Golden Square coach adjudged league’s best for 2021

GOLDEN Square coach Carly Ladson has marked another superb season by being best and fairest in the Champions IGA-backed Central Victoria Football League’s women’s competition for 2021.

The league’s awards presentation was held via the AFL Central Victoria page on Facebook.

It was another brilliant run by Ladson and her Golden Square team-mates as they won all 12 matches in a season affected by Covid lockdowns.

It was a closely-fought contest for the league’s top honour which was sponsored by Ultra Tune.

Ladson polled 18 votes as team-mate Amanda Carrod scored 16 to be runner-up.

Kangaroo Flat’s Molly Metcalf was third on 14 votes.

A newcomer to the league, Kerang had Sophie Peacock star in many matches, especially the four wins the Blues achieved.

Peacock polled 12 votes to be fourth in the league award.

It was a tie between Eaglehawk’s Lily den Houting and Bendigo Thunder’s Hannah Perry as they scored 11 votes to be fifth.

Next best was Thunder’s Megan Williamson with nine votes.

It was an awards double for Golden Square as Tiahna Cochrane earned the Champions IGA goalkicking title on 40 goals in 11 matches.

Highs for Golden Square’s gun forward included 10 goals against North Bendigo in round 10; seven at Kerang in round 11; five against Kangaroo Flat in round two; four against Kerang in round six.

Next in the award race was Bendigo Thunder’s Britney Mueck on 38 from 10 matches.

Eaglehawk’s Ebony Whiley, 22, and Grace Edlin, 20, also performed well for the Two Blues.

This season, Carly Ladson and husband Rick coached a talented Golden Square team.

A brilliant playing career by Rick Ladson with Hawthorn in the AFL included 125 matches across 10 seasons and the 2008 grand final win against Geelong.

After his playing days with the Hawks, Rick Ladson returned to Golden Square and was playing coach in 2013 as the Bulldogs marked a fifth consecutive victory for the Bendigo Advertiser premiership cup in the Bendigo FNL.

In the CVFLW action, Golden Square is on a winning streak of 29 matches.

The blue and gold won all 15 matches in the 2019 home and away series and then beat Kangaroo Flat in the second semi-final and grand final.

All eight clubs were represented in the 2021 High Street X-Ray Team of the Year.

Golden Square, Bendigo Thunder and Eaglehawk led the tally on four representatives.

There were three players selected from Kangaroo Flat and Kyneton, two from Strathfieldsaye Storm, and one each from Kerang and North Bendigo.

High Street X-Ray Team of the Year.

B: Lily Den Houting (Eaglehawk), Sophie Peacock (Kerang), Eillish Cumming (Eaglehawk).

Hb: Ursula van Dyk (Kyneton), Alana Long (Strathfieldsaye), Charlotte Edlin (Eaglehawk).

C: Heidi Erasmus (Kyneton), Hannah Perry (Bendigo Thunder), Grace Edlin (Eaglehawk).

Hf: Shelby Knoll (Kangaroo Flat), Molly Metcalf (Kangaroo Flat), Brianna Burt (Bendigo Thunder).

F: Jordan Savoia (Kyneton), Tiahna Cochrane (Golden Square), Bree Heiden (Golden Square).

Foll: Carly Ladson (Golden Square), Amanda Carrod (Golden Square), Ruby Campbell (Kangaroo Flat).

Inter: Alyssa Johnstone (North Bendigo), Britney Mueck (Bendigo Thunder), Ireland O’Rourke (Strathfieldsaye), Phoebe Cuttriss (Bendigo Thunder).

All players have been sent a letter of congratulations.

Award winners can collect the trophies from AFL Central Victoria Office from 10am on Monday and a photo of the award winner will be taken.

The CVFL thanks Champions IGA, Ultra Tune Kangaroo Flat, High Street X-Ray and The Bendigo Club for their support of the 2021 season.

Final standings in the Champions IGA-backed CVFLW footy competition for 2021:

Golden Square 931 per cent, 48 points; Bendigo Thunder 310, 36; Eaglehawk 231, 36; Kangaroo Flat 147, 20; Strathfieldsaye 96, 20; Kyneton 48, 16; Kerang 48, 16; North Bendigo 0.9, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

40 Tiahna Cochrane, Golden Square.

38 Britney Mueck, Bendigo Thunder.

22 Ebony Whiley, Eaglehawk.

20 Grace Edlin, Eaglehawk.

18 Shelby Knoll, Kangaroo Flat.

17 Tameeka Morrissey, Strathfieldsaye.

15 Brianna Burt, Bendigo Thunder.

14 Amanda Carrod, Golden Square.

14 Samantha Heron, Eaglehawk.

11 Sarah Baldwin, Golden Square.

11 Tiffany Bradley, Golden Square.

11 Jasmine Burzacott, Eaglehawk.

11 Lily Campbell, Golden Square.

11 Ella Cochrane, Golden Square.

11 Eloise Gretgrix, Kangaroo Flat.

10 Brea Ross, Golden Square.


Written by Nathan Dole.