CVFLW Preliminary Final Preview | Tigers fight Hawks to reach grand final


WOORINEN and Eaglehawk will be fighting to reach their first grand final in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s competition on Friday night.

The Tigers and Hawks will clash in the preliminary final from 7pm at Bendigo’s iconic Queen Elizabeth Oval.

For the winner it’s a chance to vie for premiership glory in the September 2 grand final against reigning premier, Castlemaine under the QEO lights.

Neither Eaglehawk or Woorinen have reached a grand final in the CVFL senior women’s competition which began in 2018.

Previous champions have been Bendigo Thunder, 2018; Golden Square, 2019 and ’21; and Castlemaine in 2022.

Competing in the league for the first time, Woorinen achieved a win-loss record of 9-3 in the 14-round home-and-away series.

The Tigers took on Castlemaine in last Sunday’s second semi-final at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park.

Woorinen put in a great effort to be within 14 points at half-time.

After the long break it was the Magpies who scored 4.3 to 1.3 to seal a 66-34 victory.

The Tigers’ attack was led by Natasha Kelly on three goals as Donal Fellows and Carlee Hazlett added one each.

Best for Woorinen were Sophie Peacock, Jemma Meehan, Izabella Palermo, Natasha Kelly, Donal Fellows and Madelaine Jeans.

The Geoff West and Molly Metcalf-coached Eaglehawk kept premiership hopes alive by marking a 23-point in the first semi-final clash with Golden Square.

The Hawks led 31-9 at half-time and 39-11 at a quarter to play.

Golden Square fought back brilliantly to score 4.1 in the last as the Hawks added 3.2.

At the final siren Eaglehawk led 8.11 (59) to 5.6 (36).

Sienna Hobbs kicked three goals for the Borough as Molly Pianta added two.

Best for the Hawks were Drew Ryan, Rhian Hobbs, Grace Murley, Lexie Moss, Grace Edlin and Eliza Long.

This season’s meetings between Woorinen and Eaglehawk stand at two-nil in favour of the Tigers.

In round five, Woorinen dominated in Tigers’ territory to record a 64-1 victory.

Samantha Johnston kicked three goals and Donal Fellows added two.

Best for the yellow and black were Jemma Meehan, Katelyn Hazlett, Leonie Schulz, Carlee Hazlett and Izabella Palermo.

On a tough afternoon for the Hawks it was Grace Edlin, Eliza Long, Kelly Mensfoth, Cass Coleman, Grace Murley and Taylah Petrusma who were best.

Latest meeting between the preliminary finalists was in Pride Round at Eaglehawk on August 6.

On that day Woorinen led 30-26 at half-time and then scored 3.3 to nil in the third term.

The Tigers went on to win 52-34.

Best for Woorinen were Freda Wosomo, Sophie Peacock, Carlee and Katelyn Hazlett, Izabella Palermo and Jemma Meehan.

The Hawks’ best were Cass Coleman, Lexie Moss, Grace Edlin, Molly Metcalf, Taylah Petrusma and Eliza Long.

Players to watch for Woorinen on Friday night include co-captains Tenay Fellows and Casy Unger, Sophie Peacock and Tiana Shepherd in defence, Remi Maher in attack.

A key to Eaglehawk’s chances of toppling the Tigers will be in defence through the play of Eliza Long, Eileen Mitchell, Grace and Olivia Murley.

In attack the Borough has Jasmine Burzacott, Chloe Green, Rhian and Sienna Hobbs to capitalise on the work of their team-mates.

As the Tigers and Hawks do battle the Jordan Cochrane-coached Castlemaine will await to see who they must beat to capture back-to-back premierships.