HDFNL Footy | Round 7

Cats fight back to beat Bulldogs at Lockington

A FINAL quarter fightback ensured Lockington Bamawm United’s unbeaten run stayed intact as the Cats beat a determined North Bendigo in Saturday’s seventh round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football Netball League.

The Cats faced a 16-point deficit at three quarter-time of the match on their turf at Lockington.

Led by the play of Charlie Hinks, Thomas Leech and Joss Howlett, LBU marked a brilliant final term as it overran the Dogs.

The Cats scored 5.3 to 1.1.

At the final siren it was LBU in front, 12.14 (86) to 12.4 (76).

Unbeaten in 12 matches on its way to being declared premier in the 2021 season, the Brodie Collins-coached Cats are on a six-game winning streak this year.

Saturday’s margin was the closest any rival has finished against the premiership favourite.

Multiple goalkickers for LBU were Brodie Collins, Coby Cox, Ben Fulford and Thomas Leech on two each.

North Bendigo’s attack was led by captain Aaryn Craig and Storm Giri on three apiece, as Lachlan Tardrew and Nic Waterson chipped in with two each.

The Cats best included ruckman and last season’s Cheatley medallist Tyler Phillips, along with Jesse and Brodie Collins.

North Bendigo’s best were rover Nathan Newlan, key defender Lachlan Ford, Dylan Klemm, Nic Waterson in midfield, and Shane Harris.


Heathcote dominated three of four quarters as it scored a stunning eight-goal win against White Hills on the Saints’ turf at Barrack Reserve.

The Saints led 37-9 at quarter-time, but the Demons fired up to be within seven points at the long break.

Heathcote then unleashed another brilliant quarter which it won 42-18, and then slammed on 7.1 to 4.2 in the last to complete a 130-82 result.

Jack Brooks kicked five goals as Kai Cavallaro and Braden Padmore added four as the Saints did not march, they charged to victory.

Leading goalkickers for White Hills were Bayden Fallon, three, and Liam Bartels, two.

Best afield honours went to Mitchell McLean as Jack Brooks, Ryan Bailey, Rhys Bolton, Jackson Jones and Connor Hamilton starred for the Andrew Saladino-coached Heathcote.

The Demons’ best were Ryan Walker, Bayden Fallon, Ben Bacon, Hamish Richards, Doolan Nihill and Liam Bartels.


Although beaten, Huntly put in a great performance against Colbinabbin at Huntly’s Strauch Reserve.

The unbeaten Colbinabbin led 48-22 at half-time, but the Stacy Fiske-coached Hawks struck back to win the third term, 26-11, and be within 11 points at a quarter to go.

A six-goal haul James Brain proved to be a major factor in the contest as the Julian Bull-coached Grasshoppers added 4.3 and held Huntly to just two goals in the final term.

The Grasshoppers won 86-60 as James Brain, Luke Moore, Hadleigh Sirett, Tim Holobowswki, David Price and Jimmy McMurtrie led the way.

Huntly’s attack was led by Travis Mercadante, three goals, and Luke Gray on two.

Best for the Hawks were Jay McDonald, Tori Ferguson, Brandon Dimech, Mitch Billings, Mitch Christensen and Travis Mercadante.

An eight-goal haul by Darcy Laffy led Elmore to a 36-point win against Leitchville-Gunbower at Leitchville.


It was a high-scoring contest between the Bloods and Bombers.

Laffy kicked eight when Elmore went down to White Hills by 17 points in round five.

This time the Bloods took the points.

Elmore led 38-22 at quarter-time and 50-36 by the long break.

The Dylan Friedberger and Dylan Gordon-coached Bloods then lifted their play to another level as they slammed on 9.2 to 4.0 in the third to hold a 46-point lead.

The Tim Bannan-coached Bombers worked hard to win the final term, 25-15, but it was Elmore which took the premiership points in a 121-85 victory.

Laffy led the way in the Bloods’ attack as Kyle Armstrong and Mitchell Carson added two each.

Leading goalkickers for the LG line-up were James Barrat, four; Billy Hawken, Nathan McLellan and Ayden Walton, two each.

Elmore’s best were Nic Kellow, Kyle Armstrong, Darcy Laffy, Tannar Cerrone and Mitchell Carson.

Jobee Warde, Nathan McLellan, Ayden Walton, James Barrat, Sam Lewis and Lachlan Martini worked hard for the Bombers.


There are two crucial contests in next Saturday’s eighth round.

Unbeaten run of Colbinabbin or Lockington Bamawm United will be broken when they meet on the Grasshoppers’ patch at M.J. Morgan Reserve.

North Bendigo takes on Mount Pleasant, refreshed by the bye, at Hibo Hotel Oval in North Bendigo’s Atkins Street.

It’s the showdown between the Demons and Bombers as White Hills hosts Leitchville-Gunbower at White Hills.

Elmore plays Lockington Bamawm United at Elmore.

Heathcote has the bye.


Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder after seven rounds:

Colbinabbin 222 per cent, 28 points; Lockington Bamawm United 200, 24; Mount Pleasant 197, 20; North Bendigo 133, 16; Heathcote 94, 12; White Hills 68, 8; Elmore 67, 4; Leitchville Gunbower 36, 4; Huntly 53, 0.


Leading goalkickers:

31 Ben Weightman, MP.

22 James Brain, Colbo.

21 Jed Brain, Colbo.

19 Ben Fulford, LBU; Dylan Klemm, NB; Darcy Laffy, Elm.

18 Matt Gray, NB.

16 Jack Brooks, H’cote; Kai Cavallaro, H’cote; Braden Padmore, H’cote.

15 Laine Fitzgerald, Colbo.

14 Adam Baird, MP; Anthony McMahon, LBU.

12 Clint Shields, Colbo.; Rhys Woodland, LBU.

11 Jackson Conforti, H’cote; Jordan Ford, NB; Luke Moore, Colbo.; Tyler Phillips, LBU.

10 Blake Azzopardi, LG; Bayden Fallon, WH; Cohen Kekich, WH.

9 Billy Hawken, LG; Dylan Oaff, Elm.; Stephen Tuohey, Colbo.; Dean Tydell, MP.


Written by Nathan Dole.