Colbinabbin meets Dees in crucial netball contest


SIXTH on the ladder and with a 1-2 record, Colbinabbin takes on the in-form White Hills in this Saturday’s fourth round of A-grade netball in the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football Netball League season.

The Grasshoppers have home-court advantage at M.J. Morgan Reserve for this crucial contest.

A tough run for Colbo has included two hit-outs against the ladder-leading Elmore.

In round one, Colbinabbin was beaten 41-55, but hit back in a 47-48 result on Elmore’s court in round three.

Line-ups have changed markedly in recent seasons, but Colbinabbin and White Hills have fought out many A-grade grand finals.

The Lauren Bowles-coached White Hills will be keen to add to its winning streak.

The Demons scored a 72-25 win at home against North Bendigo in round three and it’s talented mid-court and attack will test Colbinabbin in every quarter.

After a long-awaited victory, Lockington Bamawm United will chase consecutive wins when it hosts Huntly.

The Cats played great netball to score a 47-41 win on Leitchville Gunbower’s court at Huntly.

Huntly has a 1-1 record.

The Hawks started the season in style by winning 48-29 on Heathcote’s court at Barrack Reserve, but then fell to a 31-47 loss to Leitchville Gunbower at Huntly in round two.

Rested by the bye, Huntly will be determined to take the points in the clash between fourth and fifth.

Mount Pleasant takes on Leitchville Gunbower at Toolleen.

The Blues marked their first win of the season in a 41-39 result at Heathcote against the Saints.

The Bombers will be keen to hit back from defeat.

It’s a rest for North Bendigo and Heathcote who met in the season-opener on April 2 at Hibo Hotel Oval in North Bendigo’s Atkins Street.

The Saints marked the first of what would be two wins so far in a 48-35 victory against the red, white and blue.

Elmore has the bye.


Standings in the Heathcote DFNL A-grade netball competition:

Elmore 154 per cent, 16 points; White Hills 178, 12; Heathcote 98, 8; Leitchville Gunbower 110, 4; Huntly 106, 4; Colbinabbin 99, 4; Lockington Bamawm United 86, 4; Mount Pleasant 75, 4; North Bendigo 53, 0.


Written by Nathan Dole.