Hawks win Pride Cup clash at Kyneton

EAGLEHAWK claimed the Pride Cup when it beat Kyneton by 32 points in Saturday’s night clash to kick-off round five in the Champions IGA-backed CVFL women’s football competition.

The Hawks marked a successful trek to Kyneton Showgrounds.

It was a flying start by the Hawks as they led 21-1 at quarter-time.

Kyneton hit back to win the second term, 16-7, but another three goals as it kept the Tigers to just one major gave the Two Blues a 25-point buffer at three quarter-time.

Eaglehawk scored 2.1 to a goal in the last to complete a 61-29 victory.

Grace Edlin kicked four goals and Samantha Heron added three.

Goalkickers for Kyneton were Shaelyn Evans, Freya Goddard, Matilda Maidment and Jordan Savoia.

Eaglehawk’s best were Eillish Cumming, Rachel Thomas, Charlotte Edlin, Kristal Lugosi, Grace Edlin and Hannah Kenny.

Natalie Korinfsky, Teagan Ainslie, Ashleigh Wilson, Uruslua Van Dyk, Heidi Erasmus and Jordan Savoia played well for the Tigers.

In Sunday’s play, Kangaroo Flat scored a 29-point victory on Kerang’s turf at Riverside Park.

It was a high-scoring first quarter in which Kangaroo Flat led 24-12 at the break.

The Roos upped the pressure and run to add 3.1 to 1.1 in the second.

Kerang worked hard to keep the Roos scoreless in the third, but cut the deficit by just four points.

At the final siren, Kangaroo Flat led 61-32.

Shelby Knoll kicked three goals for the Roos.

Kerang’s attack was led by Kerri-Ann Zeunert on two.

Best for Kangaroo Flat were Shelby Faulkner, Ruby Campbell, Chloe Green, Bridget O’Dwyer, Shelby Knoll and Eloise Gretrgix.

Jemma Meehan, Sophie Peacock, Tiana Shepherd, Sheridan Illanah Gallagher, Hannah Spencer and Donal Fellows played well for the Blues.

Goalkicking practice may be on the cards for Golden Square this week.

The unbeaten reining premier scored 18.26 as it kept North Bendigo scoreless at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street.

Sarah Baldwin and Lily Campbell kicked three goals apiece for Golden Square.

There were 10 goalkickers for Square in match were Lily Campbell, Carly Ladson, Monique Williams, Amanda Carrod, Baldwin, and Brea Ross were best.

Alyssa Johnstone, Rose Wilkens, Melissa Freestone, Madelin Jelbart, Lindsay Arthur and Cassandra Coughlan worked hard for North Bendigo.

It was Thunder which outplayed Storm at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane, Strathfieldsaye.

Led by the play of Emily Fitt, Karleigh Whyte and Karla Donovan, Bendigo Thunder stormed to a 31-nil lead by half-time.

Thunder did not let up in a 59-9 victory.

The in-form Britney Mueck kicked four goals as Chantelle McDonald added two.

Best for Bendigo Thunder included Kylie Wilson, Sharni Barker and Hannah Perry.

Storm’s best were Roweena Ilsley, Kate Kopp, Jessica Kopp, Tracey Anderson and Bridget Chalkley.

Standings in the CVFL women’s football league:

Golden Square 712 per cent, 16 points; Bendigo Thunder 436, 16; Kangaroo Flat 351, 12; Strathfieldsaye 152, 12; Eaglehawk 126, 12; Kyneton 119, 8; Kerang 17, 0; North Bendigo 0.1, 0.

Thunder star Britney Mueck leads the goalkicking race on 21 from Strathfieldsaye’s Tameeka Morrissey, 11; and Kangaroo Flat’s Shelby Knoll, 10.

Next best are Eaglehawk’s Grace Edlin, 9; Kyneton’s Teagan Ainslie, 8; and Golden Square’s Lily Campbell, 8.

Round six will be played this Sunday from 2.30pm.

North Bendigo takes on Eaglehawk at Hibo Hotel Oval in Atkins Street.

Strathfieldsaye faces Kangaroo Flat at Triple M Park in Tannery Lane.

Golden Square hosts Kerang at Fur Life Vet Oval, Wade Street.

Bendigo Thunder and Kerang clash at Weeroona Oval.


Written by Nathan Dole