Demons turn up heat against Dogs at White Hills

THE winless White Hills will turn up the heat when the Demons take on North Bendigo in Saturday’s third round of the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football Netball League’s senior footy action.

White Hills has home-ground advantage against the Bulldogs at Scott Street.

The Demons have faced Lockington Bamawm United and Mount Pleasant in the opening two rounds.

The Easter Saturday match between White Hills and Mount Pleasant ended in a 76-point win for the Blues at Toolleen.

North Bendigo has a 2-1 record and needs a win to stay in touch with the top three.

The Demons will be aiming to create and capitalise on more scoring chances after scoring just 63 points in consecutive matches.

The creative Mitch Dole looms as a big danger to North Bendigo’s defence.

Other key players for the Jack Fallon-coached Demons include Brady Childs, Kaiden Skelton, Gavin Bowles, Samual Lowes, Bayden Fallon and Rhys Irwin.

Among the seven changes to North Bendigo’s line-up for the win against Elmore were the inclusion of talented teenagers Cody Riddick and Riley Paetow.

Riddick kicked a match-high seven goals against the Bloods and Paetow’s skill and workrate from a wing impressed.

Ruckman Ryan Gow was best on ground last round and will again play a key role, as will Aarryn Craig, Dylan Klemm, Daniel Reid, Sam Demeo and Lachlan Ford.


Heathcote takes on Mount Pleasant at Heathcote’s Barrack Reserve.

A 1-2 run for the Saints includes a home-ground win against Huntly and losses at North Bendigo and Lockington.

Best for Heathcote in the round two match against Lockington Bamawm United were Connor Hamilton, Jordan Cavallaro and Jack Brooks.

A major focus for the Andrew Saladino-coached Saints will be a high rate of pressure on the Blues’ onballers and midfield.

Key players for the Saints include Billy and Codie Price, Braden Padmore, Liam Birch, Will Long, Kai Cavallaro and Mitchell McLean.

After a four-goal haul in the clash at North Bendigo, Kai Cavallaro has followed up with two against Huntly and another against LBU for a season tally of seven.

The Darren Walsh and Adam Baird-coached Mount Pleasant has shown it has plenty of goalscoring power.

Dean Tydell and Ben Weightman are among the joint leaders in the league goalkicking race on eight.

Best in the win against White Hills were Weightman, Adam Baird, Zane Keighran and ruckman Chris Down.

A Michelsen medallist and premiership winner in his time at Golden Square, Adam Baird’s non-stop run  and skill are among the many strengths of his game.

A talented squad for the Blues includes Zac Featherby, Billy Mahony, Pat O’Brien, Zebb Murrell and Jesse Tuohey.


After a one-point victory on Huntly’s turf, Leitchville Gunbower will be at the Gunbower ground to take on the powerful Lockington Bamawm United.

Best for the Tim Bannan-coached Bombers against Huntly were Josh Hawken, ruckman Jobee Warde, and Blake Azzopardi who kicked seven goals.

The Bombers’ line-up against the Cats includes Nathan McLellan at centre half-back, ruck-rover Ayden Walton, Tom Brereton as rover, Thomas Guerra on a wing, and Xavier Colvin at full-back.

The onball and midfield contests will have a major bearing on LG’s chances.

A formidable onball division for the Cats is led by ruckman Tyler Phillips and includes Lachlan Atherton, Brodie Collins and Harley Cobb.

Key players for LBU include Anthony McMahon and Ben Fulford across half-forward, Jarod Bacon, Riley McIvor, Jeremy Mundie, and Charlie Hinks at centre half-back.


Elmore is at home against the ladder-leading Colbinabbin.

These clubs met just three weeks ago where Colbo won by 89 points under lights at M.J. Morgan Oval in the second match of the season opening round.

The Bloods will be tested by a Grassshoppers team refreshed by the bye.

Elmore does regain co-coach Dylan Frieberger in the forward line will be without the other co-coach and key ruckman/forward Dylan Gordon because of injury.

The Bloods best against North Bendigo were Rhys Holmberg, Tanner Cerrone, Nic Palmer and Zack Holmberg.

Elmore’s defence which includes Bailey Saywer, Zach Laffy, Sam Lees and Hayden Trewick could be in for a tough afternoon against a Colbo attack led by James and Jed Brain, and Clint Shields.

The Bloods also welcome back Sebastian De Napoli to the forward line, while the play of Matt Gilmour, Darcy Laffy and Che Taranto will be important.

In-form players for the Julian Bull-coached Colbinabbin include Laine Fitzgerald, Todd Clarke, William Lowe, Ben Barton, Matt Riordan and ruckman Hadleigh Sirett.

Huntly has the bye.


Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

Colbinabbin 233 per cent, 8 points; Lockington Bamawm United 227, 8; Mount Pleasant 191, 8; North Bendigo 114, 8; Leitchville Gunbower 101, 4; Heathcote 79, 4; Huntly 84, 0; Elmore 51, 0; White Hills 46, 0.


Leading goalkickers:

8 Dylan Klemm, NB; Anthony McMahon, LBU; Dean Tydell, MP; Ben Weightman, MP.

7 Blake Azzopardi, LG; Kai Cavallaro, H’cote; Laine Fitzgerald, Colbo.; Matt Gray, NB; Cody Riddick, NB; Rhys Woodland, LBU.

6 Adam Baird, MP; Ben Fulford, LBU.

5 James Brain, Colbo.; Sebastian de Napoli, Elm.; Orion Downing, Huntly; Connor Hamilton, H’cote; Jackson Jones, H’cote; Braden Padmore, H’cote.

4 Jed Brain, Colbo.; Liam Birch, H’cote; Jack Brooks, H’cote; Todd Clarke, Colbo.; Dylan Friedberger, Elm.; Shane Harris, NB; Nicholas Palmer, Elm.; Clint Shields, Colbo.


Written by Nathan Dole.