CVFL Seniors reign supreme


Central Victoria wins senior women’s footy challenge

THE stars from the Champions IGA-backed Central Victoria women’s league capped an unbeaten run to be the senior women’s champions at Sunday’s inter-league carnival.

The Worksafe AFL Victoria representative matches were played at the Mercy Sports Precinct in Junortoun for the first time.

A CVFL team coached by 2008 Hawthorn premiership player Rick Ladson won both of its pool matches to progress to a grand final clash with North East Border.

A top contest between the leagues ended in a 2.3 (15) to 1.3 (9) victory for the CVFL.

Central Victoria co-captains Liz Watkins from Golden Square and Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke from Bendigo Thunder raised the cup.

CV’s run began with a 34-1 win against North East Border in the first of the pool matches.

Game two for CV ended in a 31-7 victory against Goulburn Murray.

A 10-2 result for North East Border in the third and final pool match against Goulburn Murray clinched a grand final berth.

A great day of women’s footy action included the under-18 girls carnival.

Goulburn Murray did plenty of attacking in the grand final showdown with North East Border.

The GM line-up won 2.8 (20) to 1.3 (9).

Central Victoria’s team coached by Eaglehawk’s Andrew Reid was outplayed in the first of its pool matches.

A talented North East Border team scored 6.7 (43) to a point.

Game two ended in a 31-17 victory for Goulburn Murray against North East Border.

Central Victoria played well in its second match to score 4.0 (24) as eventual champion Goulburn Murray reached a tally of 5.10 (40).

The championship-winning Central Victoria FL senior women’s team and their clubs:

Bendigo Thunder: Lucy El-Hage, Britney Mueck, Marguerita Murphy, Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke, Jaime Sawers.

Castlemaine: Bronte Ashworth, Lily Den Houting, Eloise Gretgrix,

Eaglehawk: Emily Field, Eliza Long, Molly Metcalf, Molly Pianta,

Golden Square: Isabella Ayre, Courtney Hingston, Paynton Jolliffe, Gemma Roberts, Liz Watkins, Victoria Winstanley.

North Bendigo: Kira Gibbons, Quetta Holloway-Jinks, Maddie Jelbart,

Sandhurst: Maddy White.

Woorinen: Jenna Bannam, Samantha Johnston.

Coach: Rick Ladson.

Assistant coach: Simon Rosa.

Coaching panel for the under-18 girls team was Andrew Reid, assisted by Castlemaine’s Jordan Cochrane.

The CVFL Under 18 squad consisted of:

Castlemaine: Tegan Barry, Amelia Britt, Chloe Butcher, Chelsea Cole, Lori Whaley.

Eaglehawk: Neve Nisbet.

Golden Square: Ava Barker, Bella Eddy, Mackenzie Bickley, Ella Gourley, Lily Mansfield, Gemma McPhee.

Sandhurst: Hannah Cochrane.

Strathfieldsaye: Alysha Boyd, Maddie Dunn, Gemma Fox, Scarlett Ward.

White Hills: Jayda Alford,  Eve Cail, Mia Clark, Chelsea Edwards, Jorja Morrison.

Emergencies are Eaglehawk’s Taylor Collier, Castlemaine’s Kate Batchelor, and Kiara Field from White Hills.

Coach: Andrew Reid.

Assistant coach: Jordan Cochrane.

Manager: Paul Whitford.