CVFLW Preliminary Final Review | Woorinen caps run to grand final


WOORINEN has capped a brilliant debut season in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy competition by qualifying for the grand final.

The Tigers played Eaglehawk in a superb preliminary final under the Queen Elizabeth Oval lights on Friday night.

It was Eaglehawk which made a brilliant start to score two goals to a behind in the first quarter.

Despite its inaccuracy, Woorinen’s hard work resulted in a score of 1.5 in the second term to draw level on 12-all at half-time.

Both teams scored two goals in the third quarter as Woorinen led 26-24 going into the final term.

With stakes at such a high level it was the Tigers who clawed their way to a 33-25 victory after they scored 1.1 to a point in the last term.

Woorinen’s goalkickers were Izabella Palermo, two; Donal Fellows and Carlee Hazlett.

The Hawks’ goalscorers were Jasmine Burzacott, Rhian Hobbs, Sienna Hobbs and Molly Pianta.

Woorinen’s best were Izabella Palermo, Freda Wosomo, Carlee Hazlett, Madeleine Jeans, Emma Peacock and Sophie Peacock.

Grace Edlin, Drew Ryan, Alex Summerfield, Cass Coleman, Molly Metcalf and Molly Pianta were best for an Eaglehawk team coached by Geoff West and Molly Metcalf.

It will now be Castlemaine against Woorinen in Friday night’s grand final at Bendigo’s iconic Queen Elizabeth Oval.

The season decider between the Magpies and Tigers starts at 7pm at the ground on the corner of View and Barnard streets.

Castlemaine is chasing back-to-back premierships and also to be undefeated champions.

Woorinen will contest a CVFL senior women’s footy grand final for the first time.