Golden Square caps brilliant run to premiership glory

GOLDEN Square capped a brilliant season by winning the Champions IGA-backed Central Victoria Football League women’s grand final against Kangaroo Flat on Sunday.

Unbeaten in the run to the finals, Golden Square was too strong for the Kangaroos in the season decider at Weeroona Oval in Bendigo.

All season it had been the blue and gold’s attack and midfield which had played a key factor in a 17-game winning streak.

Golden Square’s defence was outstanding in the grand final as it kept Kangaroo Flat goalless.

The hot favourites led 13-2 at quarter-time.

Kangaroo Flat lifted to win the second term, 2-1, as Square led 14-4 at the long break.

The Bulldogs added 2.2 to a point in the vital third quarter and a goal to nil in the last to complete a 4.6 (30) to 0.5 (5).

Goalkickers for Golden Square were Tiffany Bradley, Jessica Cox, Sarah Ingram and Letisha Stewart.

Gemma Free played in the ruck and was best afield and had great support from captain Sarah Baldwin, Carly McRae in defence, Olivia McEvoy and Jessica Cox.

Best for Kangaroo Flat were midfielder Eillish Cumming, Ruby Campbell, Rachel Thomas, Shelby Knoll, Bronte Rice and Kate Hare.

The Golden Square team was coached by Rick Ladson, a premiership-winning player with Hawthorn in 2008, and a star for the Bulldogs and also Bendigo Pioneers.

A formidable Golden Square attack was led by Amanda Carrod, 35 goals; Olivia McEvoy, 22; Sarah Ingram, 21; and Tiffany Bradley, 16.

Kangaroo Flat was coached by Mark Hull and achieved a 12-3 win-loss tally in the 2019 campaign.

Highs for the Roos included Kelly Mensforth kicking 43 goals to win the league’s goalkicking award.

Other leading players in Kangaroo Flat’s forward line were Shelby Knoll, 30 goals; and Lily McNair, 15.

The only blight on Golden Square’s season was the round 11 match against Kangaroo Flat in which the eventual premiers played two ineligible players to make up numbers.

Square won the match, but the scores were altered to record a Kangaroo Flat victory of 4.3 (27) to 0.0 (0).

Clubs represented in the second year of the Central Victoria Football women’s league were Golden Square, Kangaroo Flat, Strathfieldsaye, North Bendigo, Kyneton, and Eaglehawk.