Castlemaine celebrates breakthrough victory on Good Friday

CASTLEMAINE broke its winless run in senior footy action as round two of the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League season kicked off Good Friday.

The Don Moran-coached Castlemaine turned a 13-point deficit at half-time of the match at Maryborough’s Princes Park into an 11-point lead at a quarter to go.

In the all-Magpies showdown  it was Castlemaine which dominated the final quarter, 8.5 to 2.2.

At the final siren, Castlemaine led 21.10 (136) to 12.14 (86).

It was Castlemaine’s first victory since round one in 2018 when it beat Maryborough.

Jack Chester was in hot form on Good Friday as he kicked seven goals.

Back at Castlemaine after a premiership-winning stint at Strathfieldsaye, Bailey Henderson was among the best and kicked three goals, a feat matched by Brodie Byrne and Callum McConachy.

It was a superb effort by the ‘Maine to have eight goalkickers.

Multiple goalkickers for Maryborough were Lachie Butler, Chris Freeman and Patrick Van der Pol on two.

The Rick Andrews-coached Maryborough was powerless to stop Castlemaine’s second-half blitz.

In the final hour Castlemaine scored 14.7 to 4.4.

Callum McConachy was best afield as Tommy Horne, Brendan Josey, Bailey Henderson, Kaleb McBride and Tyson Hickey were among Castlemaine’s best.

Maryborough’s best were Aidan Hare, Brady Neill, Lachie Butler, Lachlan Hull, Liam Murphy and Liam Latch.

It was a spirited contest between Sandhurst and Strathfieldsaye at Queen Elizabeth Oval.

Strathfieldsaye led 27-19 at quarter-time, but the Dragons fired up to win the second term, 2.5 to 1.2, and held a one-point lead by the long break.

Led by the play of Jake Moorhead, Callum McCarty and Jye Formosa it was Storm which surged to an 11-point buffer by three quarter-time.

A high-scoring final term was won by Strathfieldsaye, 6.4 to 4.1, on the way to a 16.12 (108) to 12.10 (82) victory.

The classy Lachlan Sharp kicked five goals for Storm and the strong-marking James Schischka played another key role in attack to kick four goals.

The Dragons’ multiple goalkickers were Lee Coghlan, Blair Holmes, Zach Pallpratt and Joel Wharton on two each.

Best for the Darryl Wilson and Shannon Geary-coached Storm included Lachlan Ratcliffe, James Schischka and Hunter Lawrence.

Sandhurst’s best were Noah Walsh, ruckman Hamish Hosking, Zach Pallpratt, Jeremy Rodi, Lee Coghlan and Liam Ireland.

Eaglehawk was too good for South Bendigo at Canterbury Park.

The Bloods worked hard to lead 21-20 at quarter-time, but from there it was the Borough which won plenty of the footy at centre ball-ups and stoppages.

The Travis Matheson-coached Eaglehawk led 64-48 at half-time and then upped the pressure to score 3.2 to 1.3 in the crucial third term.

Key forward Darcy Richards was on the end of plenty of attacks on his way to a match-high six goals in the 19.8 (122) to 9.12 (66).

Corey Roberts and Ben Thompson chipped in with three goals and Kobe Lloyd added two majors for the Two Blues.

South Bendigo’s only multiple goalkicker was Brock Harvey on four.

Best for the Hawks were Noah Wheeler, Joel Mullen, Kobe Lloyd, Oscar Madden, Darcy Richards and Billy Evans.

The Bloods’ best were Cooper Leon, Liam Byrne, Michael Herlihy, Andrew van Heumen, Brock Harvey and Josh Connolly.

Play on Good Friday was completed under lights at Kyneton Showgrounds where the Tigers took on Gisborne.

A highly-skilled and high-scoring opening term ended with Gisborne in front, 6.2 to 6.0.

The Rob Waters-coached Gisborne dominated the second term as it slammed on 9.6 to a point.

The Bulldogs turned a 59-point lead at half-time into a 87-point margin at a quarter to go.

The Paul Chapman-coached Kyneton worked hard in the last to add 3.1 to 3.3.

A Gisborne attack led by Josh Kemp, seven goals, and captain Pat McKenna, five, had a night out in the 24.12 (156) to 10.7 (67) victory.

Best afield Brad Bernacki added two goals as did Ethan Foreman against his old club and Matt Merrett.

Kyneton’s leading goalkickers were Rhys Magin and Cameron Manuel on four each as Ryan Pretty added two.

The hot form of Bernacki rolled on as Jaidyn Owen, Josh Kemp, Sam Graham, Flynn Lakey and Macklan Lord were among Gisborne’s best.

Kyneton’s best were Louis Phillips, Jake Safstrom, Cameron Manuel, Rhys Magin, Hamish Yunghanns and Dean Bartrop.

But for inaccuracy, Golden Square could have had the premiership points in the bank by quarter-time against Kangaroo Flat on Easter Saturday afternoon.

The Bulldogs led 4.10 to 1.0 at the first break of their match at Fur Life Oval in Wade Street.

Golden Square fared much better near goal in the second as it added 6.2 to 2.2.

Captain Jack Geary, key forward Joel Brett, and the hard-running Jake Thrum played starring roles as the blue and gold went on to win 21.25 (151) to 6.6 (42).

Bulldogs’ coach Christian Carter would have been rapt with the workrate in the final quarter where the line-up added 6.6.

Joel Brett followed up the previous round’s haul of seven goals by kicking eight majors against the Roos.

The high-marking Jayden Burke also made a welcome return to the Bulldogs’ attack by kicking six goals as Hamish Morcom, three, was the other multiple goalkicker.

Kangaroo Flat’s only multiple goalkicker was Mitch Rovers on two.

The Bulldogs’ best included Jayden Burke, ruckman Matt Compston, and Zavier Murley.

Liam Collins, Jake Hywood, Sam Barnes, Dane Spear, Mitchell Trewhella and Nic Lang worked hard for the Roos.

Anzac Round will be played next Saturday.

QEO co-tenants South Bendigo and Sandhurst do battle.

Kangaroo Flat takes on Eaglehawk at Dower Park.

Strathfieldsaye and Kyneton meet at Triple M Park in Strathfieldsaye’s Tannery Lane.

Gisborne and Castlemaine clash at Gardiner Reserve.

Golden Square and Maryborough face off at Fur Life Oval in Wade Street.

Bendigo FNL senior footy ladder:

Golden Square 267 per cent, 8 points; Gisborne 201, 8; Strathfieldsaye 125, 8; Eaglehawk 128, 4; Kyneton 93, 4; Castlemaine 88, 4; Kangaroo Flat 80, 4; Sandhurst 71, 0; South Bendigo 52, 0; Maryborough 51, 0.

Leaders in the Ron Best Medal senior goalkicking race:

15 Joel Brett, GS.

9 Darcy Richards, Eh; 9 Lachlan Sharp, S’saye.

8 Rhys Magin, Kyn.

7 Jack Chester, Cm; Brock Harvey, SB: Josh Kemp, Gis.

6 Jayden Burke, GS; Bailey Henderson, Cm; Ryan Pretty, Kyn.; James Schischka, S’saye.

5 Chris Freeman, Mb; Pat McKenna, Gis.

4 Guy Dickson, Kyn.; Ethan Foreman, Gis.; Tommy Horne, Cm; Cameron Manuel, Kyn.; Mitch Rovers, KF; Jack Scanlon, Gis.


Written by Nathan Dole.