Grasshoppers tackles fired-up White Hills


COLBINABBIN tackles a fired-up White Hills in this Saturday’s fourth round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football League.

The Grasshoppers have home-ground advantage at M.J. Morgan Reserve, but will be wary of a Demons line-up which struck back from consecutive defeats to score a two-goal win at home against North Bendigo last round.

A three-nil run by Colbo to start the season has included wins against Elmore by 89 and 30 points, and North Bendigo by 35 points.

In a quirk of the draw, Colbinabbin and Elmore played each other twice in the space of four weeks.

The Bloods led 55-51 at three quarter-time of last Saturday’s clash at Elmore.

Colbinabbin lifted intensity by a significant rate in the last and surged clear to win 99-69.

The Grasshoppers’ attack was led by Stephen Tuohey, three goals; Jed Brain, Jimmy McMurtrie and Luke Moore on two each.

Key players for the Julian Bull-coached Colbinabbin include Jed and James Brain, Laine Fitzgerald, ruckman Hadleigh Sirett, Ben Southam, Will Lowe and Todd Clarke.

The Grasshoppers named Tim Holobowski at full-forward.

White Hills put in a superb effort to score a 109-97 victory against North Bendigo in the Demons’ den at Scott Street.

But for wayward kicking the margin would have been higher.

Cohen Kekich led the Demons’ attack on four goals as Mitch Dole and Bayden Fallon chipped in with two each.

The versatile Rhys Irwin was best afield as Mitch Walsh, Bayden Fallon and Patrick Eefting played key roles for White Hills.

Demons’ coach Jack Fallon will look for big games from the likes of ruck-rover Brady Childs; Ben Bacon, Jake Dickens, Kaiden Skelton and David Wright in defence; and onballers Reilley Porter and Patrick Eefting.


Mount Pleasant tackles Leitchville Gunbower at Toolleen.

It will be a tough task for the Tim Bannan-coached Bombers on the Blues’ turf.

The third-placed Mounts scored a 51-point win at Heathcote’s Barrack Reserve last round as Ben Weightman, Billy Mahony, Jesse Tuohey and ruckman Chris Down led the way.

A formidable attack for the Darren Walsh and Adam Baird-coached Blues includes Ben Weightman and Zane Keighran.

Other players to watch for Mounts include forward/ruckman Mitch Bennett, Zac Featherby and Bryce Hinneberg.

After a terrific first-up win on Huntly’s turf, Leitchville Gunbower ran into the might of Lockington Bamawm United at Gunbower.

The Cats won 133-27 in a match where Austin Windridge was the Bombers’ multiple goalkicker on two.

The play of ruckman Jobee Warde, Tom Brereton, Matthew and Nathan McClellan, Blake Azzopardi, Samuel Lewis and Thomas Guerra will be a key to the Bombers keeping the heat on the Blues.


A red-hot Lockington Bamawm United is at home to take on Huntly.

The Hawks went into the bye after losses at Heathcote and then at home against Leitchville Gunbower.

It’s a huge challenge for the Huntly defence to limit the impact Cats’ forwards Ben Fulford, Anthony McMahon and Rhys Woodland have on this match.

A talented LBU team includes Lachlan Atherton, Jarod and Nathan Bacon, Coby Cox and Riley McIvor.

LBU ruckman and Sam Cheatley medallist Tyler Phillips kicked three goals against the LG line-up and is another of many attacking options.

The Stacy Fiske-coached Hawks will look to wingman Jaydon Cowling, full-forward Orion Downing, ruck-rover Tyler Miles, ruckman Mitch Christensen, centreman Jye Moon, and defenders Brandon Dimech, Steve Kairn and Jay McDonald to win plenty of contests.


North Bendigo and Heathcote have a rest this Saturday.

The Bulldogs and Saints met in the season-opener on April 2 where North Bendigo won 118 to 108 at HIbo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street.

Elmore has the bye.


Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

Lockington Bamawm United 276 per cent, 12 points; Colbinabbin 195, 12; Mount Pleasant 186, 12; North Bendigo 106, 8; Heathcote 72, 4; White Hills 63, 4; Leitchville Gunbower 51, 4; Huntly 84, 0; Elmore 55, 0.

Last week

Leading goalkickers:

14 Ben Weightman, MP.

13 Ben Fulford, LBU.

11 Dylan Klemm, NB.

9 Anthony McMahon, LBU.

8 Kai Cavallaro, H’cote; Matt Gray, NB; Dean Tydell, MP.

7 Blake Azzopardi, LG; Laine Fitzgerald, Colbo; Jordan Ford, NB; Connor Hamilton, H’cote; Cody Riddick, NB; Rhys Woodland, LBU.

6 Adam Baird, MP; James Brain, Colbo.; Jed Brain, Colbo; Jack Brooks, H’cote; Jackson Jones, H’cote; Cohen Kekich, WH; Braden Padmore, H’cote; Tyler Phillips, LBU.

5 Liam Birch, H’cote; Todd Clarke, Colbo; Sebastian De Napoli, Elm; Mitch Dole, WH; Orion Downing, Huntly; Bayden Fallon, WH; Shane Harris, NB.


Written by Nathan Dole.