NCFL Round 9 Review | Third-quarter blitz sets up Nullawil win against Boort


A SEVEN-GOAL blitz in the third quarter set up Nullawil’s victory against Boort in Saturday’s ninth round of senior footy in the Goldacres North Central FNL season.

Nullawil led 25-18 at half-time of its home game.

In the third the Brett Barker-coached Maroons slammed on 7.1 to 2.2 to gain a six-goal lead at a quarter to go.

Led by the play of Patrick Kelly, Adam Thomson and Andrew Casey, Nullawil kicked on for an 89-43 victory.

Nullawil’s attack was led by Nicholas Grigg, Andrew Oberdorfer and Adam Thomson on three each, and Andrew Casey with two.

Jarrod Fitzpatrick kicked three goals for the Dale Cameron-coached Boort as Tom Potter added two.

Best for the Maroons included Zach Caccaviello, Dean Putt and Jordan Humphreys.

Boort’s best were Keiren Wilson, Jarrod Fitzpatrick, Nathan Twigg, Jonathan Lanyon, Ryan McGhie and Jarrod Starr.

An eight-goal haul by Sam Dunstan highlighted Donald’s win at Charlton.

The Royal Blues led 17-10 at quarter-time and then scored 6.1 to 2.2 in the second.

It was a closely-fought third term which Donald won, 33-23.

The Andy Nisbet-coached Charlton never gave up and went on to score 8.12 as Donald was 18.12 at the final siren.

Other multiple goalkickers for Donald were Hayden Geddes, Trent Grant and Ross Young on two.

Charlton’s attack was led by Nick Thompson, three; and Chris Gavaghan, two.

Best for the Rohan Brown-coached Donald were Chris Lynch, Rory O’Shannassy, Sam Dunstan, Ross Young, Blake Grant and Jesse Wallin.

Jed Thompson, Jaydon Cowling, Nick Thompson, Rhyen Woods, Chris Gavaghan and Mason Heenan played well for the Navies.

Sea Lake Nandaly was too strong for Wedderburn in Tigers’ territory at Sea Lake.

The Tigers led 33-6 at quarter-time and 63-19 by the long break.

Wedderburn hit back to win the third term, 14-7, but it was SLN which slammed on 7.7 to 1.1 in the last for a 119-40 victory.

Former Adelaide and Geelong forward Josh Jenkins kicked six goals for Sea Lake Nandaly as Thomas Cox added four.

Wedderburn’s attack was led by Tom Campbell on two.

Best for the Tigers who are jointly coached by Bryce Delmenico and Billy McInnes were Luke Martin, Thomas Cox, Trent Donnan, Ryan O’Sullivan, Kane Donnan and Tyson McKenzie.

Joe Lockhart, Isaac Holt, Jacob DeAraugo, Sam Lockhart, Jordan Rosengren and Jayden Jones played well for the Sam Barnes-coached Wedderburn.

The Birchip-Watchem Bulls charged to a 69-point lead by half-time of the clash on St Arnaud’s turf at Lord Nelson Park after they scored 10.2 to a point in the second term.

The Anthony Bourke-coached Saints worked hard to score 13 points in the first and 14 in the third terms, but were held to a point in the second and scoreless in the last.

Ben Edwards kicked five goals and Nathan Gordon added four as Birchip-Watchem marked a 134-30 victory.

Best for the Trevor Ryan-coached Bulls were Sam Simmons, Marshall and Nicholas Rippon, Jos Builder, Daniel Batarilo and Lachlan Ryan.

Dillon Baldock, William Bertalli, Harley Durward, Nick Birthisel, Kurtis Torney and Brad Organ played well for the Saints.

Wycheproof-Narraport had the bye.

North Central FNL senior footy ladder:

Sea Lake Nandaly 268 per cent, 32 points; Nullawil 169, 24; Birchip-Watchem 196, 20; Donald 105, 20; Wycheproof-Narraport 94, 18; Boort 106, 14; Wedderburn 91, 12; Charlton 39, 4; St Arnaud 29, 0.

The second half of the home-and-away series kicks off next Saturday.

Nullawil is at home to play Birchip-Watchem.

Sea Lake Nandaly take on Boort at Sea Lake Oval.

Charlton and Wedderburn clash at Charlton Park.

Wycheproof-Narraport hosts Donald.

St Arnaud has the bye.

Leading goalkickers:

40 Sam Dunstan, Donald.

32 Ben Edwards, Birchip-Watchem.

28 Adam Thomson, Nullawil.

24 Billy McInnes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

22 Sam Barnes, Wedderburn.

21 Tom Campbell, Wedderburn.

21 Nathan Gordon, Birchip-Watchem.

21 Gedd Hommelhoff, Wycheproof-Narraport.

19 Mitch Farmer, Nullawil.

18 Daniel Castellano, Birchip-Watchem.

18 Will Simpson, Sea Lake Nandaly.

17 Josh Jenkins, Sea Lake Nandaly.

15 Jarrod Fitzpatrick, Boort.

14 Cody Green, Wycheproof-Narraport.

14 Nicholas Rippon, Birchip-Watchem.

13 Thomas Cox, Sea Lake Nandaly.

13 Nick Thompson, Charlton.

12 Danny Benaim, Wedderburn.

12 John Summerhayes, Sea Lake Nandaly.

10 Natnael McLaren, Boort.