CVFLW Round 9 Review | Magpies fly in Pink Round match at Eaglehawk


CASTLEMAINE outplayed Eaglehawk as the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s football competition marked Pink Round on Friday night and Sunday afternoon.

The unbeaten Castlemaine made its way to Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park for the match between the league’s top two after eight rounds.

The Jordan Cochane-coached Castlemaine won 57-12.

Details on best and goalkickers for both teams were not supplied.

In Friday night’s other match, Golden Square marked an 83-point win on Strathfieldsaye Storm’s ground at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

The Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square led 20-0 at quarter-time and then scored 4.1 to nil in the second.

Led by the play of Katie Walker, Olivia Hogg and Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square kicked on for a 12.11 (83) to 0.0 (0) victory.

Leading goalkickers for Golden Square were Paynton Jolliffe, four; Maddy White, three; and Keely Hare, two.

Best for the blue and gold included Melanie Pellas and Rebecca Berry.

Hannah Cue, Chelsea Reeves, Melissa Freestone, Jessica Jackson, Dani Jeffery and Bridget Chalkley were best for the Tim McCormick-coached Storm.

A great debut season by Woorinen Tigers in the CVFL senior women’s competition kept rolling on Sunday.

The Tigers were at home to take on Bendigo Thunder.

Woorinen led 27-12 at quarter-time and then scored 5.5 to nil in the second term.

The Tigers kicked on for an 89-12 victory.

Donal Fellows kicked four goals as Remi Maher and Leonie Schulz added two each.

Best for the Tigers were Carlee Hazlett, Remi Maher, Freda Wosomo, Madeleine Jeans, Donal and Tenay Fellows.

Marguerita Murphy, Shae-Lee Murphy-Burke, Ruby Kelly, Acacia Edwards, Karleigh Whyte and Hannah Perry worked hard for the Terry Burt-coached Thunder.

North Bendigo had the bye.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy ladder:

Castlemaine 976 per cent, 28 points; Woorinen 393, 20; Eaglehawk 266, 20; Golden Square 110, 20; Bendigo Thunder 157, 12; North Bendigo 5, 4; Strathfieldsaye 3, 0.

It’s a triple-header at Bendigo’s Queen Elizabeth Oval next Sunday when the 10th round is played.

Action kicks off at 10.30am when North Bendigo takes on Strathfieldsaye.

The unbeaten Castlemaine faces Woorinen from 12.30pm in the showdown between the competition’s top two.

Finale of the day is Golden Square against Bendigo Thunder from 2.30pm.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

25 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

17 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

15 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

15 Natasha Kelly, Woorinen.

13 Grace Edlin, Eaglehawk.

12 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

10 Jessica Kennedy, Bendigo Thunder.

10 Jaime Sawers, Bendigo Thunder.