CMFNL Round 11 Football Review | Balranald wins all-Roos battle with Cohuna


THE Kangaroos from Balranald outpointed the Cohuna Kangas in Saturday’s 11th round of senior footy in the Central Murray FNL season.

Balranald had home-ground advantage at Greenham Park for the match of the day in the 3SH-backed competition.

It was Cohuna which led 22-13 at quarter-time before Balranald struck back to win the second term, 33-7.

Balranald held its 17-point buffer going into the last quarter after both teams scored 4.2 in the third.

Led by the play of Colin Andrews, Jydon Neagle and Ryan Middlebrook, Balranald kicked on to win 16.10 (106) to 9.9 (63).

Ben Fuller kicked a match-high five goals for Balranald as Colin Andrews and Drew Lloyd added three each.

Cohuna’s attack was led by Jake Hammond, four; Luke Conca and Mitchell Treacy on two.

Best for Balranald included Ben and Ian Fuller, and Toby Lay.

Sam McGlone, Joel Helman, Jack Donat, Chris Anderson, Jake Hammond and Tom Metherell played well for the Tyson Findlay-coached Cohuna.

Woorinen won a closely-fought contest with Nyah Nyah West United.

The NNWU Demons made a hot start to lead 19-nil by quarter-time on Woorinen’s turf.

The Tigers fought back to win the second, 20-13, as the Demons led 32-20 by the long break.

Woorinen scored 3.1 to a point in the third and then added 4.1 to 2.0 in the last for a 64-45 result.

Best for the Tigers were Henry Thompson, Josh Domaille, Lachlan Gardner, Jye Barry, Lachlan Warburton and Mitchell Uhlhorn.

Ethan Curran, Ethan Saville, Joel Walsh, Charlie Boulton, Blake Larkings and Brayden Bigham played well for the Demons.

Kerang beat Swan Hill by 16 points at Kerang’s Riverside Park.

The unbeaten Blues led 27-1 at quarter-time, but the Swans lifted to score 2.5 to 1.2 in the second.

Kerang dominated most of the third term and led 50-19 going into the final term.

Although Swan Hill won the last, 29-14, Kerang took the points in a 64-48 victory.

Coach Troy Coates, Michael Dalrymple and Hayden Hall kicked two goals apiece for Kerang.

Swan Hill’s attack was led by Seamus Doherty and Jarvis Keogh on two.

Best for Kerang were Martin Kelly, Josh Nitschke, Rylee Smith, Sam Heavyside, Josh Hunter and Lachlan Ross.

Tom Holdstock, Luke Phelan, Matthew Wade, Jose Miliado, Adam Manning and Zach Mihocek played well for the Swans.

Mallee Eagles marked a 15-goal win against Koondrook Barham at Barham.

The River Raiders led 15-12 at quarter-time, but it was the Eagles who soared in the second to score 5.1 to just two behinds.

A 26-point lead for Mallee at half-time was up to 33 at a quarter to play.

The Eagles added 7.3 to 1.2 in the last to complete a 113-43 victory.

Brent Macleod marked a superb match by kicking seven goals.

Other multiple goalkickers for Mallee were Andrew McDonald, three; and Paul Davis, two.

There were no multiple goalkickers for Koondrook Barham.

Best for Mallee Eagles were Darcy McGregor, Beau Bennett, Brent Macleod, Angus McKenzie, Andrew McDonald and Harrison Allen.

Mitch Christensen, Will Lake, Corey Barrington, Eli Boyd, Colin McVeigh and Ash Molin were best for the River Raiders.

Lake Boga was in hot form against Tooleybuc Manangatang at Lake Boga Sports Club.

The Magpies led 33-nil at quarter-time and 45-14 by the main break.

Lake Boga scored 4.3 to 1.3 in the third to put the result beyond doubt.

Lochie Laing kicked six goals and former Essendon and Port Adelaide forward/midfielder Angus Monfries added four in a 102-25 victory for the Magpies.

Josh Williams kicked all three goasl for the Saints.

Best for Lake Boga were Lochie Laing, Lincoln Sieben, Lachlan Burns, Jacob Simpson, Angus Monfries and Tyle Williams.

Jack Mazzarella, Ethan Goldfinch, Blake Grant, Richard Wardle, Ryan Domaille and Connor McDonald were Tooleybuc Manangatang’s best.

Tyntynder had the bye.

Central Murray FNL senior footy ladder:

Kerang 226 per cent, 40 points; Balranald 178, 36; Woorinen 224, 32; Lake Boga 118, 24; Cohuna 103, 24; Swan Hill 82, 20; Nyah Nyah West United 109, 16; Mallee Eagles 71, 12; Tyntynder 75, 8; Tooleybuc Manangatang 71, 8; Koondrook Barham 30, 0.

In next Saturday’s 12th round, Mallee Eagles take on Kerang from 2.30pm at Lalbert.

Cohuna plays Koondrook Barham on the Kangas’ ground at Cohuna Recreation Reserve.

Nyah Nyah West United is at home to face Lake Boga.

Tooleybuc Manangatang tackles Swan Hill at Tooleybuc.

Tyntynder plays Woorinen at Alan Garden Reserve in Swan Hill.

Balranald has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

36 Josh Williams, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

30 Will Collicoat, Woorinen.

28 Rhys Free, Cohuna.

27 Ben Fuller, Balranald.

24 Brent Macleod, Mallee Eagles.

19 Hassan Ahmat-Watkins, Nyah Nyah West United.

19 Doug Beames, Woorinen.

18 Drew Lloyd, Balranald.

17 David Gourdis, Lake Boga.

17 Jydon Neagle, Balranald.

16 Paul Davis, Mallee Eagles.

15 Hayden Hall, Kerang.

15 Jose Miliado, Swan Hill.

15 Bradlee Pay, Kerang.

15 Rylee Smith, Kerang.

13 Jason Eagle, Tyntynder.

13 Angus Monfries, Lake Boga.