Magpies make flying start to season

CASTLEMAINE soared to a big win against league newcomer Sandhurst in Sunday’s opening round of the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s football competition.

The Magpies’ run at a premiership hat-trick kicked off on Sandhurst’s ground at Ewing Park in Bendigo.

Castlemaine scored six straight to a point in the first term and the goalkicking accuracy all match was superb.

The Jordan Cochrane-coached Magpies scored 7.1 in the second, 4.0 in the third, and 5.1 in the last.

At the final siren Castlemaine led 22.2 (134) to 2.5 (17).

Magpies’ captain Tiahna Cochrane kicked seven goals.

Details on other goalkickers were not supplied.

Sandhurst’s goals were kicked by Piper Dunlop and Madeline Sexton.

Best for Castlemaine were Jemma Finning, Maeve Tupper, Abbey Bertram, Aisling Tupper, Tiahna Cochrane and Eloise Gretgrix.

Katie Walker, Piper Dunlop, Lucy Harrison, Chloe Taylor, Ruby Campbell and Maddy White played well for the Andrew Saladino-coached Sandhurst.

Eight goals by Sienna Hobbs capped a big win by Eaglehawk against Bendigo Thunder on the Hawks’ ground at Canterbury Park.

Jointly coached by Molly Metcalf and Geoff West, Eaglehawk led 28-2 at quarter-time and then scored 4.1 to nil in the second.

The Hawks’ pressure and run did not let up as they charged away for a 99-9 result.

Hobbs kicked eight goals and Metcalf chipped in with two.

Emily Button goaled for Thunder in the final quarter.

Best for Eaglehawk were Lexie Moss, Shelby Faulkner, Emily Field, Caitlin Evans, Lana Westaway and Taylah Nicholson.

Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke, Alannah Leach, Emily Button, Nikeah Anderson, Emily Galtieri and Laura Stilo were best for the Mick McInnes-coached Thunder.

Woorinen scored a 109-point victory on North Bendigo’s turf at The Bendigo Club Oval in Atkins Street.

The Tigers slammed on 6.1 to nil in the first term and 6.2 to 1.1 in the second.

Led by the play of coach Katelyn Hazlett, Tenay Fellows and Brydi Lewis, Woorinen kicked on to win 20.10 (130) to 3.3 (21).

Tigers’ forwards Samantha Johnson and Brydi Lewis were in superb touch as they nine and seven goals.

Other multiple goalkickers for the yellow and black were Tenay Fellows and Freda Wosomo, two.

Goalkickers for North Bendigo were Maddison Hargreaves-Hale, Quetta Holloway-Jinks and Tanika Thomson.

Best for Woorinen included Emma Peacock, Sheridan Gallagher and Sophie McClelland.

Maddison Hargreaves-Hale, Laura Douglas, AJay Turner, Nicole Woodman and Aisha Mansfield played well for the Ross Egleton-coached Bulldogs.

League newcomers Marong and White Hills met in the Panthers’ den at Marong’s Malone Park.

It was the Phil Murley-coached Demons who dominated play.

White Hills scored 6.7 in the first and 4.3 in the second.

The red and black kicked on to reach 16.14 (110) as it kept Marong scoreless.

A list of the Demons goalkickers was not supplied.

Best for White Hills were Oakley Turner, Kadeisha Smith, Hannah Ripper and Daisy Gee.

Caitlin Shaw, Hannah Cue, Regeena Torney, Dani Jeffery, Bianca Bourke and Bridget Chalkley worked hard for a Marong team jointly coached by David Blume and Jimmy Evenden.

Golden Square had the bye.

Standings in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy competition:

White Hills 1571 per cent, 4 points; Eaglehawk 1100, 4; Castlemaine 788, 4; Woorinen 650, 4; North Bendigo 15, 0; Sandhurst 12, 0; Bendigo Thunder 9, 0; Marong 6, 0; Golden Square 0, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

9 Samantha Johnston, W.

8 Sienna Hobbs, Eh.

7 Tiahna Cochrane, Cm; Brydi Lewis, W.

Round two kicks off with Friday night’s clash between Eaglehawk and Golden Square at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park from 7.15pm.

All other matches will be on Sunday.

It’s the rematch of last season’s grand finalists when Castlemaine hosts Woorinen at Camp Reserve from 1pm.

North Bendigo faces Bendigo Thunder at The Bendigo Club Oval in North Bendigo’s Atkins Street at 1pm.

League newcomers Marong and Sandhurst clash in the Panthers’ den at Marong’s Malone Park from 1.30pm.

White Hills has the bye.