Square’s streak against South Bendigo rolls on

CLASSY forward Joel Brett kicked seven goals as Golden Square’s winning streak against South Bendigo rolled on in Saturday’s start to the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League’s senior footy season.

The Bloods and Bulldogs met at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

Golden Square made a brilliant start to the contest as it scored 5.1 and held the Bloods to just two points in the first term.

The Nathan Horbury-coached South Bendigo lifted dramatically in the second to add 4.6 to 2.3 to be within 14 points at half-time.

The Bloods outscored the Dogs by two points in the vital third quarter to be within two goals going into the final term.

But it was Brett and Bulldogs’ onballers Terence Reeves, Jack Geary and ruckman Matt Compston who would have a major impact as the game rolled on.

The Christian Carter-coached Golden Square slammed on 6.3 to a point in the last to win 15.13 (103) to 7.11 (53).

Brett’s seven goals earned best afield honours as Alex Jenkyn and Braydon Vaz were the other multiple goalkickers for the blue and gold on two.

Up against his former club, Brock Harvey led the Bloods attack on three goals as key targets Kaiden Antonowicz and Michael Herlihy were held to one major apiece.

Golden Square’s best included young key forward Tom Strauch, who kicked a goal, and Liam Duguid.

Best for the Bloods were Cameron Taggert, Nathan Horbury, Brock Harvey, onballer Cooper Leon, midfielder Oscar White, and Liam Byrne.

Golden Square has won seven of its past eight showdowns with South Bendigo.

Stung by Sandhurst’s ferocity at the contest on the way to a 36-23 lead by half-time, Gisborne hit back to dominate most of the final hour at Gardiner Reserve.

A fired-up Sandhurst raced to a 22-9 lead by quarter-time and worked hard to match the Bulldogs tally of 2.2 in the second.

Just as the Dragons had done in the first half, Gisborne’s work around the stoppages began to lift markedly in the crucial third term.

Gisborne scored 2.3 to a point as Sandhurst led 38-37 going into the final term.

Led by the play of stand-in captain Jack Reaper, Frank Schipano and Liam Spear, Gisborne blitzed in the last quarter to score 5.4 to 1.3 on the way to a 10.12 (72) to 6.10 (46) victory.

Key forward Jack Scanlon kicked three goals and the elusive Ethan Foreman and Matt Panuccio added two in a match where Gisborne was without several stars, including captain Pat McKenna because of Covid protocols.

Sandhurst’s leading goalkicker was Lachlan Zimmer on two.

Best for Gisborne included Jack Scanlon, Jaidyn Owen and Flynn Lakey.

The Dragons’ best were Noah Walsh, Tanner Nally, ruckman Hamish Hocking, key defender Liam Ireland, James Mittell and Cooper Smith.

Strathfieldsaye won a hard-fought clash with Eaglehawk on Storm’s turf at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

Storm led 19-16 at quarter-time, but it was the Hawks who had gained the advantage, 37-32 by the main break.

A fired-up Storm added 3.5 to just three points in the crucial term to hold a 15-point buffer going into the final term.

After a high-scoring finale in which Storm added 4.6 and the Hawks scored 5.2 it was Strathfieldsaye in front, 12.13 (85) to 10.12 (72).

Gun forward Lachlan Sharp, a dual winner of the Ron Best Medal as the league’s leading goalkicker finished with a match-high four goals.

James Schischka added two as six team-mates were also on target.

Eaglehawk’s attack was led by Darcy Richards, three; and Lewin Davis, two.

Best afield honours went to James Schischka from the versatile Lachlan Gill.

Others to feature in Storm’s best were Callum McCarthy, Riley Clarke, Baxter Slater and Hunter Lawrence.

After a summer starring with bat and ball for Bendigo United Cricket Club, Clayton Holmes marked a new football season by being best for the Two Blues.

Billy Evans, Noah Wheeler and Kobe Lloyd won plenty of the footy as Darcy Richards and Dillon Williams also played well.

Kyneton was too strong for Castlemaine at Camp Reserve.

The Paul Chapman-coached Tigers led 14-8 at quarter-time and then slammed on 7.5 to 1.1 in the second to hold a 46-point lead by the main break.

It was a high-scoring third term in which the yellow and black added 7.4 and the Don Moran-coached Magpies lifted their play to add five goals straight.

It was a tough battle in the last which Kyneton won 16-3 on its way to an 18.15 (123) to 7.6 (48) victory.

Guy Dickson, Rhys Magin and Ryan Pretty all kicked four goals for the Tigers and Ned O’Sullivan added two.

The Magpies’ attack was led by gun recruit Bailey Henderson, three.

Kyneton’s best were Dean Bartrop, Frazer Driscoll, Hamish Yunghanns, Louis Thompson, James Orr and Rhys Magin.

In his comeback at the Camp after playing in a premiership with Strathfieldsaye Storm, Henderson was best for the Magpies along with Liam Wilkinson, Tom Cain, John Watson, Tommy Horne and Kaleb McBride.

Kangaroo Flat scored a 71-point victory against Maryborough on the Roos’ ground at Dower Park.

There was plenty to like about a young Kangaroos’ line-up which is being coached by James Flaherty.

After struggling for goals throughout most of last season, Kangaroo Flat started in great style to score 16.19 (115) to 6.8 (44).

Hamish Lockhart and Lachy Wilson kicked three goals apiece.

Mitch Rovers, a star in the Roos’ under-18s premiership victory in 2019 before crossing to Sandhurst seniors last season, marked his return in the green and white by booting two goals and Mitch Holt added two majors.

The Rick Andrews-coached Maryborough had Chris Freeman on target with three goals.

Best for Kangaroo Flat were Nicholas Keogh, Mitch Rovers, Hamish Lockhart, Ryan O’Keefe, Jake Hywood and Darcy Kelly.

On a tough afternoon for the Magpies it was Kya Lanfranchi, Lachlan Hull, midfielder Coby Perry, Chris Freeman, ruckman Brady Neill and Thomas Gardam who were best.

Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Kangaroo Flat 261 per cent, 4 points; Kyneton 256, 4; Golden Square 194, 4; Gisborne 156, 4; Strathfieldsaye 118, 4; Eaglehawk 84, 0; Sandhurst 63, 0; South Bendigo 51, 0; Castlemaine 39, 0; Maryborough 38, 0.

Leaders in the Ron Best Medal goalkicking award:

7 Joel Brett, GS; 4 Guy Dickson, Kyn; 4 Rhys Magin, Kyn; 4 Ryan Pretty, Kyn; 4 Lachlan Sharp, S’saye; 3 Chris Freeman, Mb; 3 Brock Harvey, SB; 3 Bailey Henderson, Cm; 3 Hamish Lockhart, KF; 3 Darcy Richards, Eh; 3 Jack Scanlon, Gis.; 3 Lachy Wilson, KF.

Highlights of round two on Good Friday will be the Eaglehawk and South Bendigo showdown at Canterbury Park, and Sandhurst up against Strathfieldsaye at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

It’s the battle of the Magpies as Maryborough and Castlemaine clash at Maryborough’s Princes Park.

Those three matches start at 2.20pm.

It’s then under lights as Calder rivals Kyneton and Gisborne meet at Kyneton Showgrounds from 5.30pm.

The stand-alone match on Easter Saturday is Golden Square against Kangaroo Flat from 5.30pm at Wade Street.


Written by Nathan Dole.