CVFL Round 9 Seniors Review


Hawks fight for victory in Tigers’ territory

EAGLEHAWK scored a hard-fought victory at Woorinen on Saturday in the ninth round of the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy competition.

The Hawks made a brilliant start on Woorinen’s ground to lead 27-1 at quarter-time.

Defences were well on top in the second as the Hawks added four behinds, while Woorinen booted its first goal.

Heat rose in the third as the Katelyn Hazlett-coached Woorinen scored four straight goals to be within 14 points at a quarter to go.

In the last it was a Hawks’ line-up jointly coached by Molly Metcalf and Geoff West which stood up under enormous pressure.

Although the Hawks did not score the effort to hold the Tigers to a tally of 1.1 was enough to clinch a 45-38 victory for the Two Blues.

Eaglehawk’s attack was led by Mia Bolitho-Williams on two goals as Shelby Faulkner, Molly Metcalf, Neve Nisbet and Alex Summerfield added one each.

Woorinen captain Tenay Fellows and Samantha Johnston kicked two goals as Katelyn Hazlett and Brydi Lewis chipped in with one.

Best for Eaglehawk were Caitlin Evans, Lexie Moss, Molly Metcalf, Molly Pianta, Emily Field and Mia Bolitho-Williams.

Katelyn Hazlett, Brydi Lewis, Tenay Fellows, Jenna Bannam, Tara Andrews and Rachael Booth were best for the Tigers.

It was big wins for Golden Square and Castlemaine in Friday night’s start to the round.

The Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square scored 22.15 and kept Bendigo Thunder scoreless at Fur Life Oval in Golden Square’s Wade Street.

The in-form Paynton Jolliffe again led the Bulldogs’ attack on eight goals.

Other multiple goalkickers for the blue and gold were Taylah Moore, four; Courtney Hingston, three; Liz Watkins and Victoria Winstanley, two.

A list of Golden Square’s best players was not supplied.

Best for the Mick McInnes-coached Thunder were Tracey Anderson, Shasta Martion, Lucy El Hage, Emily Galtieri, Kathleen Ratcliff and Acacia Edwards.

Castlemaine racked up 48 goals in a 25.23 (173) to 0.0 (0) victory against the Winslow White Hills Demons at Castlemaine’s Camp Reserve.

There were 15 goalkickers for the Jordan Cochrane-coached Magpies.

Leader of the attack was Tiffany Bradley on three goals.

Bronte Ashworth, Abbey Bertram, Tiahna Cochrane, Eillish Cumming, Emma Pedretti, Taylah Sartori, Rachael Stubbings and Maeve Tupper added two each.

Best for Castlemaine were Beppina Marshall, Tiahna Cochrane, Eillish Cumming, Maeve Tupper, Rachael Stubbings and Abbey Bertram.

Kadeisha Smith, Keira Long, Oakley Turner, Hannah Ripper, Kayla Ash and Daisy Gee worked hard for the Phil Murley-coached Demons.

Sandhurst scored a big win against North Bendigo on Sunday.

The Andrew Saladino-coached Dragons dominated play at Bendigo Club Oval in Atkins Street to defeat the Ross Egleton-coached Bulldogs by more than 20 goals.

A list of goalkickers and best for both teams was not supplied.

Marong had the bye.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder, pending result from North Bendigo v Sandhurst:

Castlemaine 1163 per cent, 32 points; Golden Square 835, 28; Eaglehawk 186, 24; Woorinen 197, 20; Sandhurst 103, 12; Bendigo Thunder 51, 12; White Hills 18, 8; North Bendigo 20, 4; Marong 1, 0.

Leading goalkickers, pending details from North Bendigo v Sandhurst:

44 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

29 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

26 Brydi Lewis, Woorinen.

23 Molly Metcalf, Eaglehawk.

21 Samantha Johnston, Woorinen.

19 Isabella Ayre, Golden Square.

18 Tiahna Cochrane, Castlemaine.

18 Tenay Fellows, Woorinen.

17 Chelsea Reeves, Sandhurst.

15 Taylah Moore, Golden Square.

13 Jenna Bannam, Woorinen.

13 Tiffany Bradley, Castlemaine.

13 Victoria Winstanley, Golden Square.

12 Rachael Stubbings, Castlemaine.

11 Courtney Hingston, Golden Square.

10 Brianna Burt, Castlemaine.

10 Lily Campbell, Sandhurst.

10 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

9 Maeve Tupper, Castlemaine.

9 Freda Wosomo, Woorinen.

8 Bronte Ashworth, Castlemaine.

8 Amanda Carrod, Sandhurst.

8 Kate Douglass, Golden Square.

8 Shelby Faulkner, Eaglehawk.

8 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

8 Oakley Turner, White Hills.

7 Caitlin Evans, Eaglehawk.

7 Lacey Nihill, Sandhurst.