Colbo hops to impressive win against White Hills

COLBINABBIN was too strong for White Hills in Saturday’s fourth round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football Netball League season.

The Colbo line-up took control after quarter-time to score a 59-point win against White Hills at M.J. Morgan Reserve in Colbinabbin.

On a day where Colbinabbin’s players and supporters were rapt Cooper Hamilton made his AFL debut for Greater Western Sydney Giants in Adelaide, the Grasshoppers marked a 106-47 victory against the Demons.

The Jack Fallon-coached White Hills made a great start to lead 15-12 at quarter-time, but Colbo clicked up several gears to slam on 7.5 to 2.2 in the second for a five-goal buffer by half-time.

Led by the play of Laine Fitzgerald, James Brain and ruckman Hadleigh Sirett, Colbinabbin added 7.5 to three goals in the final hour.

Fitzgerald kicked five goals as Jed Brain and William Lowe added two each for the Julian Bull-coached Colbo.

The Demons attack was led by Patrick Eefting on two.

Best for the Grasshoppers included Jed Brain, William Lowe and Ben Barton.

David Wright, Ben Bacon, Jack Fallon, Brady Childs, Rhys Irwin and Reilley Porter played well for White Hills.


Eight goals by gun forward Ben Weightman earned best afield honours in Mount Pleasant’s win against Leitchville Gunbower.

The Blues led 32-7 at quarter-time and then slammed on 6.6 to a goal in the second to lead by 61 points at half-time of the match at Toolleen.

Led by the play of Weightman, Billy Mahony and Jesse Tuohey, Mounts added 7.4 in the third and 4.9 in the last to complete a 21.27 (153) to 4.4 (28) victory.

Weightman was the star for the Darren Walsh and Adam Baird-coached Blues who also had Pat O’Brien, four; Caelan Smith, three; cap off attacks.

Billy Hawken kicked two goals for the Tim Bannan-coached Bombers.

Mounts’ best included Bailey White, Riley McNamara and Mitch Bennett.

Leitchville Gunbower’s best were ruckman Jobee Warde, Mitch Candy, key defender Nathan McLellan, Leyton Shenfield, Matt McClellan and Rhys Bradley.


Defences were on top for a lot of the clash between Lockington Bamawm United and Huntly at Lockington.

The LBU Cats led 14-7 at quarter-time and then scored 4.4 to just two points in the second to lead 42-9 at the long break.

The Stacy Fiske-coached Huntly worked hard to limit the Cats to 2.3 as it added 1.3 in the vital third term.

An evenly-fought final quarter was won by LBU, 19-15.

At the final siren the Brodie Collins-coached Cats led 11.12 (78) to 4.9 (33).

Winner of last season’s Sam Cheatley Medal as the league’s fairest and best, Tyler Phillips kicked four goals for LBU as Joss Howlett and Anthony McMahon chipped in with two each.

Luke Gray booted three goals for the Hawks.

Best for LBU were Marcus Angove, Joss Howlett, Charlie Hinks, Mitchell Laursen, Luke Collins and Jeremy Mundie.

Jake Maher, Mitch Christensen, Brandon Dimech, Travis Mercadante, Jay McDonald and Mitch Billings played well for Huntly.


It was a rest day for North Bendigo and Heathcote as the Bulldogs and Saints met in the season opener on April 2 at North Bendigo’s Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street.

The Robert Bennett-coached Bulldogs won that contest, 118 to 108.

Elmore had the bye.


Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

Lockington Bamawm United 269 per cent, 16 points; Mount Pleasant 232, 16; Colbinabbin 204, 16; North Bendigo 106, 8; Heathcote 72, 4; White Hills 58, 4; Leitchville Gunbower 37, 4; Huntly 71, 0; Elmore 55, 0.


In next Saturday’s fifth round, White Hills take on Elmore at the Scott Street ground in White Hills.

Heathcote tackles Colbinabbin at Heathcote’s Barrack Reserve.

Huntly plays Mount Pleasant at Huntly’s Strauch Reserve.

Leitchville Gunbower plays North Bendigo at Leitchville.

Lockington Bamawm United has the bye.


Leading goalkickers:

22 Ben Weightman, MP.

13 Ben Fulford, LBU.

12 Laine Fitzgerald, Colbo.

11 Dylan Klemm, NB; Anthony McMahon, LBU.

10 Tyler Phillips, LBU.

9 Dean Tydell, MP.

8 Blake Azzopardi, LG; Jed Brain, Colbo.; Kai Cavallaro, H’cote; Matt Gray, NB; Rhys Woodland, LBU.

7 Jordan Ford, NB; Connor Hamilton, H’cote; Cody Riddick, NB.

6 Adam Baird, MP; James Brain, Colbo.;  Jack Brooks, H’cote; Mitch Dole, WH;  Bayden Fallon, WH; Jackson Jones, H’cote; Cohen Kekich, WH; Braden Padmore, H’cote.

5 Jarod Bacon, LBU; Liam Birch, H’cote; Todd Clarke, Colbo.; Sebastian De Napoli, Elm.; Orion Downing, Huntly; Patrick Eefting, WH; Jack Fallon, WH; Luke Gray, Huntly; Shane Harris, NB; Billy Hawken, LG; Luke Moore, Colbo.; Caelan Smith, MP.

4 Marcus Angove, LBU; Tannar Cerrone, Elm.; Jesse Collins, LBU; Jackson Conforti, H’cote; Dylan Friedberger, Elm.; Zane Keighran, MP; Pat O’Brien, MP; Nicholas Palmer, Elm.; Clint Shields, Colbo.; Jesse Tuohey, MP; Stephen Tuohey, Colbo.


Written by Nathan Dole.