CVFLW Round 12 Review | Magpies outrun Thunder in second half


CASTLEMAINE dominated the second half of Friday night’s clash with Bendigo Thunder to kick off round 12 in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy season.

The unbeaten Magpies made their way to Epsom-Huntly Recreation Reserve to take on Thunder.

A hard-fought opening term ended with Castlemaine in front, 8-1.

Both teams added two goals in the second as the Magpies led 21-13 by half-time.

In the second half it was the Jordan Cochrane-coached Magpies who seized control at centre ball-ups and stoppages.

Castlemaine scored 3.1 to a point in the third term and then slammed on seven straight goals as Thunder was scoreless in the final quarter.

Accuracy was a highlight as Castlemaine scored 13.4 (82) to 2.2 (14).

Magpies’ captain Eloise Gretgrix kicked five goals as Tiffany Bradley added trhree and Eve Sheehan chipped in with two.

Goalkickers for Thunder were Jessica Kennedy and Jaime Sawers.

Best for Castlemaine were Emma Pedretti, Jemma Finning, Eloise Gretgrix, Ella Cochrane, Eve Sheehan and Aisling Tupper.

Isabella Ayre, Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke, Jac Louttit, Ruby Kelly, Acacia Edwards and Jessica Kennedy played well for the Terry Burt-coached Thunder of which Hannah Perry is assistant coach.

The round was completed on Sunday when matches were played at North Bendigo’s Hibo Hotel Oval and Strathfieldsaye’s Triple M Park.

Woorinen Tigers roared to a big win at North Bendigo.

The yellow and black led 42-6 at quarter-time and then added three goals in the second and six goals in the third.

A 97-point lead at the start of the final term was 145 by the finish after Woorinen slammed on 8.1.

Donal Fellows kicked 10 goal in the 154-45 victory.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Tigers were Tenay Fellows, five; and Carlee Hazlett, three.

Aisha Mansfield was on target for North Bendigo.

Best for Woorinen were Carlee Hazlett, Donal Fellows, Tiana Shepherd, Tenay Fellows, Freda Wosomo and Izabella Palermo.

Aisha Mansfield, Quetta Holloway-Jinks, Cassandra Coughlan, Kira Gibbons, Jessica Panczel and Nicole Brannan worked hard for the Bulldogs.

Strathfieldsaye Storm was on home turf at the Tannery Lane ground to take on Eaglehawk.

It was an Eaglehawk team coached by Geoff West and Molly Metcalf which dominated play.

After scoring 6.6 to nil in the first term, Eaglehawk slammed on 8.2 to nil in the second.

Strathfieldsaye lifted its defensive play in the second half to limit the Two Blues to a tally of 5.9.

At the final siren Eaglehawk led 121-nil.

Kelly Mensforth kicked five goals as Sienna Hobbs added four.

Other multiple goalkickers for the Borough line-up were Molly Pianta and Drew Ryan on three each.

Best for the Hawks were Drew Ryan, Lexie Moss, Grace Edlin, Shanae Sawyer, Grace Murley and Kelly Mensforth.

Dani Jeffery, Bridget Chalkley, Jessica Jackson, Alex Campbell-Smith, Sarah Creeley and Katrina Alford worked hard for the Tim McCormick-coached Storm.

Golden Square had the bye.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 955 per cent, 44 points; Eaglehawk 326, 28; Woorinen 282, 28; Golden Square 82, 20; Bendigo Thunder 136, 16; North Bendigo 8, 8; Strathfieldsaye 4, 0.

Pride Round kicks off next Friday night when Castlemaine is home at Camp Reserve to play Golden Square from 7.15pm.

North Bendigo marks a club first next Saturday when the women’s team plays Bendigo Thunder under lights at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street from 5.15pm.

Round 13 will be completed on the Sunday between the second and third- placed Eaglehawk and Woorinen at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park from 2.30pm.

Strathfieldsaye has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

44 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

30 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

25 Donal Fellows, Woorinen.

21 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

18 Grace Edlin, Eaglehawk.

16 Tiffany Bradley, Castlemaine.

15 Natasha Kelly, Woorinen.

13 Jaime Sawers, Bendigo Thunder.

12 Isabella Ayre, Bendigo Thunder.

12 Kelly Mensforth, Eaglehawk.

12 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

11 Tenay Fellows, Woorinen.

11 Jessica Kennedy, Bendigo Thunder.

10 Molly Pianta, Eaglehawk.

9 Britney Mueck, Bendigo Thunder.

9 Ainsley Taft, Castlemaine.

8 Charlotte Beavan, Castlemaine.

8 Molly Metcalf, Eaglehawk.