CMFNL Round 7 Football Review | Kerang wins thriller at Woorinen


KERANG marked a seven-point win at Woorinen in Saturday’s seventh round of 3SH-backed senior footy in the Central Murray FNL season.

The Blues led by 21 points at the start of the final term on Woorinen’s turf.

In the last it was the Tigers who did all the attacking to score 2.3 to a point.

For the second week running the Troy Coates-coached Kerang marked victory by less than double figures as it held on for a 57-50 result.

Hayden Hall led Kerang’s attack on three goals as Michael Dalrymple and captain Josh Nitschke added two each.

Multiple goalkickers for Woorinen were Doug Beames, three, and Will Collicoat, two.

Best for Kerang were Josh Nitschke, Sam Heavyside, Sam Nitschke, Jack Daglish, Hayden Hall and Josh Hunter.

Robbie Miller, Lachlan Gardner, Robert Rush, Angus Butterfield, Jye Barry and Josh Domaille were Woorinen’s best.

A tally of 3.6 to nil in the opening term set up Balranald’s win at home against Swan Hill at Greenham Park.

The Kangaroos led 38-15 by half-time and then scored 4.4 to 1.1 in the third.

Swan Hill fought on to win the last term, 19-9, but it was Balranald which celebrated a 75-41 victory.

Drew Lloyd kicked three goals for the Roos as Colin Andrews added two.

Wilhem Bennett was Swan Hill’s only multiple goalkicker on two.

Best for Balranald were Jaxon Neagle, Jordan Wilkins, Matt Neagle, Ryan Middlebrook, Harrison Soraggi and Ethan Gant.

Matt Wade, Toby Thoolen, Tom Holdstock, Hamish Robertson, Brandon Houlihan and Luke Phelan played well for Swan Hill.

Tyntynder won a closely-fought contest with Tooleybuc Manangatang at Swan Hill’s Alan Garden Reserve.

The Saints from Tooleybuc Manangatang led 34-30 at half-time, but it was Tyntynder which clicked into gear in the third as it scored 5.1 to 1.2.

Although the visitors won the last, 9-2, it was Tyntynder which marked a 63-51 victory.

Jason Eagle and Roy George both kicked two goals for the Bulldogs.

Josh Williams booted four goals for the Saints as Preyben Tipiloura chipped in with two.

Tyntynder’s best were Elliot Broad, Roy George, Matt Gilbee, Wilhelm Hawkins, Harry Simpson and Patrick Crowe.

Jaicob Kennedy, Jack Mazzarella, Rory Alexander, John Wardle, Blake Grant and Ethan Goldfinch played well for the Saints.

Cohuna scored a three-goal win against Mallee Eagles on the Kangas’ ground.

Six goals to two in the second term put Cohuna up by 29 points at half-time.

The Eagles fought back to win the third, 14-9, and the last, 20-14, but the Kangas led 88-70 at the final siren.

Rhys Free kicked a match-high five goals for Cohuna as Jack Donat added three and Jarrod Findlay chipped in with two.

Leading goalkickers for the Eagles were Harrison Allen, Shaun Harrison and Brent Macleod on two.

Jarrod Findlay and Joel Helman were Cohuna’s best, along with Daniel Paterson, Luke Conca, Chris Anderson and Jake Hammond.

Brett Thomas, Zac O’Meara, Darcy McGregor, Liam Drummond, Harrison Allen and Billy O’Meara played well for Mallee.

Goalkicking accuracy played a big part in Lake Boga’s win against Koondrook Barham at Barham.

The Magpies scored 5.0 to 2.1 in the first term and added 4.4 to 1.1 in the second.

Led by the play of Lochie Laing, Nathaniel Holmes-Brown, and former Essendon and Port Adelaide forward/mid Angus Monfries, Lake Boga kicked on for a 98-39 victory.

David Gourdies led the Magpies’ attack on four goals as Lochie Laing booted three.

Cameron Moore kicked two goals for Koondrook Barham.

The Magpies’ best included Jake Warren, Jacob Simpson and Marty Parsons.

Best for the River Raiders were Eli Boyd, Domenico Cirillo, Tom Amor, Patrick Goble, Nick Frankling and Colin McVeigh.

Nyah Nyah West United had the bye.

Central Murray FNL senior footy ladder:

Kerang 221 per cent, 28 points; Balranald 177, 20; Woorinen 206, 16; Lake Boga 107, 16; Cohuna 104, 16; Nyah Nyah West United 129, 12; Swan Hill 97, 12; Tyntynder 84, 8; Tooleybuc Manangatang 77, 4; Mallee Eagles 60, 4; Koondrook Barham 24, 0.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

27 Josh Williams, Tooleybuc Manangatang.

20 Rhys Free, Cohuna.

16 Will Collicoat, Woorinen.

15 David Gourdis, Lake Boga.

14 Ben Fuller, Balranald.

14 Bradlee Pay, Kerang.

13 Doug Beames, Woorinen.

13 Danko Bzenic, Woorinen.

12 Charlie Boulton, Nyah Nyah West United.

12 Jack Donat, Cohuna.

12 Michael Runciman, Kerang.

11 Troy Coates, Kerang.

11 Drew Lloyd, Balranald.

11 Brent Macleod, Mallee Eagles.

10 Jose Miliado, Swan Hill.

10 Jydon Neagle, Balranald.

Round eight in the 3SH-backed senior footy competition will be played next Saturday from 2.30pm.

Tooleybuc Manangatang tackles Balranald at Tooleybuc Recreation Reserve.

Nyah Nyah West United is on home turf to play Cohuna Kangas.

Kerang faces Koondrook Barham at Kerang’s Riverside Park.

Mallee Eagles and Tyntynder clash at Lalbert.

Swan Hill and Woorinen meet at Swan Hill Recreation Reserve.

Lake Boga has the bye.