Demons tackle Grasshoppers at White Hills

SECOND takes on third as White Hills and Colbinabbin clash in Saturday’s 12th round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football Netball League season.

The clash between the Demons and Grasshoppers at Tint A Car Oval in Scott Street, White Hills will be a highlight of the Love The Game round.

When these clubs last met it was the Demons who capitalised on Colbo turnovers to score an 85-53 victory at M.J. Morgan Oval.

For this clash, White Hills has named ruckman Lachlan Sidebottom, key forward Lachlan Collihole and the versatile Zeke Lamb as emergencies.

Colbinabbin has brought in M. Hardiman, T. Hill, P. O’Brien and B. Southam for Hugh and Joseph  Barlow, Seamus Bromley and Jason Turnbull.

Although under an injury cloud, Demons’ full-forward Jed Lamb was named in an attack that includes Eli Pearce, captain Mitch Dole and Jake Allport.

In-form players for White Hills include the Wright brothers, David and Hayden, along with coach Sam Kerridge, Doolan Nihill and Rhys Irwin.

The Julian Bull-coached Colbinabbin will look for big games from Lawless, Nick Knight, D. and T. Hill in defence, Todd Clarke in the centre, Matt Riordan and Stephen Tuohey in attack, and ruckman Lochlan Sirett.

Leitchville Gunbower hosts Mount Pleasant at Degroot Roof Painting Gunbower Reserve.

The Bombers have brought in Jack Kervin for Brett Johnson.

Round five was one of Leitchville Gunbower’s best performances of the season in a 114-84 loss to Mount Pleasant at Toolleen.

Key players for the Bombers include Nathan McLellan at centre half-back, Billy Hawken and Tom Brereton in midfield, ruckman Lee Pollock, and Ayden Walton.

A strong Mount Pleasant squad includes Ben Weightman, Adam and Travis Baird, Billy Mahony, Brayden Dorrington, Liam Collins and Patrick O’Brien.

North Bendigo tackles Heathcote at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street.

The Bulldogs beat the Saints by 11 points in the fifth round at Pigeon Park in Barrack Reserve.

The Matt Dillon-coached North Bendigo is in a fight to take third place off Colbinabbin so cannot afford a slip-up.

Refreshed by the bye, North Bendigo will be keen to carry on the momentum from its win at White Hills.

Aarryn Craig and Jordan Ford star each week for the Bulldogs and have great support from the likes of Tom Metherell, Shane Harris, Dylan Klemm, Koe Ngawati, Harry O’Meara and Bailey Wingrave.

The Wayne Primmer-coached Saints worked hard to be within 25 points of White Hills last round.

Jordan Marcroft, William Long, Billy Price and Tom Pain led the Saints charge.

Key players for Heathcote include ruck-rover Louis Piccolo, Alex McIvor at full-forward, Ryan Bailey at full-back, Jai Cavallaro and Ben Connelly.

Huntly meets Elmore at Specialist Breeders Australia Oval in Huntly’s Strauch Reserve.

In round five it was the Dylan Friedberger-coached Elmore which led 69-45 at three quarter-time.

The Bloods were under pressure in the last but fought on to win a great contest, 79-78.

Ben Makepeace kicked five goals and James Harney added three as Zack Holmberg, Lachlan McKenzie and Mitch Cricelli were among the best.

Brandon Dimech, Tyler Miles, Jay McDonald, Alex Daniels were best for the Stacy Fiske-coached Hawks.

For Saturday’s clash, Huntly has brought in Alex Daniels, Kyle Hawken and Blayne Ryan-Storey, but Anthony Tanner is out.

Elmore’s inclusions are Mattia Curry, Aloysio Ferreira, Zachary Oaff, Tyler Oliver and Hayden Trewick.

Bloods’ coach Dylan Friedberger is on the sidelines, along with Jim Grogan and Ben Makepace.

Key players for the Huntly Hawks include Luke, Jake and Ryan Semmel, Tyler Miles, Jaydon Cowling, Jay McDonald, and ruckman Brad Chalmers.

The Bloods will again look for big games from the likes of Bailey Boyack in the centre, Mitch Cricelli at centre half-forward, Dylan Gordon in the ruck, Matt Nettlefold and Jack Trewick on the wings.

Lockington Bamawm United has the bye.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

Lockington Bamawm United 298 per cent, 40 points; White Hills 169, 36; Colbinabbin 177, 28; North Bendigo 99, 24; Mount Pleasant 95, 20; Huntly 86, 12; Elmore 56, 12; Heathcote 76, 8; Leitchville Gunbower 32, 0.

Written by Nathan Dole.