CVFL Women’s | Round 14 WRAP UP

Thunder marks impressive win against Golden Square

BENDIGO Thunder marked an impressive victory against Golden Square in Sunday’s 14th round of the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s football competition.

Thunder and Square met at Weeroona Oval.

It was Thunder which led 14-nil at quarter-time before the Bulldogs struck back to win the second, 9-2.

The Jac Louttit-coached Thunder dominated the third term as it added 2.1 and kept the Bulldogs scoreless.

Although the home team did not add to its tally in the final term it had done enough to claim a 29-16 victory.

Leader of the competition’s goalkicking race, Britney Mueck booted two goals to now have a season tally of 57 as Jaime Sawers also added two.

Golden Square’s goalkickers were Emma Gilligan and Tegan Williams.

Best for Thunder were Megan Williamson, Katelyn Hazlett, Jessica Kennedy, Phoebe Cuttriss, Shelby Faulkner and Imogen Kendal.

Emma Gilligan, Natasha Tile, Liz Watkins, Sarah Ingram, Bree Heiden and Andrea Wilson played well for the Todd Deary-coached Golden Square.

Britt Tangey kicked five goals as Strathfieldsaye stormed to a big win against Kerang.


The Jake Donegan-coached Strathfieldsaye won 106-nil at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

Other multiple goalkickers were Bryde O’Rourke, three; Chelsea Reeves and Lana Westaway, two.

Storm’s best were Lana Westaway, Bryde O’Rourke, Ireland O’Rourke, Britt Tangey, Lucy Gorrie and Melissa Freestone.

Jessica Searle, Laura Kirby, Kendall Ash, Kate Spiers, Casy Unger and Amber Dastey worked hard for the Stephen Arthur-coached Blues from Kerang.


North Bendigo forfeited its clash with Castlemaine on the Magpies’ turf at Camp Reserve.

Eaglehawk had the bye, while Kyneton played out a strong victory over Mount Alexander Falcons in the CVFL Women’s practice match.


Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s football ladder:

Castlemaine 1001 per cent, 44 points; Golden Square 609, 32; Bendigo Thunder 569, 32; Kyneton 218, 32; Eaglehawk 217, 20; Strathfieldsaye 28, 12; Kerang 3, 4; North Bendigo 1, 0.


Leading goalkickers:

57 Britney Mueck, BT.

49 Shelby Knoll, Cm.

25 Meg Ginnivan, Cm.

22 Keely Hare, GS.

21 Shannon Prendergast, Kyn.

16 Emily Collins, GS.

15 Georgia Gordon, BT; Samantha Heron, Eh.

12 Jasmine Burzacott, Eh; Jessica Kennedy, BT.

11 Phoebe Cuttriss, BT.


Round 15 kicks off under the Fur Life Oval lights in Golden Square’s Wade Street on Saturday when the Bulldogs take on Kyneton.

The Bulldogs and Tigers clash starts at 5.15pm.

In Sunday’s action, North Bendigo plays Kerang at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street, and Eaglehawk faces Bendigo Thunder on the Borough’s turf at Canterbury Park.

Both matches start at 2.30pm.

Castlemaine and Strathfieldsaye have the bye.


Written by Nathan Dole.