HDFNL Netball Grand Final Review | White Hills nets another A-grade premiership flag


A BRILLIANT third quarter set up another A-grade netball premiership for White Hills on the Bendigo Bank Heathcote DFNL’s grand final day at Huntly.

A long-time power of the competition, White Hills faced a young Colbinabbin team on the court at Strauch Reserve in the finale to the 2023 season.

The Jen McIntyre-coached Colbinabbin led 25-24 at the end of a closely-fought first half.

In the third term the Lauren Bowles-coached Demons fired up.

Not only did the Demons pour in 20 goals, but just as importantly held the green and gold to a tally of eight goals to take a stranglehold on the contest.

Both teams scored 13 goals in the last as White Hills claimed a 57-46 victory.

The play of Bridget Murray in mid-court earned best on court honours as White Hills bounced back from being runner-up last season.

Premiership honours was shared among five clubs.

A big day for Molly Johnston, captain of the White Hills A-grade team included coaching the B-grade and B-reserve teams.

The B-grade contest went Elmore’s way by two goals, and the Harlowe Huntly Hawks soared to a 19-goal victory in B-reserve.

Mount Pleasant marked a premiership double as the Blues’ young guns took out the 17-under and 15-under contests.

Lockington Bamawm United capped a superb run to be the 13-under premiers.

Grand final scoreboard:


White Hills 14, 24, 44, 57

Colbinabbin 13, 25, 33, 46

White Hills:

Molly Johnston (captain), Danielle Wee Hee (vice-captain), Lauren Bowles, Alyssa Cole, Tegan Elliston, Karley Hynes, Amy Morrissey, Bridget Murray, Olivia Treloar. Coach: Lauren Bowles.


Elmore 8, 18, 29, 38

White Hills 14, 20, 27, 32


Stephanie Donnellon (captain), Isabel Butler, Tyanah Case, Lauren Dawes; Abbey Hay, Hollie Hildebrandt, Emily Jones, Lauren McKee, Abbey McLean, Sophie McLean, Ashleigh Ripper, Tammy Russell, Andrea Wilson. Coaches: Abbey Hay, Lauren McKee.


Elmore 10, 20, 27, 39

White Hills 13, 22, 30, 37


Lauren McKee (co-captain), Madison Cliff (co-captain), Tyanah Case, Remy Cowan, Remy Cowan, Lauren Dawes, Millie Haines, Elly Hayes, Lauren Holmberg, Emily Jones, Hayley Langdon, Jane Reid, Phillipa Renshaw, Georgia Southern. Coaches: Elly Hayes, Hayley Langdon.


Huntly 16, 31, 46, 61

White Hills 11, 21, 32, 42


Maddy Townsend (captain), Holly Guerra (vice-captain), Laura Bawden, Simone Corboy, Kiara Cowling, Emarnee Davies, Jorja Egan, Brooke Engi, Madi Lawrence, Melissa Matthews, Nikita Matthews, Lexi Thomas. Coaches: Kylie Webster, Taylor Mann.


Mount Pleasant 13, 29, 40, 51

Colbinabbin 11, 24, 35, 49

Mount Pleasant:

Madalyn Nihill (co-captain), Emily McCooke (co-captain), Imogen Ash, Georgie Butler, Claire Dunstan, Juliet Hogan, Ruby Loverso, Shae Osborn, Bree Tuohey, Ella Wilkinson, Lucy Wilkinson, Piper Wright. Coach: Teagan Byrne.


Mount Pleasant 13, 24, 33, 42

Huntly 9, 16, 24, 36

Mount Pleasant:

Ruby Loverso (co-captain), Lucy Wilkinson (co-captain), Rehmi Burke, Hannah Guo, Juliet Hogan, Rhylie Jones, Bella Lalor, Tarli Nihil, Lexie Walsh. Coach: Carly Hickson.


Lockington Bamawm 11, 20, 26, 39

Leitchville Gunbower 5, 12, 15, 22

Lockington Bamawm United:

Keira Mitchell (captain), Eden Christian, Lily Dunham, Ivy Giorgianni, Sophie Jardine, Keeley Major, Orlah Potier, Evie Riordan, Taya Tamblyn. Coach: Meg Howlett.