for the Brett Barker-coached Nullawil were Matt Quigley, Jordan Humphreys, Dean Putt, Patrick Kelly and Mark Thomson.

Boort won a closely-fought contest with Donald on the Royals’ turf.

The Rohan Brown-coached Donald led 11-6 at quarter-time, but Boort lifted to score 4.2 to 2.0 in the second.

It was goal-for-goal in the third as the Magpies led 51-49 at the final break.

Inspired by the play of Jonathan Lanyon, Natnael McLaren and Jarrod Fitzpatrick it was Boort which finished strongly to claim a 72-62 victory.

Multiple goalkickers for the Dale Cameron-coached Magpies were Alex Davis, three; Matt Chisari, Jarrod Fitzpatrick and Tom Potter, two.

Donald’s attack was led by Sam Dunstan on three.

Best for Boort included Nathan Twigg, Jesse Muscatello and Alex Davis.

Ryley Barrack, Ross Young, Ryan Hards, Chris Lynch, Harry Forrest and Hayden Geddes played well for the Royals.

Wycheproof-Narraport could not halt Birchip-Watchem’s charge to a big win.

The Demons were on home turf at Wycheproof, but it was the Bulls who brought plenty of heat.

Birchip-Watchem led 40-1 at quarter-time and scored 3.2 to 1.1 in the second.

The Trevor Ryan-coached Bulls did not ease the pressure or run in the second half as they added 10.6 to 1.2 to complete a 126-16 victory.

Daniel Castellano kicked five goals as Ben Edwards and Lachy Foott booted three each.

Goalkickers for the Demons were coach Boe Bish and Cody Green.

Best for Birchip-Watchem were Nicholas and Marshall Rippon, Joseph Reid, William Marks, Lachy Foott and Lachy Ryan.

Josh Walsh, Koby Hommelhoff, Damien Horbury, Joe Kenny, Lachlan Van Schaik and Aaron Bateson were the Demons’ best.

Wedderburn had the bye.

North Central FNL senior footy ladder:

Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers 214 per cent, 16 points; Boort 127, 10; Wycheproof-Narraport 81, 10; Birchip-Watchem 201, 8; Nullawil 170, 8; Wedderburn 104, 4; Donald 98, 4; Charlton 45, 4; St Arnaud 26, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

24 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

15 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers.

13 Sam Dunstan, Donald.

12 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

11 Sam Barnes, Wedderburn.

10 Cody Green, Wycheproof-Narraport.

10 Gedd Hommelhoff, Wycheproof-Narraport.

9 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

9 Daniel Castellano, Birchip-Watchem.

9 Adam Thomson, Nullawil.

The Birchip-Watchem Bulls are back on their turf at George Cartwright Oval in Birchip for Saturday’s round five clash with Donald from 2.30pm.

It’s the Saints up against Demons at Lord Nelson Park as St Arnaud hosts Wycheproof-Narraport.

Boort and Wedderburn fight for premiership points at Boort Park.

Nullawil is at home to play Charlton.

Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers have the bye.