CMFNL Round 16 Football Review | Lake Boga takes points against Balranald


LAKE Boga marked one of its best victories of the Central Murray FNL senior footy season on Saturday.

The Magpies overcame an eight-point deficit at three quarter-time to beat Balranald at Lake Boga Sports Club.

Despite doing plenty of attacking, Lake Boga was astray near goal as it scored 5.12 to 8.2 in the opening three terms of the match in the 3SH-backed competition.

In the last the Magpies scored 2.6 to 0.5 to complete a 60-55 victory.

Former Essendon and Port Adelaide forward/mid Angus Monfries kicked two goals for Lake Boga as did Tyle Williams.

Balranald’s attack was led by Ben Fuller, three; Seth Connell and Matt Neagle, two.

Best for Lake Boga were Jacob Simpson, Lincoln Sieben, Tyle Williams, Jake Warren, Nathaniel Holmes-Brown and Angus Monfries.

Jack Salau, Matt Neagle, Jake Helgeland, Drew and Kobe Lloyd, and Ned Lay played well for the Kangaroos.

Swan Hill scored a two-goal win against Cohuna Kangas.

The Swans led 31-25 at quarter-time of the match on their turf.

In the second it was Swan Hill which slammed on 5.2 to 2.2.

Cohuna hit back to win the third term, 16-14, and the last, 19-9.

Although the Kangas won the second half, Swan Hill took the points in an 86-74 result.

Kallen Heslop led the Swans’ attack on four goals Wilhelm Bennett and Jose Miliado added two.

Cohuna’s leading goalkickers were Rhys Free, three, and Daniel Coates, two.

Best for Swan Hill were Matt Wade, Sonny Beasy, Jose Miliado, Kallen Heslop, Thomas Corridan and Xavier Moloney.

Daniel Paterson, Jarrod Findlay, Jake Hammond, Jack Donat, Will Thrum and Cooper McLoughlan were best for the Kangas.

A tally of 17-nil in the first term set up Nyah Nyah West United’s victory against Tooleybuc Manantang at Manangatang.

After the Demons early blitz the match was evenly fought.

The Saints won the second term, 20-17, before the Demons added 2.1 to a goal in the third quarter.

Tooleybuc Manangatang scored 3.1 to 2.5 in the last as NNWU United won 8.16 (64) to 7.3 (45).

Ethan Saville kicked two goals in a best afield performance for the Demons.

The Saints’ attack was led by Connor McDonald and Josh Williams with two.

Best for Nyah Nyah West United were Ethan Saville, Joel Campbell, Zack Threadgold, Joel Walsh, Brayden Bigham and Kayne Davidson.

Jaicob Kenny, Ethan Goldfinch, Blake Grant, Connor McDonald, Harrison Maher and Tim Auckland played well for the Saints.

Woorinen scored 23 goals and kept Koondrook Barham to a goal in the clash at Barham.

The Tigers roared to an eight-goal lead by quarter-time after it scored 9.2 to 1.2.

From there Woorinen added four, six and four goals across the next three terms for a 23.14 (152) to 1.5 (11) result.

Lachlan Gardner led the attack on six goals as Will Collicoat added four.

Other multiple goalkickers for the yellow and black were Charlie King and Matt Garnder, three; Danko Bzenic and Robbie Miller, two.

Will Callow was on target for the River Raiders.

Woorinen’s best were Josh Domaille, Lachlan Warburton, Lachlan Gardner, Henry Thompson, Danko Bzenic and Mitchell Uhlhorn.

Jack Thrum, Ryan Bassett, Josh McMahon, Patrick Goble, Ash Molin and Tom Amor were Koondrook Barham’s best.

It was a bye for Kerang, Mallee Eagles, and Tyntynder.

Central Murray FNL senior footy ladder:

Kerang 219 per cent, 56 points; Balranald 191, 48; Woorinen 203, 44; Lake Boga 117, 36; Nyah Nyah West United 130, 32; Swan Hill 96, 32; Cohuna 110, 28; Mallee Eagles 70, 16; Tyntynder 85, 12; Tooleybuc Manangatang 56, 8; Koondrook Barham 25, 0.

Balranald is back on home turf at Greenham Park to play Kerang in next Saturday’s 17th round.

The clash of the Kangaroos and Blues starts at 2.30pm.

Woorinen faces Lake Boga at Woorinen Recreation Reserve.

Nyah Nyah West United has home-ground advantage for its showdown with Mallee Eagles.

Tyntynder and Swan Hill clash at Alan Garden Reserve in Swan Hill.

Cohuna Kangas are at home to play the Saints from Tooleybuc Manangatang.

Koondrook Barham has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

47 Ben Fuller, Balranald.

43 Josh Williams, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

39 Will Collicoat, Woorinen.

36 Rhys Free, Cohuna.

35 Brent Macleod, Mallee Eagles.

33 Hassan Ahmat-Watkins, Nyah Nyah West United.

29 Bradlee Pay, Kerang.

27 Jydon Neagle, Balranald.

25 Drew Lloyd, Balranald.

25 Rylee Smith, Kerang.

24 Lochie Laing, Lake Boga.

21 Jose Miliado, Swan Hill.

20 Doug Beames, Woorinen.

20 Danko Bzenic, Woorinen.

20 Paul Davis, Mallee Eagles.

19 Ethan Gant, Balranald.

18 Jason Eagle, Tyntynder.

18 David Gourdis, Lake Boga.

17 Hayden Hall, Kerang.

17 Joel Helman, Cohuna.

17 Angus Monfries, Lake Boga.

17 Michael Runciman, Kerang.

16 Charlie Boulton, Nyah Nyah West United.

15 Riley Daniels, Nyah Nyah West United.

15 Jack Donat, Cohuna.

15 Matthew Wade, Swan Hill.

14 Jye Barry, Woorinen.

14 Daniel Coates, Cohuna.

14 Troy Coates, Kerang.

14 Matt Corney, Tyntynder.

14 Justin Ellis, Tyntynder.

14 Jayden Lonergan, Lake Boga.


Photo – Heidi Palmer