NCFL Round 4 Review


Birchip-Watchem breaks Tigers unbeaten streak

THE Bulls from Birchip-Watchem broke Sea Lake Nandaly’s unbeaten streak in Saturday’s fourth round of the Goldacres North Central FL senior footy action.

The Trevor Ryan-coached Bulls won a terrific contest on their turf at Birchip’s George Cartwright Oval by 13 points.

A Tigers line-up jointly coached by Billy McInnes and Bryce Delmenico was unbeaten premier in ’23.

In Saturday’s big clash, Sea Lake Nandaly turned an eight-point deficit at quarter-time into a one-goal lead by the long break.

Goalkicking accuracy was a highlight of the Bulls play as they had scored 12.5 to 11.7 across the opening three quarters.

In the last it was the Bulls who kicked away, 3.1 to 1.4.

At the final siren, Birchip-Watchem led 96-83.

Ben Edwards led the Bulls attack on five goals as Joseph Reid and Nicholas Rippon added three each.

Leading goalkickers for the Tigers were Billy McInnes, three; Lachy McClelland, Jackson McMahon and Will Simpson, two.

Best for Birchip-Watchem were Joseph Reid, Ben Edwards, ruckman Hamish Hosking, Lachy Foott, Nicholas Rippon and Meyrick Buchanan.

Sea Lake Nandaly’s best were Jack Poulton, Ryan O’Sullivan, Thomas Cox, Wade Donnan, Luke Martin and Kane Donnan.

Wycheproof-Narraport claimed the Mount of Prevention Cup as it scored an 85-47 win against Charlton at Wycheproof Recreation Reserve.

Just eight points separated the teams going into the final quarter.

The Wayne Mitrovic-coached Demons dominated the last term.

A tally of 5.2 to just two behinds sealed the 38-point victory for the red and blue.

Steven Kennedy led the Demons attack on three goals as Cody Green and Wayne Mitrovic added two goals.

Leading goalkicker for Charlton was Jesse Taylor on three.

Wycheproof-Narraport’s best were Spencer Allan, Thomas Trewin, Steven Kennedy, Trevor Rumbold, Jack Marlais and Maysen Murgov.

Charlton coach Mitch Collins was best along with Jesse Taylor, Tyler Fehsler, Jed Thompson, Joseph Tormey and Elliott Fitzpatrick.

Nullawil marked its first win of the season.

The Darryl Wilson-coached Nullawil raced to a 25-nil lead by quarter-time of its home game against St Arnaud.

A closely-fought second quarter went Nullawil’s way, 16-15.

The Maroons were in control across the second half as they scored 10.8 to 3.4.

At the final siren, Nullawil led 109-37.

One of several gun recruits at Nullawil after playing at Strathfieldsaye last season, Jack Exell kicked four goals.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Maroons were Rylee Smith, four; Mitch Farmer, three; and David Isbister, two.

Jack Male booted two goals for the Saints.

Nullawil’s best were Dean Putt, Daniel Watts, Matt Quigley, Rylee Smith, David Isbister and Lucas Caccaviello.

Harley Durward, Jake Hicks, Zac Phillips, coach Scott Driscoll, and Torin Petrie were best for the Saints.

Wedderburn dominated most of the second half at Boort to beat the Magpies by 49 points.

A high-scoring first hour ended with Wedderburn in front, 60-52.

The Tom Metherell-coached Redbacks then slammed on 6.5 to 1.1 in the third term.

Led by the play of Jordan Hargreaves, Mitch McEwen and Joe Lockhart, Wedderburn kicked on for a 117-68 victory.

Tom Campbell and Anthony Zelencich kicked five goals each for the red and black as Darcy Jackson and Mitch McEwen added two.

Boort’s attack was led by Tom Potter, three, and Will Perryman, two.

Best for Wedderburn included Tom Campbell and Darcy Jackson.

Tom Potter, Matt Austin, Jhye Baddeley-Kelly, James Keeble and James Byrne were best for the Dale Cameron-coached Magpies.

Donald had the bye.

North Central FNL senior footy ladder:

Birchip-Watchem 178 per cent, 16 points; Wedderburn 177, 12; Sea Lake Nandaly 164, 12; Donald 96, 8; Wycheproof-Narraport 81, 8; Nullawil 103, 4; Boort 83, 4; Charlton 47, 0; St Arnaud 37, 0.

In next Saturday’s fifth round, Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers are on home turf to tackle Nullawil in the rematch of the 2023 grand finalists.

St Arnaud faces Donald at St Arnaud’s Lord Nelson Park.

Charlton takes on Birchip-Watchem at Charlton Park.

Boort is up against Wycheproof-Narraport at Boort Park.

Wedderburn has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

28 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

15 Anthony Zelencich, Wedderburn.

13 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

11 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

11 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

10 Nicholas Rippon, Birchip-Watchem.

9 Trent Grant, Donald.

8 Oscar Holt, Wedderburn.

8 Josh Jenkins, Sea Lake Nandaly.

8 Corey Jones, Wycheproof-Narraport.

7 Ethan Coleman, Boort.

7 Jack Exell, Nullawil.

7 Lachy McClelland, Sea Lake Nandaly.

7 Will Perryman, Boort.

7 Torin Petrie, St Arnaud.

6 Will Simpson, Sea Lake Nandaly.

6 Rylee Smith, Nullawil.