NCFL Round 5 Preview


Grand finalists clash on Tigers’ turf

A REMATCH of last season’s grand finalists, Sea Lake Nandaly and Nullawil highlights Saturday’s fifth round of the Goldacres senior footy in the North Central competition.

The Tigers and Maroons will fight for the premiership points from 2.30pm.

Stung by last week’s loss to Birchip-Watchem, Sea Lake Nandaly will be on home turf at Sea Lake Oval.

As the Tigers unbeaten run was broken, Nullawil marked its first victory of ’24.

The Darryl Wilson-coached Nullawil starts this round a win behind Donald and Wycheproof-Narraport.

The Maroons do have superior percentage to the Royals and Demons.

Sea Lake Nandaly co-coaches Bryce Delmenico and Billy McInnes will have their team fired up from the first contest.

Best in the Tigers 13-point loss on Birchip-Watchem’s turf at George Cartwright Oval were Jack Poulton, Ryan O’Sullivan, Thomas Cox and Wade Donnan.

A talented SLN line-up includes Kane Donnan, captain Ryan O’Sullivan, Brody Weir and Luke Martin.

The Tigers also welcome back former Adelaide and Geelong key forward Josh Jenkins for this match.

Nullawil marked a 12-goal win at home against St Arnaud last round.

Best for the Maroons were Dean Putt, Daniel Watts, Matt Quigley and Rylee Smith.

It was Jack Exell and Rylee Smith on four goals apiece, and Mitch Farmer on three who led Nullawil’s attack against St Arnaud.

The play of Lucas Caccaviello, Matt Quigley, captain Jordan Humphreys and David Isbister will have a big impact on Nullawil’s chances of upsetting the Tigers.

Boort is at home to take on Wycheproof-Narraport.

The Dale Cameron-coached Boort is seventh on a one-two record.

Latest hit-out for the Magpies was a 68-117 loss at home to Wedderburn.

Boort’s best in that match were Tom Potter, Matt Austin, Jhye Baddeley-Kelly and James Keeble.

The Magpies’ squad includes captain Jarrod Fitzpatrick, Natnael McLaren, Malachi Coleman, Ryan McGhie and Will Perryman.

Wycheproof-Narraport will be keen to build on the momentum of a 38-point win against Charlton.

Players to watch for the Wayne Mitrovic-coached Demons include captain Spencer Allan, Steven Kennedy, Jack Marlais, Maysen Murgov, Trevor Rumbold and Thomas Trewin.

Add in the experience of Rick Allan, Boe Bish and Josh Walsh and Wycheproof-Narraport will be tough to beat.

Charlton will be back at Charlton Park to take on the ladder-leading Birchip-Watchem.

Coach Mitch Collins was Charlton’s best in an 85-47 loss at Wycheproof.

The Navies will look to Jesse Taylor, captain Jed Thompson, Patrick Soulsby, Bailey Kemp and Sean O’Connor to keep the heat on the Bulls in every quarter.

Massive challenge for a Navies’ defence in curbing the influence of gun forward Ben Edwards who kicked five goals in the win against Sea Lake Nandaly.

A tally of 28 goals has Edwards well in front in the goalkicking race.

The Trevor Ryan-coached Bulls have ruckman Hamish Hosking, Lachy Foott, Joseph Reid and Nicholas Rippon in great form.

Other players to watch for Birchip-Watchem include Lochlan Sirett, Sam Simmons, Ty Colbert and Lachlan Ryan.

St Arnaud is on home turf at Lord Nelson Park to take on Donald.

The Saints will play under lights from 6pm.

Been a tough run for the Saints who played Wedderburn in round one and have since faced Wycheproof-Narraport, Birchip-Watchem and Nullawil.

Best for the Scott Driscoll-coached Saints in the match at Nullawil were Harley Durward, Jake Hicks and Zac Phillips.

The experience of Driscoll and Torin Petrie is a huge plus for the young St Arnaud team.

A Donald line-up coached by Josh Potter had the bye last round.

Best in a 39-point win by the Royals at Nullawil in round three included Ryley Barrack, Daniel Pearce and Dale Kerr.

The Donald team bound for St Arnaud includes Feeny medallist Ross Young, captain Hayden Geddes, Patrick Morgan and Jett Adams.

Wedderburn has the bye.

North Central FNL senior footy ladder:

Birchip-Watchem 178 per cent, 16 points; Wedderburn 177, 12; Sea Lake Nandaly 164, 12; Donald 96, 8; Wycheproof-Narraport 81, 8; Nullawil 103, 4; Boort 83, 4; Charlton 47, 0; St Arnaud 37, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

28 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

15 Anthony Zelencich, Wedderburn.

13 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

11 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

11 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

10 Nicholas Rippon, Birchip-Watchem.

9 Trent Grant, Donald.

8 Oscar Holt, Wedderburn.

8 Josh Jenkins, Sea Lake Nandaly.

8 Corey Jones, Wycheproof-Narraport.

7 Ethan Coleman, Boort.

7 Jack Exell, Nullawil.

7 Lachy McClelland, Sea Lake Nandaly.

7 Will Perryman, Boort.

7 Torin Petrie, St Arnaud.