CVFLW Semi- Finals Review | Hawks, Magpies mark semi-final victories


EAGLEHAWK and Castlemaine triumphed in Sunday’s first and second semi-finals of the Champions IGA-backed CVFL senior women’s footy competition.

Finals action kicked off at Eaglehawk’s Canterbury Park.

The Hawks took on Golden Square in the first semi.

After scoring 2.2 to 0.2 in the first term, Eaglehawk took control through the second term to add 2.5 to 1.1.

At half-time the Geoff West and Molly Metcalf-coached Eaglehawk led 31-9.

Defences were well on top in the third as the Two Blues were held to 1.2, but just as importantly kept Square to a tally of two behinds.

Play opened up in the last.

The Nathan Manuel-coached Golden Square worked hard to score 4.1, but the Borough was able to added 3.2 to complete a 59-36 victory.

Eaglehawk’s attack was led by Sienna Hobbs and Molly Pianta on three and two goals.

Key forward Paynton Jolliffe kicked two goals for Golden Square.

Best for Eaglehawk were Drew Ryan, Rhian Hobbs, Grace Murley, Lexie Moss, Grace Edlin and Eliza Long.

Keely Hare, Paynton Jolliffe, Katie Walker, Brooke Hards, Hayley Braden and Liz Watkins played well for Golden Square.

Top two after the 14-round home and away series, Castlemaine and Woorinen met in the second semi-final.

Unbeaten in its quest for back-to-back premierships, Castlemaine is now a win away from achieving the feat after a 32-point win against Woorinen.

A highly-entertaining opening term ended in Castlemaine being in front, 20-12.

Playing in its first CVFL senior women’s final, Woorinen did well to score 2.1 in the second, but the Magpies added 3.1 to lead 39-25 by the main break.

The Jordan Cochrane-coached Castlemaine then surged to a five-goal lead by the last change after it scored 3.3 to just two behinds in the crucial third quarter.

Both teams added 1.1 in the last as the Magpies marked a 66-34 victory.

Magpies’ co-captain and gun goalkicker Eloise Gretgrix finished with a match-high five goals.

With her third goal of the contest, Gretgrix hit the 50-goal milestone for the season.

Other goalkickers for Castlemaine were Abbey Bertram, Tiffany Bradley, Tiahna Cochrane, Georgia Gribble and Eve Sheehan.

The Tigers’ attack was led by Natasha Kelly on three as Donal Fellows and Carlee Hazlett added one each.

Best for Castlemaine were Jemma Finning, Emma Pedretti, Tiahna Cochrane, Meg Ginnivan, Eloise Gretgrix and Lily den Houting.

Woorinen’s best were Sophie Peacock, Jemma Meehan, Izabella Palermo, Natasha Kelly, Donal Fellows and Madeleine Jeans.

Woorinen and Eaglehawk will now meet in next Friday night’s preliminary final at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

The clash between the Tigers and Hawks starts at 7pm.

Castlemaine has progressed to the grand final to be played on Friday, September 1 from 7pm at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

52 Eloise Gretgrix, Castlemaine.

37 Sienna Hobbs, Eaglehawk.

35 Donal Fellows, Woorinen.

29 Paynton Jolliffe, Golden Square.

21 Natasha Kelly, Woorinen.

18 Tiffany Bradley, Castlemaine.

18 Grace Edlin, Eaglehawk.

15 Isabella Ayre, Bendigo Thunder.

14 Kelly Mensforth, Eaglehawk.

14 Molly Pianta, Eaglehawk.

14 Jaime Sawers, Bendigo Thunder.

13 Abbey Bertram, Castlemaine.

13 Jessica Kennedy, Bendigo Thunder.

12 Aisling Tupper, Castlemaine.

11 Tenay Fellows, Woorinen.

11 Remi Maher, Woorinen.

9 Tiahna Cochrane, Castlemaine.

9 Molly Metcalf, Eaglehawk.

9 Britney Mueck, Bendigo Thunder.

9 Ainsley Taft, Castlemaine.

8 Charlotte Beavan, Castlemaine.

8 Lily den Houting, Castlemaine.

8 Carlee Hazlett, Woorinen.

8 Leonie Schulz, Woorinen.

8 Eve Sheehan, Castlemaine.

7 Nikeah Anderson, Bendigo Thunder.

7 Jasmine Burzacott, Eaglehawk.

7 Ella Cochrane, Castlemaine.

7 Jemma Finning, Castlemaine.

7 Keely Fullerton, Eaglehawk.

7 Gabrielle Drage, Golden Square.