Golden Square breaks Thunder’s winning run

GOLDEN Square ended Bendigo Thunder’s winning streak in Sunday’s eighth round of the Champions IGA-backed CVFL women’s football competition.

After a 24-point loss on Golden Square’s turf in the first round match played on April 11, Thunder had won six consecutive games.

On Sunday, Thunder was at home at Weeroona Oval to take on the unbeaten Golden Square.

At the end of an evenly-contested first quarter, Square led 14-7.

The blue and gold upped their pressure and run in the second to score 2.4 as Thunder added two points.

Led by the play of Brea Ross, Bree Heiden, Sarah Baldwin and Carly Ladson, Golden Square added 4.3 to nil in the third term to lead by eight goals at a quarter to go.

Thunder worked hard to win the final term, 13-12, but it was Golden Square which stretched its winning streak to eight in a 69-22 victory.

Tiahna Cochrane led Golden Square’s attack on three goals as Lily Campbell and Madeleine White continued their fine seasons.

Thunder’s best were Shardae Sharp, Ramya Rajkumar, Sharni Barker, Hannah Perry, Jodie Palmer and Brianna Burt.

Kerang marked consecutive wins as the Blues scored a 50-15 win against Strathfieldsaye at Riverside Park.

Donal Fellows led Kerang’s attack on three goals as Sophie Peacock, Hannah Spencer, Hannah Stewart, Tenay and Donal Fellows, and Maddison Price were best.

Alana Long, Claire Macgill, Georgia Vozlic, Tracey Anderson and Tameeka Morrissey played well for Strathfieldsaye.

Kyneton marked a 51-2 victory against North Bendigo at Kyneton Showgrounds.

The Tigers led 3.4 to 0.1 at quarter-time, but the visitors worked hard to restrict Kyneton to just four points in the second term.

Kyneton added two goals in the third and another in the last as it kept North Bendigo scoreless in the second half.

Shannon Prendergast kicked three goals for the yellow and black.

Best for Kyneton were Heidi Erasmus, Ursula Van Dyk, Shannon Prendergast, Belinda Hateley, Natalie Korinfsky and Jenna Davies.

North Bendigo is still chasing that elusive first goal of the season.

Alyssa Johnstone, Melissa Freestone, Rose Wilkens, Cassandra Coughlan, Leonie Schulz and Teagan Stuchbery played well for North Bendigo.

Closest match of the round was played at Bendigo Mazda Oval in Kangaroo Flat’s Dower Park.

The fourth-placed Kangaroos were determined to take the points against the third-placed Eaglehawk.

The Hawks led 8-6 at quarter-time and 21-15 by the long break in a match where defences were in control.

Both teams were goalless in the third term, but the Hawks increased their lead to eight points.

It was a goal apiece in the last as Eaglehawk won a great contest, 31-23.

Ebony Whiley led the Borough’s attack on two goals.

Eaglehawk’s best were Shanae Sawyer, Taylor Bellesini, Lily Den Houting, Eillish Cumming and Ebony Whiley.

Molly Metcalf, Eileen Mitchell, Jemma Finning, Ruby Campbell, Brianna Boldiston and Donna Symes played well for the Kangaroos.

Champions IGA-backed CVFL women’s footy ladder:

Golden Square 654 per cent, 32 points; Bendigo Thunder 265, 24; Eaglehawk 181, 24; kangaroo Flat 146, 16; Strathfieldsaye 114, 12; Kyneton 71, 12; Kerang 43, 8; North Bendigo 0.3, 0.

Round nine kicks off this Friday night under the lights at Fur Life Vet Oval in Wade Street.

Golden Square will take on Kangaroo Flat from 7pm.

Most recent showdown between the clubs was on May 22 at Bendigo Mazda Oval in Dower Park.

Golden Square won 110 to 34 as Tiahna Cochrane, five goals; Amanda Carrod, three; and Lily Campbell, two, led the attack.

Best for Golden Square were Madeleine White, Mia Ward, Monique Williams and Bree Heiden.

Shelby Knoll, Eileen Mitchell, Ruby Campbell and Kylie Thompson played well for the Kangaroos.

The ninth round will be completed from 2.30pm on Sunday.

North Bendigo takes on Bendigo Thunder at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street.

Eaglehawk faces Kerang at S & R Park in Canterbury Park.

Strathfieldsaye meets Kyneton at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.


Written by Nathan Dole.