NCFL Round 8 Review | Nullawil wins thriller at Wedderburn


NULLAWIL celebrated a one-goal victory at Wedderburn’s Donaldson Park in Saturday’s eighth round of senior footy in the Goldacres North Central FNL season.

The Maroons raced to a 46-23 lead by half-time of the clash with the Redbacks.

In the third it was the Sam Barnes-coached Wedderburn which fought back strongly to slam on 4.7 to a goal to lead 54-52 at a quarter to play.

Nullawil lifted in the last to score 3.5 as the red and black added 2.3.

At the final siren the Brett Barker-coached Nullawil led 75-69 which meant it held second place in the premiership race.

Adam Thomson was in superb form as he kicked six goals for Nullawil.

Other goalkickers for the Maroons were Angus Forrester, Jordan Humphreys, David Isbister, Jarrod Taylor and Daniel Watts.

The Redbacks’ attack was led by Sam Barnes and Tom Campbell on three each.

Nullawil’s best were Dean Smith, David Isbister, Jonathan Casey, Kyle Doran, Jordan Humphreys and Adam Thomson.

Jordan Rosengren, Corey Lowry, Adam Postle, Sam Barnes, Tom Campbell and Luke Brown were Wedderburn’s best.

Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers were ruthless on Donald’s turf.

A nine-goal to one blitz in the opening term set up what would be a huge win for the unbeaten Tigers against the Royal Blues.

A formidable SLN attack which included former Adelaide and Geelong forward Josh Jenkins, along with Will Simpson and John Summerhayes capped off the on-ball and midfield dominance.

The Tigers had passed the century mark by half-time as they led 101-18 at the long break.

It was an evenly-contested third term as the Rohan Brown-scored Donald scored 2.1 to 5.3.

The Tigers added 4.6 to 2.1 in the last to complete a 164-44 victory.

Jenkins finished with a match-high six goals as Simpson and Summerhayes were on five each.

Other multiple goalkickers for SLN were Thomas Cox, three; co-coach Bryce Delmenico and Tyson McKenzie with two.

Sam Dunstan booted three goals for Donald.

Best for the Tigers, who have key forward Billy McInnes as a co-coach were Trent Donnan, Austin Mertz, Bryce Delmenico, Josh Jenkins, John Summerhayes and Kane Donnan.

Jesse Wallin, Eddie Landwehr, Ryley Barrack, Rian McGough, Rory O’Shannessy and Ross Young worked hard for the Royals.

Boort dominated the first half of its clash with St Arnaud to set up a 10-goal win at Boort Park.

The Magpies led 23-6 at quarter-time and then added four goals to just two behinds in the second.

Led by the play of Ryan McGhie, Jonathan Lanyon and Nathan Twigg, Boort kicked on for an 86-23 victory.

Western Bulldogs premiership player Shane Biggs and Natnael McLaren led the Magpies’ attack on four goals as Jarrod Fitzpatrick added two.

Goalkickers for St Arnaud were William Bertalli, Mitch Birthisel and Jake Male.

Best for the Dale Cameron-coached Boort included Jarrod Fitzpatrick, Alex Davis and Jack Smith.

Brad Organ, Nick Birthisel, Jacob Tillig, Mitch Birthisel, William Bertalli and Harley Durward played well for the Anthony Bourke-coached Saints.

Wycheproof-Narraport marked a 69-point win against Charlton at Wycheproof.

The Boe Bish-coached Demons led 34-13 at the first break and 54-22 by half-time.

In the final hour it was Wycheproof-Narraport which added 6.6 and defended brilliantly to keep the Navies to five behinds.

Ben Fraser kicked six goals, Dane McLennan chipped in with three as Cody Green and Gedd Hommelhoff booted two in the 96-27 result.

Charlton’s goalkickers were Chris Gavaghan, Nick Thompson and Rhyen Woods.

Best for the Demons were Spencer Allan, Dane McLennan, Ben Fraser, Koby Hommelhoff, Matthew Beckmans and Alex Hogan.

Cobi Fitzpatrick, Nick Thompson, Sam and Rhyen Woods, Tim Hill and Jed Thompson were best for the Andy Nisbet-coached Navies.

Birchip-Watchem had the bye.

North Central FNL senior footy ladder:

Sea Lake Nandaly 263 per cent, 28 points; Nullawil 164, 20; Wycheproof-Narraport 94, 18; Birchip-Watchem 176, 16; Donald 94, 16; Boort 118, 14; Wedderburn 105, 12; Charlton 38, 4; St Arnaud 31, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

32 Sam Dunstan, Donald.

27 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

25 Adam Thomson, Nullawil.

23 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

21 Sam Barnes, Wedderburn.

21 Gedd Hommelhoff, Wycheproof-Narraport.

19 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

19 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

17 Daniel Castellano, Birchip-Watchem.

17 Nathan Gordon, Birchip-Watchem.

17 Will Simpson, Sea Lake Nandaly.

16 Cody Green, Wycheproof-Narraport.

12 Jarrod Fitzpatrick, Boort.

12 Nicholas Rippon, Birchip-Watchem.

12 John Summerhayes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

11 Josh Jenkins, Sea Lake Nandaly.

10 Danny Benaim, Wedderburn.

10 Natnael McLaren, Boort.

10 Nick Thompson, Charlton.

The league hits the halfway mark of the home and away series next Saturday.

Nullawil is on home turf to tackle Boort.

Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers face Wedderburn at Sea Lake Oval.

Charlton and Donald clash at Charlton Park.

St Arnaud takes on Birchip-Watchem at St Arnaud’s Lord Nelson Park.

Wycheproof-Narraport has the bye.