CVFLW Round 3 Preview | Round 3 kicks off under Castlemaine’s lights


ANOTHER Friday night match will be played to kick off round three in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy competition.

The unbeaten Castlemaine is on home turf at Camp Reserve to play Strathfieldsaye Storm from 7.15pm.

After last week’s 33-point win at home against Eaglehawk, Castlemaine will start favourite to mark a hat-trick of wins.

Key players for the Magpies include Aisling Tupper, Charlotte Beavan, Abbey Bertram, and Rachel Thomas.

Others to watch in the Jordan Cochrane-coached team are co-captains Emily Cooper and Eloise Gretgrix, Emma Pedretti and Lily den Houting.

It’s been a tough run for the Tim McCormick-coached Strathfieldsaye which played Bendigo Thunder in round one and then met Golden Square on the rebound from defeat.

Storm was goalless in last Friday’s match on Golden Square’s ground at Fur Life Vet Oval in Wade Street.

Strathfieldsaye’s best in that contest were Bryde O’Rourke, Jessica Jackson, Tara Slender, and Taylah Lindrea.

The play of captain Tracey Anderson, Emily Bickley, Caitlin Shaw and Kerryn Seboa will be crucial to keeping the pressure on in all quarters.

A highlight of round three will be Sunday’s match between Golden Square and Woorinen at Wade Street from 1pm.

Best for the Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square against Storm included Katie Walker, Molly Forde, and Caitlin Robertson.

Other key players in the blue and gold include captain Liz Watkins, Bree Heiden, Natasha Tile, Paynton Jolliffe, and Keely Hare.

Woorinen marked a memorable debut in the CVFL senior women’s competition as it beat Bendigo Thunder by 38 points at Weeroona Oval.

Best for the Tigers in the 54-16 victory were Izabella Palermo, Tiana Shepherd, Katelyn and Carlee Hazlett.

Woorinen will also look for big games from co-captains Tenay Fellows and Casy Unger, Emma Peacock and Maddy Price.

After a bye, North Bendigo is back on its turf at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street to tackle Eaglehawk from 1pm.

The Jie Thomson-coached North Bendigo met Castlemaine in round one.

It was a tough hit-out for the red, white and blue where Quetta Holloway-Jinks, Kira Gibbons, Matilda Henley-Johnstone, and Maddie Jelbart were best.

The Bulldogs team is captained by Aisha Mansfield and includes Mikala Dillon, Jessica and Paige Panczel, and Tanika Thomson.

Eaglehawk is on the rebound from defeat.

The Geoff West and Molly Metcalf-coached Hawks were outplayed on Castlemaine’s turf.

Key players for the Two Blues who beat Golden Square in round one include Chloe Green, Sienna Hobbs, captain Jasmine Burzacott, Taylah Petrusma, Molly Pianta, and Keely Fullerton.

Bendigo Thunder has the bye

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 1588 per cent, 8 points; Woorinen 337, 4; Bendigo Thunder 259, 4; Eaglehawk 168, 4; Golden Square 75, 4; Strathfieldsaye 2, 0; North Bendigo 0, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

11 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

7 Britney Mueck, Bendigo Thunder.

5 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

4 Charlotte Beavan, Castlemaine.

4 Ella Cochrane, Castlemaine.

4 Jessica Kennedy, Bendigo Thunder.

4 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

3 Nikeah Anderson, Bendigo Thunder.

3 Abbey Bertram, Castlemaine.

3 Jasmine Burzacott, Eaglehawk.

3 Jemma Finning, Castlemaine.

3 Keely Fullerton, Eaglehawk.

3 Natasha Kelly, Woorinen.

3 Molly Pianta, Eaglehawk.

3 Ainsley Taft, Castlemaine.