Cats kick clear of Dogs in last term at Lockington

LOCKINGTON Bamawm United unleashed a final quarter blitz to defeat North Bendigo by 45 points in Saturday’s ninth round of the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football Netball League’s senior footy season.

It had been a fiercely-fought contest until the last 20 minutes on LBU’s turf at Nichol Trading Oval in Lockington.

The breeze went to the scoreboard end, but it was LBU which goaled first through Ben McPhee by the 90-second mark.

Ruckman Tyler Phillips then marked and goaled for the Cats.

North Bendigo struck back as Koe  Ngawati won possession at centre half-forward, shrugged off a tackle and snapped a great goal.

Teamwork by the Ngawati brothers, Jordan and Koe set up a goal for Dylan Klemm for the Bulldogs to draw level.

A chain of passes from the outer wing was capped by a Liam Main goal for the Cats.

A Jack Francis tackle at half-forward set up North’s third goal and the lead when Shane Harris was freed in a marking contest.

The Matt Dillon-coached Bulldogs went further ahead when Clay Davies snapped truly after he roved a contest in the goalsquare.

It was LBU who gained a nine-point break by half-time after Jarod Bacon and Thomas Leech were on target.

Defences were well on top in the third quarter.

Rhys Woodland goaled in the fourth minute for LBU and it would be 16 minutes before the Bulldogs broke through when Zaiyden Richards ran onto the bouncing ball after Jordan Ford’s long kick from near the centre.

LBU led 46-33 at a quarter to go.

North Bendigo made a great start to the last term when Harris goaled in the second minute after a strong tackle.

A left-foot snap by Leech after he swooped on the ball from a marking contest gave LBU a 16-point lead in the eighth minute.

North Bendigo was within eight points in the 11th minute after Jeremy Lambden was on target.

It may have been the team-lifter the Dogs’ fans were craving, but it was the Cats who clicked up a gear or two.

In the space of six minutes, LBU slammed on five unanswered goals through Lachlan Collins, Patrick Gardiner, Jacob Gardiner, Woodland and Leech.

Cats’ coach Brodie Collins was on target from a set-shot near the scoreboard to complete a 90-45 victory.

Best for LBU included Lachlan Atherton, Tom Holman in defence, Phillips, Nathan Bacon, Patrick Gardiner and Jordan Collins.

Bulldogs’ captain Aarryn Craig won plenty of contests to be best, along with Jordan Ford, Tom Metherell in defence, Manny Thalasinios, Sam Demeo and Tim Deveraux.

Huntly almost marked the upset of the season as the Hawks took on White Hills.

The Hawks led 38-34 at three quarter-time of the clash at Specialist Breeders Australia Oval in Huntly’s Strauch Reserve.

White Hills was bolstered by the inclusion of Brent Guerra, a dual premiership player with Hawthorn in 2008 and ’13.

A veteran of 255 games in the AFL, Guerra wore number 48 in his first match in red and black.

Also back for White Hills were coach Sam Kerridge and full-forward Jed Lamb who were previously team-mates at Carlton.

Despite the inclusion of three big names, Huntly was not overawed.

White Hills led 14-10 at quarter-time, but it was the Stacy Fiske-coached Huntly which slammed on 3.2 to a goal in the second to lead by 10 points at the long break.

The Hawks kept the pressure on throughout the third term to hold a four-point buffer at a quarter to go.

Led by the play of captain Mitch Dole, Nathan Moffat and David Wright it was the Demons who fired up in the last term to score 3.1 to 1.3.

A superb contest ended in 53-47 victory for White Hills.

Lamb and Lachlan Collihole kicked three and two goals respectively as Guerrra also booted a major for the Demons.

Huntly’s attack was led by teenager Flynn Campbell and Ryan Semmel, a three-time winner of the Cheatley Medal as league best and fairest, on two goals each.

The Demons’ best included James Stewart, Reilley Porter and Rhys Irwin.

Best for the Hawks were Luke Jones, Jake Maher, Josh Harris, Jay McDonald, Jaydon Cowling and Ryan Semmel.

Elmore fought from five goals down at the start of the last quarter to beat Heathcote by four points.

The Saints led 52-22 at three quarter-time on the Bloods’ turf.

The Dylan Friedberger-coached Elmore hit back from a scoreless third term to slam on 6.8 to 1.4 in the last to clinch a 66-62 victory.

James Harney led the Bloods’ attack on four goals as Dylan Oaff added three.

Alex McIvor kicked two goals for Heathcote as six team-mates were also on target.

Best for the Bloods were Dylan Gordon, Bailey Boyack, James Harney, Nic Kellow, Aloysio Ferreira and Matt Gilmour.

Jake Condon, Billy Price, Mitch McLean, McIvor, Jack Brooks and Matt Mikic led the way for the Wayne Primmer-coached Saints.

Colbinabbin also showed plenty of fighting quality on Mount Pleasant’s turf at Toolleen.

The Julian Bull-coached Colbo was down 42-22 at half-time.

The Grasshoppers levelled it up by three quarter-time against a remarkably accurate Mounts who had scored 8.1.

Colbo added 4.2 to 2.1 in the last to complete a 75-62 victory.

Jed Brain and Matt Riordan kicked three goals apiece for the Hoppers.

The Blues’ attack was again led by Rhys Deacon on four.

Colbinabbin’s best were Tom Hill, Lachlan Ezard, Brain Lochlan Sirett, Ben Barton and Alex Van Ruiswyk.

Jesse Tuohey, Adam Baird, Deacon, Bryce Hinneberg and Riley McNamara played well for Mount Pleasant.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

Lockington Bamawm United 292 per cent, 32 points; White Hills 179, 32; Colbinabbin 145, 20; North Bendigo 98, 20; Mount Pleasant 96, 16; Huntly 102, 12; Elmore 65, 12; Heathcote 72, 4; Leitchville Gunbower 33, 0.

In next Saturday’s 10th round, White Hills takes on North Bendigo at Tint A Car Oval in Scott Street.

Leitchville Gunbower clashes with Heathcote at Degroot Roof Painting Gunbower Recreation Reserve.

Lockington Bamawm United and Mount Pleasant meet at Nichol Trading Oval, Lockington.

Huntly will be fired up for its showdown with Colbinabbin at Specialist Breeders Australia Oval, Strauch Reserve, Huntly.

Elmore has the bye.

Written by Nathan Dole.