NCFL Round 5 Review


Boort fights to win thriller against Demons

BOORT fought to score a thrilling victory against Wycheproof-Narraport in Saturday’s fifth round of the Goldacres North Central FNL senior footy action.

The Magpies and Demons played a terrific game at Boort Park.

It was Boort which raced to a 19-point lead after it scored 5.1 to 1.6 in the first term.

The Demons struck back to win the second, 25-13.

Boort led by two goals going into the final term.

Inspired by the play of James Keeble, Jordan Bell and Tom Potter, Boort held on to win 74-72.

The Magpies’ attack was led by Jordan Bell and Tom Potter on two goals each.

Matthew Trzeciak kicked a match-high five goals for the Demons as Nicholas Grabowski added four.

Best for the Dale Cameron-coached Boort included Jhye Baddeley-Kelly, James Wilson and James Byrne.

Thomas Trewin, Matthew Trzeziak, Nicholas Grabowski, Spencer Allan, Trevor Rumbold and Daniel Bibby were best for the Wayne Mitrovic-coached Demons.

Rd 5

Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers bounced back from defeat to mark a 28-point win in the ’23 grand final rematch with Nullawil.

The Tigers led 20-8 at quarter-time before both teams added 4.2 in the second term.

In front by 13 points going into the last term, Sea Lake Nandaly won the quarter, 31-26, to record a 99-71 victory.

Former Adelaide and Geelong key forward Josh Jenkins marked his return to the Tigers’ attack by kicking nine goals in a best on ground performance.

SLN co-coach Billy McInnes added two goals.

Nullawil’s attack was led by Jack Exell and Mitch Farmer on three goals.

Best for a Sea Lake Nandaly team jointly coached by Bryce Delmenico were Josh Jenkins, Luke Martin, Lachy McClelland, Max Cahoon, Wade Donnan and Chase Tait.

Dean Putt, Matt Wade, Lucas Caccaviello, David Isbister, Jack Exell and Matt Quigley played well for the Darryl Wilson-coached Nullawil.

Birchip-Watchem charged to a 115-point victory at Charlton Park.

The Bulls turned an 18-point lead at quarter-time into a 40-point buffer by the main break after they scored 4.4 to a goal in the second term.

Led by the brilliance of Ben Edwards, eight goals, and Nicholas Rippon, five, the Bulls kicked away to score 23.19 (157) to 6.6 (42).

Other multiple-goalkickers for the Trevor Ryan-coached Birchip-Watchem were Joseph Reid, three; Meyrick Buchanan and Darcy Reid, two.

Chris Gavaghan led the Mitch Collins-coached Charlton on three goals.

List of best players for both teams was not supplied.

Donald scored a 94-50 win on St Arnaud’s turf at Lord Nelson Park.

The Josh Potter-coached Royals raced to a 33-8 lead by quarter-time.

An evenly fought second term went Donald’s way, 21-8.

The Royals won the next two quarters, 20-10 and 20-14.

Trent Grant was in great form as he kicked five goals.

Dale Kerr, three, and Josh Potter, two, also played well in Donald’s attack.

St Arnaud’s leading goalkickers were Jake Hicks, three, and Mitch Egan, two.

Best for Donald were Ryan Hards, Dale Kerr, Andrew Browne, Trent and Blake Grant, and Hayden Geddes.

Mitch Egan, Tom Myers, Brayden Phillips, Kurtis Torney, coach Scott Driscoll and Owen Lowe played well for the Saints.

North Central FNL senior footy ladder:

Birchip-Watchem 208 per cent, 20 points; Sea Lake Nandaly159, 16; Wedderburn 177, 12; Donald 112, 12; Boort 87, 8; Wycheproof-Narraport 84, 8; Nullawil 94, 4; St Arnaud 40, 0; Charlton  39, 0.

Because of Hockey Weekend there will be no footy or netball in the NCFL on May 18.

The footy and netball season resumes on May 25.

Donald will be at home against Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers.

Nullawil faces Charlton at Nullawil Recreation Reserve.

Birchip-Watchem tackles Boort at Birchip’s George Cartwright Oval.

Wycheproof-Narraport and Wedderburn meet in the clash of the Demons and Redbacks at Wycheproof Recreation Reserve.

St Arnaud has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

36 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

17 Josh Jenkins, Sea Lake Nandaly.

15 Nicholas Rippon, Birchip-Watchem.

15 Anthony Zelencich, Wedderburn.

14 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

14 Trent Grant, Donald.

13 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

13 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

10 Jack Exell, Nullawil.

8 Ethan Coleman, Boort.

8 Nicholas Grabowski, Wycheproof-Narraport.

8 Oscar Holt, Wedderburn.

8 Corey Jones, Wycheproof-Narraport.

8 Will Perryman, Boort.

7 Blake Grant, Donald.

7 Lachy McClelland, Sea Lake Nandaly.

7 Torin Petrie, St Arnaud.

7 Joseph Reid, Birchip-Watchem.

6 Dale Kerr, Donald.

6 Josh Potter, Donald.

6 Darcy Reid, Birchip-Watchem.

6 Will Simpson, Sea Lake Nandaly.

6 Rylee Smith, Nullawil.