Bulls break Tigers’ lengthy winning run on Sea Lake turf

THE Birchip Watchem Bulls charged to a nine-point victory on Sea Lake Nandaly’s turf at Sea Lake in Saturday’s 10th round of the Goldacres North Central Football League season.

Sea Lake was gunning for a 14th consecutive victory, but it was the Bulls who claimed a sensational victory, 10.7 (67) to 8.10 (58).

Birchip Watchem marked a 10-point victory at Sea Lake in the 12th round of the 2019 season played on July 20.

Stung by that loss, the Tigers went on to win the premiership decider against Birchip Watchem and won a great battle in the Bulls’ pen at George  Cartwright Oval by four points in this season’s third round.

In the latest showdown between two of the league’s strongest clubs, Birchip Watchem led 25-7 at quarter-time and 43-24 by the long break.

Sea Lake Nandaly fought back to make it 57-all at a quarter to go.

In a thrilling final term it was the Bulls who scored 1.4 to a point to seal victory.

Nathan Gordon kicked five goals in a best afield performance for the Bulls as Ruben Vesikuru added two.

The Tigers’ leading goalkickers were Kyle Brasser and Kris Stevens on two each.

Best for the Bulls included Doug Grining, Stefan Pye, Jacob Christie, Bill Lee and Dale Hinkley.

Sea Lake Nandaly’s best were Brasser, John Summerhayes, Ben Daniels, Jack Poulton, Charlie Cox and Joel Donnan.

Donald jumped to the fourth rung after a 20-point victory at Boort Park.

The Magpies led 15-11 at quarter-time, but the Royals dominated the second to score 3.3 to a point.

Donald’s 16-point buffer at the long break was cut by three points in the third term, but it was the Royals who finished strongly to add 3.2 to 2.1 in the last.

Brendan Goss kicked four goals and Ross Young added two in a 64-44 win for Donald.

Braeden Deary led Boort’s attack on two goals.

Best for the Royals were James Wall, Jordan Bath, Ross Young, Rian McGough, Goss and Sam Griffiths.

Magpies’ veteran Keiren Wilson was best along with Levi Roberts-Moss, Jack Smith, Jesse Muscatello, Patrick Murphy and Matt Chisari.

Wedderburn moved within two points of the ladder-leading Sea Lake Nandaly after a 26-point win against Charlton at Donaldson Park.

The Redbacks won three of four terms in a 10.10 (70) to 6.8 (44) result.

Ben DeAraugo marked his return to Wedderburn’s attack by kicking four goals as Ryan Butters chipped in with two.

Joseph McGrath booted three goals for the Navies.

Best for the Redbacks were Jackson Guan, Hamish Winter-Irving, Jordan Hargreaves, Darcy Jackson, Mitch McEwen and Corey Lowry.

Thomas Finlay, Dean McKay, Tyson Watton, Joseph Tormey, Angus McKenzie and Kade Blow worked hard for Charlton.

St Arnaud won on Wycheproof Narraport’s turf by 20 points.

The Saints led 31-8 at quarter-time and 51-27 by the long break.

A fired-up Wycheproof Narraport won the third term, 19-14 to be within 19 points at a quarter to go.

Both line-ups added a goal in the last as the Saints beat the Demons, 73-53.

Nick Baldwin and Angus Grant led St Arnaud’s attack on three goals as William Bertalli and Tom Douglas added two each.

The Demons’ goalkickers were James Coatsworth, Tom Trewin, George and Joel Turner on two apiece.

North Central FL senior football ladder:

Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers 325 per cent, 28 points; Wedderburn 139, 26; Birchip Watchem 196, 24; Donald 88, 14; Charlton 66, 12; Boort 65, 12; St Arnaud 56, 8; Wycheproof Narraport 49, 4.

Teams have a general bye on July 3.

The season resumes on July 10 when the 11th round is contested.

Charlton takes on Sea Lake Nandaly Tigers at Charlton Park.

Birchip Watchem and Boort clash at George Cartwright Oval in Birchip.

Donald tackles Wycheproof Narraport at Donald Recreation Reserve.

St Arnaud faces Wedderburn in the Saints’ home at Lord Nelson Park.

Written by Nathan Dole.