CMFNL Round 5 Football Review


Balranald survives scare at Barham

BALRANALD overcame a 20-point deficit at half-time to record a three-point victory against Koondrook Barham in Saturday’s fifth round of the Radio 3SH-backed senior footy competition in the Central Murray.

The Kangaroos were down 31-51 at the main break of the clash at Barham.

Determined to break a long-running winless streak, Koondrook Barham led 51-47 at three quarter-time.

In the last it was the Kangaroos who scored 3.4 to 2.3.

When the final siren sounded, Balranald led 69-66.

Leading goalkickers for the Kangaroos were Matt Neagle, three; and Drew Lloyd, two.

The River Raiders’ attack was led by Kye Atwell, four; and Warren Lolicato, three.

Balranald’s best were Kobe Lloyd, Rory Fitzgerald, Drew Lloyd, Ryan Middlebrook, Harrison Soraggi and Mason Fitzgerald.

Koondrook Barham’s best were Mitch Christensen, Kye Attwell, Scott Wood, Jack Shannon, Cambell Davison and Jack Thrum.

Mallee Eagles turned an 11-point deficit at half-time into a 22-point lead by the end of its clash with Cohuna Kangas at Lalbert.

The Kangas led 15-nil at quarter-time and 32-21 by the main break.

Mallee dominated most of the second half as it scored 6.6 to 1.3.

At the final siren the Eagles led 63-41.

Darcy Hourigan kicked three goals for the victors as Andrew Mead-Harding added two.

The only multiple goalkicker for Cohuna was Daniel Coates on two.

Best for Mallee Eagles were Harry and Darcy McGregor, Troy Anderson, Brent Macleod, Kieren Bourke and Joe Halloran.

Cohuna’s best were Zac Poole, Will Lee, Tyson Farrant, Jack Donat, coach Jack Geary and Joel Helman.

The ladder-leading Nyah Nyah West United also showed its fighting quality on Swan Hill’s turf.

At the end of a brilliant first half, Swan Hill led 41-20.

The Demons fired up to win the third, 25-10.

Led by a six-goal haul by Brandyn Grenfell in a best afield performance, NNW United kicked on to win 71-58.

The Swans’ attack was led by Ned McKeown, four; and Jose Miliado, two.

Best for the Demons were Brandyn Grenfell, Jordan Iudica, Brayden Bigham, Ben Shadbolt, Lucas Iudica and Ethan Saville.

Swan Hill’s best were Jose Miliado, ruckman Toby Thoolen, Cooper Angus, Tom Holdstock, Anthony Lewin and Ned McKeown.

Woorinen won all quarters in a 122-50 victory at home against Lake Boga.

The Tigers scored 5.1 to 2.3 in the first term and 2.7 to 0.2 in the second.

Best quarter for Woorinen was the last in which it added 7.4 to 2.1.

Will Collicoat and Arnold Kirby kicked three goals for the Tigers as Lachlan Gardner and Jason Iannucci chipped in with two.

Lake Boga’s leading goalkicker was Nick Taylor on two.

Best for Woorinen were ruckman Arnold Kirby, Henry Thompson, Jye Barry, Mitch Uhlhorn, Tom Langford and Jason Iannucci.

Zac Warne, Josh Wills, Dylan McCosh, Kadek Irvan, Taylor Johnstone and Rory Colville played well for the Magpies.

Kerang, Tooleybuc Manangatang, and Tyntynder had the bye.

Central Murray FNL senior footy ladder:

Nyah Nyah West United 154 per cent, 20 points; Balranald 152, 16; Kerang 140, 12; Woorinen 128, 12; Tooleybuc Manangatang 113, 12; Mallee Eagles 94, 8; Tyntynder 84, 8; Cohuna Kangas 96, 4; Lake Boga 61, 4; Swan Hill 68, 0; Koondrook Barham 50, 0.

In next Saturday’s sixth round, Balranald takes on Woorinen at Balranald’s Greenham Park from 2.30pm in what is Thanks Round across the Central Murray.

Tyntynder faces Koondrook Barham at Alan Garden Reserve in Swan Hill.

Cohuna Kangas are on home turf to play Swan Hill.

Kerang and Mallee Eagles clash at Kerang’s Riverside Park.

Lake Boga meets Tooleybuc Manangatang in the clash of the Magpies and Saints at Lake Boga Sports Club.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

27 Brandyn Grenfell, Nyah Nyah West United.

15 Darcy Hourigan, Mallee Eagles.

14 Colin Andrews, Balranald.

12 Drew Lloyd, Balranald.

11 Clayton McCartney, Woorinen.

11 Nick O’Neill, Nyah Nyah West United.

9 Jason Eagle, Tyntynder.

9 Lachlan Gardner, Woorinen.

9 Dylan Johnstone, Cohuna Kangas.

9 Jydon Neagle, Balranald.

9 Matt Neagle, Balranald.

9 Josh Williams, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

8 David Gourdis, Lake Boga.

8 Joel Helman, Cohuna Kangas.

8 Andrew Mead-Harding, Mallee Eagles.

7 Charlie Boulton, Nyah Nyah West United.

7 Archer Dibsdale, Kerang.

7 Kai Kearns, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

7 Arnold Kirby, Woorinen.

7 Lachlan Lellmann, Balranald.

7 Johnathan Marsden, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

7 Jordan McNeil, Kerang.

7 Connor Nutting, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

6 Corey Daniels, Nyah Nyah West United.

6 Michael Herlihy, Swan Hill.

6 Jayden Magro, Tyntynder.

6 Ned McKeown, Swan Hill.

6 Caleb Nitschke, Kerang.

6 Jayden Post, Mallee Eagles.

6 Josh Stone, Woorinen.