CMFNL Round 14 Football Review | Kerang wins thrilling showdown with Nyah Nyah West United


KERANG’S unbeaten run in this year’s Central Murray FNL senior footy action was almost broken by Nyah Nyah West United in Saturday’s 14th round.

The Blues and Demons met in the 3SH-backed competition clash at Kerang’s Riverside Park.

The Troy Coates-coached Blues led 28-20 at quarter-time and 42-38 by the main break.

In the third term it was Kerang which had plenty of the play to score 3.4 to 1.3.

Although it started the final term facing a deficit of 17 points, NNWU lifted its play dramatically.

The heat from the Demons forced mistakes from the reigning premier and was capitalised on brilliantly.

NNWU scored 5.2 in a brilliant final quarter, but Kerang’s tally of 2.4 was enough to clinch an 80-79 victory.

Michael Runciman kicked two goals for the Blues as nine team-mates featured on the goalkicking list.

The Demons’ attack was led by Riley and Corey Daniels on four and two goals.

Best for Kerang were Sam Heavyside, Josh Nitschke, Gregor Knight, Jesse Clark, Hayden Hall and Josh Hunter.

Ethan Saville, Kayne Davidson, Campbell Everitt, Riley Daniels, Jaydyn Stirling and Ethan Curran starred for the Demons.

Balranald marked a 40-point victory on Woorinen’s turf.

The Kangaroos led 27-20 at quarter-time and 36-21 by the main break.

Balranald had doubled Woorinen’s tally of 22 points by three quarter-time.

In the last the Roos scored 4.2 to 1.2 to complete a 70-30 victory.

Drew Lloyd and Jydon Neagle kicked two goals apiece for the Roos.

A strong defensive effort meant Woorinen had no multiple goalkickers.

Balranald’s best were Jaxon Neagle, Harrison Soraggi, Jack Salau, Jack Helgeland, Ethan Gant and Jack Jones.

Best for the Tigers were Lachlan Gardner, Dylan Godwin, Doug Beames, Matt Gardner, Josh Domaille and Robbie Miller.

Swan Hill overcame an  11-point deficit at quarter-time to beat Mallee Eagles by 26 points.

The Eagles had plenty of the play in the opening term at Swan Hill and scored 4.2 to 2.3.

In the second the Swans seized control to score 5.3 as the Eagles were held to just three behinds.

A closely-fought third term went Swan Hill’s way, 20-18.

Wayward kicking meant the Swans added seven behinds in the last, while the Eagles scored two behinds.

At the final siren, Swan Hill led 10.15 (75) to 7.7 (49).

Leading goalkickers for the Swans wer Zach Mihocek, three; Jack Charleson and Matt Wade, two.

The Eagles’ attack was led by Andrew McDonald and Brent Macleod on two each.

Swan Hill’s best were Matt Wade, Adam Manning, Zach Mihocek, Luke Phelan, Leighton Dullard and Toby Thoolen.

Wes and Braidon Bennett, Harrison Allen, Billy and Zac O’Meara, and Jonah Devlin played well for the Eagles.

Koondrook Barham could do little to stop Tyntynder’s charge to a 17-goal win at Barham.

The Bulldogs made a brilliant start to score 5.6 to a behind in the first term.

Tyntynder added 7.1 to 3.1 in the second, and 3.4 to 3.1 in the third term.

Patrick Blake went on to kick five goals in a 143-41 victory for the Bulldogs.

Other multiple goalkickers for the red, white and blue were Isaiah Bull and Josh Dwyer, three; Jordi Bibby and Justin Ellis, two.

Corey Barrington kicked two goals for Koondrook Barham.

Best for Tyntynder were Harry Simpson, Isaiah Bull, Matt Gilbee, Patrick Blake, Elia Ware and Josh Dwyer.

Bill Barry, Colin McVeigh, Josh McMahon, Reagan Hamilton, Nathaniel Leonard and Jack Shannon were the Rivers Raiders’ best.

Cohuna, Lake Boga, and Tooleybuc Manangatang all had a bye.

Central Murray FNL senior footy ladder:

Kerang 232 per cent, 52 points; Balranald 176, 44; Woorinen 182, 40; Lake Boga 118, 28; Cohuna 115, 28; Swan Hill 96, 28; Nyah Nyah West United 129, 24; Tyntynder 84, 12; Mallee Eagles 65, 12; Tooleybuc Manangatang 56, 8; Koondrook Barham 28, 0.

Highlight of next Saturday’s 15th round will be Cohuna against Kerang at the Kangas’ ground at Cohuna from 2.30pm.

Tyntynder and Lake Boga clash at Alan Garden Reserve in Swan Hill.

Nyah Nyah West United faces Swan Hill at Nyah Recreation Reserve.

Mallee Eagles tackle Tooleybuc Manangatang at Lalbert.

Balranald is home at Greenham Park to play Koondrook Barham.

Woorinen has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

38 Josh Williams, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

36 Ben Fuller, Balranald.

35 Will Collicoat, Woorinen.

31 Rhys Free, Cohuna.

29 Hassan Ahmat-Watkins, Nyah Nyah West United.

29 Bradlee Pay, Kerang.

27 Brent Macleod, Mallee Eagles.

23 Drew Lloyd, Balranald.

23 Rylee Smith, Kerang.

22 Jydon Neagle, Balranald.

20 Doug Beames, Woorinen.

19 Paul Davis, Mallee Eagles.

19 Lochie Laing, Lake Boga.

18 Danko Bzenic, Woorinen.

18 David Gourdis, Lake Boga.

18 Jose Miliado, Swan Hill.

17 Hayden Hall, Kerang.

17 Joel Helman, Cohuna.

15 Riley Daniels, Nyah Nyah West United.

15 Jason Eagle, Tyntynder.

14 Jye Barry, Woorinen.

14 Charlie Boulton, Nyah Nyah West United.

14 Troy Coates, Kerang.

14 Matt Corney, Tyntynder.

14 Jack Donat, Cohuna.

14 Justin Ellis, Tyntynder.

14 Angus Monfries, Lake Boga.

14 Michael Runciman, Kerang.