BFNL Round 3 Football Review


Kangaroos stun South Bendigo at Dower Park

KANGAROO Flat scored a stunning 27-point victory against South Bendigo in Saturday’s third round of the Bendigo Bank Bendigo FNL senior footy season.

The Kangaroos turned a two-goal deficit at quarter-time into 27-point triumph on their ground at Dower Park in Anzac round.

It was a brilliant start by the Bloods as they scored eight straight goals in the first term.

From there it was the Michael Ellings-coached Roos who won the next three quarters – 20-13, 27-7, and 38-26.

Justin Bateson led the winners’ attack on five goals as Harry Whitty added four.

The in-form Brock Harvey kicked eight goals for the Bloods.

Kangaroo Flat’s best were Jake Hywood, Luke Ellings, Justin Bateson, Ethan Roberts, Lachlan Dalziel and Xav Dingfelder-Hope.

Best for the Bloods were Brock Harvey, Aidan Avery, Brody Haddow, Cody Brooks, Zac Hare and Isaiah Miller.

Strathfieldsaye turned a five-point deficit at the start of the final term into a nine-point lead by the end of its clash with Eaglehawk at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

The Travis Matheson-coached Eaglehawk led 41-35 at half-time and 49-44 by the last change.

In the final quarter it was Storm which scored 4.3 to 2.1 to complete a 71-62 victory.

James Schischka and Abe Sheahan kicked three goals each for Storm.

Bailey Ilsley, Joel Mullen, Jonty Neaves and Darcy Richards all kicked two goals for the Hawks.

Strathfieldsaye’s best were Cooper Jones, Malik Gordon, Lachlan Gill, Riley Wilson, Shannon Geary and Patrick Blandford.

Billy Evans, Bailey Ilsley, Joel Mullen, Clayton Holmes, Brayden Frost and Ben Thompson were the Borough’s best.

Golden Square outplayed and outran Castlemaine in the final term on the Magpies’ turf at Camp Reserve.

Defences were well on top across the opening three quarters as Castlemaine led 39-34 at the final change.

In the last it was the Brad Eaton-coached Bulldogs who slammed on 7.2 and held the Pies to a tally of 4.3.

A 78-66 victory was Golden Square’s first of the season.

Co-captain Jayden Burke, Jordan Rosengren and Jack Stewart led the Bulldogs attack on three goals apiece.

Multiple goalkickers for Castlemaine were Jack Chester, coach Michael Hartley, Bailey Henderson and Tyson Hickey.

Golden Square’s best were Tom Strauch, Kai Daniels, Macey Eaton, Dylan Hird, Jack Stewart and Harrison Burke.

Lloyd Butcher, Tyson Hickey, Jack Sutherland, Jack Chester, Kalan Huntly and Brodie Byrne were Castlemaine’s best.

Gisborne racked up 63 scoring shots in a big win at home at Gardiner Reserve against Maryborough.

The Rob Waters-coached Bulldogs scored 9.6 to a goal in the opening term.

By half-time Gisborne had almost hit the 150-point mark as it led 23.9 (147) to 1.3 (9).

On-ballers Brad Bernacki and Flynn Lakey racked up plenty of disposals and gun ruckman Braidon Blake was in hot form.

The classy Pat McKenna kicked a match-high eight goals as Harry Luxmoore, seven; Sam Graham, five; Zac Denahy and Harry Thomas, four, capitalised on the Dogs’ dominance.

Co-coach Matt Johnston and Fraser Russell goaled for Maryborough.

Best for Gisborne included Harry Luxmoore, Zac Denahy and Pat McKenna.

Maryborough’s best were Tom Myers, Kya Lanfranchi, Alex Brown, Mitchell McClure, co-coach Coby Perry and Josh Britten.

Sandhurst had the bye.

Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Strathfieldsaye 136 per cent, 12 points; Sandhurst 253, 8; Kangaroo Flat 82, 8; Gisborne 335, 4; Eaglehawk 107, 4; Castlemaine 105, 4; South Bendigo 95, 4; Golden Square 84, 4; Maryborough 28, 0.

In next Saturday’s fourth round, Eaglehawk and Castlemaine meet in the Pat Cronin Foundation Round feature match at Canterbury Park.

South Bendigo takes on Gisborne at Kennington’s Harry Trott Oval.

Golden Square faces Kangaroo Flat on the Bulldogs’ turf in Wade Street.

Maryborough is home at Princes Park to tackle Sandhurst.

Strathfieldsaye has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race for the Ron Best Medal:

19 Brock Harvey, South Bendigo.

14 Michael Hartley, Castlemaine.

13 Pat McKenna, Gisborne.

8 Justin Bateson, Kangaroo Flat.

8 Bailey Henderson, Castlemaine.

8 Harry Luxmoore, Gisborne.

8 James Schischka, Strathfieldsaye.

8 Steven Stroobants, South Bendigo.

7 Jayden Burke, Golden Square.

7 Fergus Greene, Sandhurst.

7 Joel Wharton, Sandhurst.

7 Harry Whitty, Kangaroo Flat.

6 Abe Sheahan, Strathfieldsaye.

5 Zac Denahy, Gisborne.

5 Sam Graham, Gisborne.

5 Zach Greeves, Castlemaine.

5 Malik Gordon, Strathfieldsaye.

5 Jordan Rosengren, Golden Square.

5 Jack Stewart, Golden Square.

5 Lachlan Tardrew, Sandhurst.