NCFL Round 6 Review | Nullawil dominates play at Wycheproof


LEAGUE newcomer in Nullawil was too strong for Wycheproof-Narraport in Saturday’s sixth round of senior footy in the Goldacres North Central FNL competition.

The Maroons led 21-7 at quarter-time of the match at Wycheproof and then scored 4.1 to 1.1 in the second.

An attack led by Andrew Oberdorfer, four goals, and Mitch Farmer, three, capitalised on Nullawil’s dominance at clearances and through midfield.

The Brett Barker-coached Maroons did not ease up in the second half as they scored 9.3 to 5.2 to complete a 103-46 victory.

Other multiple goalkickers for Nullawil were Matt Quigley and Dean Smith on two each.

Leading goalkickers for the Demons were James Coatsworth, Cody Green and Gedd Hommelhoff on two.

Nullawil’s best were Jordan Humphreys, Patrick Kelly, Jonathan Casey, Dean Putt, Daniel Watts and Mitch Farmer.

Josh Walsh, Jack McHutchison, Gedd and Koby Hommelhoff, James Coatsworth and Lachlan Van Schaik were best for the Boe Bish-coached Demons.

Birchip-Watchem won a high-scoring contest on Wedderburn’s turf at Donaldson Park.

The reigning premier led 21-14 at quarter-time and then slammed on eight straight goals as the Redbacks added 4.3 in the second term.

Led by the play of Marshall and Nicholas Rippon, and Joseph Reid, Birchip-Watchem outscored the Redbacks by seven points in the third term and a goal in the last to record a 111-70 victory.

Nathan Gordon was in top form as he kicked six goals for the Bulls.

Other multiple goalkickers for Birchip-Watchem were Daniel Castellano, three; Tom Batarilo, Nicholas Rippon and Lochlan Sirett, two.

Wedderburn’s attack was led by Danny Benaim, three; Michell McEwen and Jordan Rosengren, two.

Best for the Trevor Ryan-coached Bulls included Jonty Randall, captain Dale Hinkley and Lachlan Ryan.

Jordan Rosengren, Mitchell McEwen, Adam Postle, Danny Benaim, Luke Holt and Jackson Guan were best for the Sam Barnes-coached Wedderburn.

A nine-goal haul by Sam Dunstan was a highlight of Donald’s win at home against St Arnaud.

The Royal Blues scored 5.4 to 1.1 in the second and then added 5.1 to just three behinds in the second to lead 65-10 at the main break.

Goalkicking accuracy was astray in the third as Donald scored 2.6 and the Saints added two points.

The Rohan Brown-coached Donald went on to win 104-26.

Dunstan dominated in the forward 50m arc for the Royals, while Feeny medallist and classy on-baller Ross Young kicked two goals.

Goalkickers for the Saints were William Bertalli, Sam Male and Jacob Tillig.

Best afield honours went to Sam Dunstan as Chris Lynch, Trent Grant, Hayden Geddes, Ryan Hards and Josh Potter were among Donald’s best.

Bradley Organ, Jake Male, Mitch Egan, Nick and Mitch Birthisel, and Daniel Gifford worked hard for the Anthony Bourke-coached Saints.

Sea Lake Nandaly was too strong for Charlton at Charlton Park.

The Tigers scored 5.5 to a point in the first term and then added 6.3 as the Navies kicked two goals in the second.

The unbeaten SLN line-up led by 68 points going into the final term and then scored 7.5 to a goal to lead 142-33 at the final siren.

Will Simpson led the Tigers’ attack on six goals as Billy McInnes kicked five.

Other multiple goalkickers for SLN were Wade Donnan, Matt Elliott and Jackson McMahon with two.

Chris Gavaghan and Nick Thompson kicked two majors for Charlton.

Best for the Tigers who are jointly coached by Bryce Delmenico and Billy McInnes were Wade and Kane Donnan, Will Simpson, Matt Elliott, Ryan O’Sullivan and Austin Mertz.

Sam Woods, Kris Clifford, Chris Gavaghan, Jaydon Cowling, Rhyen Woods and Jed Thompson played well for the Andy Nisbet-coached Charlton.

Boort had the bye.

North Central FNL senior footy ladder:

Sea Lake Nandaly 250 per cent, 20 points; Nullawil 203, 16; Wycheproof-Narraport 85, 14; Birchip-Watchem 169, 12; Donald 129, 12; Boort 121, 10; Wedderburn 93, 8; Charlton 39, 4; St Arnaud 30, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

27 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

25 Sam Dunstan, Donald.

20 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

18 Gedd Hommelhoff, Wycheproof-Narraport.

18 Adam Thomson, Nullawil.

15 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

14 Sam Barnes, Wedderburn.

14 Daniel Castellano, Birchip-Watchem.

13 Cody Green, Wycheproof-Narraport.

13 Nathan Gordon, Birchip-Watchem.

12 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

11 Will Simpson, Sea Lake Nandaly.

In next Saturday’s seventh round, Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers take on Wycheproof-Narraport from 2.30pm at Sea Lake Oval.

Nullawil is at home to play Donald.

Birchip-Watchem takes on Boort at Birchip’s George Cartwright Oval.

It’s the Saints against the Redbacks as St Arnaud hosts Wedderburn at Lord Nelson Park.

Charlton has the bye.