CVFLW Round 13 Review | Magpies dominate Pride Round match with Square


CASTLEMAINE dominated Friday night’s start to Pride Round in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy competition.

The unbeaten Magpies were on home turf at Camp Reserve to take on Golden Square in the 13th round showdown.

The Jordan Cochrane-coached Castlemaine led 27-6 at quarter-time and then took complete control of the match.

As the Magpies racked up goal tallies of two, three and four in the next three quarters, Golden Square was scoreless.

Abbey Bertram kicked a match-high four goals and captain Eloise Gretgrix chipped in with three in a 13.15 (93) to 1.0 (6) victory.

Other goalkickers for the Magpies were Lily den Houting, two; Tiffany Bradley, Tiahna Cochrane, Rebekah Forrest and Eve Sheehan.

Best for Castlemaine were Tiahna and Ella Cochrane, Abbey Bertram, Lily den Houting, Rachel Thomas and Emma Pedretti.

Katie Walker, Brooke Hards, Keely Hare, Natasha Tile, Liz Watkins and Marnie Gudge worked hard for the Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square.

It was a historic night at Hibo Hotel Oval in North Bendigo’s Atkins Street on Saturday as the Bulldogs played Bendigo Thunder under lights.

The Terry Burt and Hannah Perry-coached Thunder won 8.10 (58) to 0.1 (1) and climbed to the fourth rung on the ladder.

Goalkickers for Thunder were Shasta Martion, three; Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke, two; Acacia Edwards, Jessica Kennedy and Hannah Perry.

Best for the BT line-up were Acacia Edwards, Louise Bibby, Nikki Heffer, Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke, Ruby Kelly and Shasta Martion.

Maddie Jelbart, Mikaela Cole, Ashlyne McInnes, Mikala Dillon and Kristie Alford were best for the Ross Egleton-coached North Bendigo.

Pride Round was completed on Sunday when Eaglehawk hosted Woorinen at Canterbury Park.

The Woorinen Tigers scored 2.0 to 1.1 in the opening term.

Eaglehawk hit back to win the second, 3.1 to 3.0.

Goalkicking accuracy was a highlight for the yellow and black as it kicked five straight goals in the first half.

The Tigers upped their intensity and run in the third term to score 3.3 as the Hawks were scoreless.

The Geoff West and Molly Metcalf-coached Eaglehawk won the final term, 8-1, but it was Woorinen which marked a 52-34 victory.

Donal Fellows, Remi Maher and Sophie Peacock kicked two goals for Woorinen.

The Hawks’ goalkickers were Rhian and Sienna Hobbs, Kelly Mensforth, Molly Metcalf and Freyja Pearce.

Best for Woorinen were Freda Wosomo, Sophie Peacock, Carlee and Katelyn Hazlett, Izabella Palermo and Jemma Meehan.

Cass Coleman, Lexie Moss, Grace Edlin, Molly Metcalf, Taylah Petrusma and Eliza Long worked hard for the Hawks.

Strathfieldsaye had the bye.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 985 per cent, 48 points; Woorinen 266, 32; Eaglehawk 279, 28; Bendigo Thunder 150, 20; Golden Square 67, 20; North Bendigo 7, 8; Strathfieldsaye 4, 0.

The 14th and final round in the home and away series will be played next Sunday.

All matches start at 1pm.

Bendigo Thunder takes on Eaglehawk at Weeroona Oval in Bendigo’s Napier Street.

Golden Square fights North Bendigo in the battle of the Bulldogs at Fur Life Oval in Wade Street.

Woorinen is on home turf to play Strathfieldsaye Storm.

Castlemaine has the bye.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

47 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

31 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

27 Donal Fellows, Woorinen.

21 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

18 Grace Edlin, Eaglehawk.

17 Tiffany Bradley, Castlemaine.

15 Natasha Kelly, Woorinen.

13 Kelly Mensforth, Eaglehawk.

13 Jaime Sawers, Bendigo Thunder.

12 Isabella Ayre, Bendigo Thunder.

12 Abbey Bertram, Castlemaine.

12 Jessica Kennedy, Bendigo Thunder.

12 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

11 Tenay Fellows, Woorinen.

10 Molly Pianta, Eaglehawk.

9 Molly Metcalf, Eaglehawk.

9 Britney Mueck, Bendigo Thunder.

9 Ainsley Taft, Castlemaine.

8 Charlotte Beavan, Castlemaine.