HDFNL Footy | Round 14 Preview

Grasshoppers face Saints at Colbinabbin

COLBINABBIN faces a tough test against Heathcote in this Saturday’s 14th round of the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football Netball League’s senior footy action.

The Julian Bull-coached Colbinabbin will start favourite to take the points, but also be wary of an opponent which finished within eight points of North Bendigo at Heathcote last round.

In round five, Colbinabbin won 97-64 at Heathcote’s Barrack Reserve after the Saints led 32-6 at quarter-time.

Best for the Grasshoppers in that win were Matt Riordan, Ben Barton, Laine Fitzgerald and Clint Shields.

Third on the ladder, Colbinabbin won its 13th round clash at White Hills by 34 points.

In-form players for the green and gold include Todd Clarke, Logan Fitzgerald, David Price and Stephen Tuohey.

One of several gun recruits for the Saints, Braden Padmore kicked six goals against North Bendigo and will test Colbo all match.

Other players to watch for the Andrew Saladino-coached Heathcote include Codie Price off half-back, Shaun Harrison, Jackson Jones, Billy Price  and Will Long.


White Hills must win at Elmore to keep the heat on Heathcote in the battle for a finals berth.

The Demons were under siege in the final term of their previous clash with Elmore as the Bloods scored 7.3 to 2.2.

At the final siren the Jack Fallon-coached White Hills led 125-108.

The Demons were held to just six goals by Colbinabbin at home last Saturday as Ben Bacon, David Wright and Liam Bartels were among the best.

White Hills will look for big games from the likes of Mitch Dole, Patrick Eefting, Nathan Moffat, Bayden Fallon  and captain Rhys Irwin.

The Bloods have not played since June 18.

Key players for the Dylan Friedberger and Dylan Gordon-coached Elmore include Zack Holmberg, Zac Laffy and Jack Trewick.

Bloods’ vice-captain Darcy Laffy kicked eight goals against the Demons last time and will be a focal point in an attack that includes Price, Sawyer and Trewick.


Huntly makes the trek to Toolleen for a showdown with Mount Pleasant.

The Blues won the fifth round clash at Huntly’s Strauch Reserve by 101 points.

Best in Huntly’s latest hit-out against Lockington Bamawm United included Mitch Christensen, Jayden Cordy and Flynn Campbell.

The Hawks will rely a lot on the experience of coach Stacy Fiske, Jaydon Cowling, Steve Kairn and Tyler Miles.

Pressure through the midfield and at stoppages will be a key for the Hawks in halting the Blues run into the forward 50m arc.

A formidable Mounts line-up co-coached by Darren Walsh and Adam Baird includes Mitch Bennett, ruckman Chris Down, ruck-rover Billy Mahony, Zane Keighran and Zebb Murrell.


North Bendigo is back at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street to take on Leitchville-Gunbower.

The Bulldogs won at Leitchville in round five by 79 points as ruckman Jeremy Lambden and Beau Cross were among the best.

Hakeem Johnson has kicked 18 goals in his past three games and could have another big afternoon in an attack that includes Matt Gray and Dylan Klemm.

Lockington Bamawm United has the bye.


Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

Lockington Bamawm United 217 per cent, 44 points; Mount Pleasant 179, 40; Colbinabbin 186, 38; North Bendigo 139, 34; Heathcote 81, 20; White Hills 75, 16; Elmore 60, 8; Huntly 62, 4; Leitchville-Gunbower 40, 4.


Leading goalkickers:

54 Ben Weightman, MP.

37 James Brain, Colbo.

36 Dylan Klemm, NB.

28 Jed Brain, Colbo.; Anthony McMahon, LBU.

27 Darcy Laffy, Elm.; Thomas Leech, LBU.

25 Liam Bartels, WH.

24 Ben Fulford, LBU.

23 Matt Gray, NB; Braden Padmore, H’cote.

22 Mitchell Bennett, MP.

21 Rhys Woodland, LBU.

19 Jarod Bacon, LBU; Jack Brooks, H’cote; Kai Cavallaro, H’cote; Hakeem Johnson, NB.

17 Jordan Ford, NB; Billy Hawken, LG.

16 Blake Azzopardi, LG; Jackson Conforti, H’cote; Stephen Tuohey, Colbo.; Dean Tydell, MP.

15 Laine Fitzgerald, Colbo.; Tyler Phillips, LBU.


Written by Nathan Dole.