HDFNL | Reserves Grand Final PREVIEW

White Hills tackles Mounts in twos decider

TOP two in the home and away series, White Hills and Mount Pleasant clash in the reserves footy at Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football Netball League grand final day on Saturday.

It’s been a superb run by the Jacob Begg-coached White Hills whose only defeat in the run to the grand final at Huntly’s Strauch Reserve was a 14-point loss at Heathcote’s Barrack Reserve in round seven.

Mount Pleasant marked a 14-2 record in the regular season, with the only defeats being to the Demons.

Most recent meeting between the clubs was the second semi-final at Gunbower.

The Demons made a hot start to lead 20-nil at quarter-time and 34-13 by the long break.

Mount Pleasant won the third term, 28-15, but it was the Demons who fought on for a 64-54 victory.

Ethan Arnold and Daniel Trull kicked two goals each for White Hills as Hamish Richards, Daniel Trull, Rohan Bowles and Will Richardson were best.

The Blues’ attack was led by Jack Mackenzie on two goals.

Mount Pleasant’s best were James Walsh, Jack Hetherington, Harvey Gee and Oliver Bish.


The Taig Griffin and Luke Marchesi-coached Blues have been able to cut the deficit each time they have played White Hills.

In round 11, White Hills won 72-35 on Mounts’ ground at Toolleen.

Jarrod Prentice, Rohan Cadzow, Isaac Griffin and Daniel Trull were best for the Demons.

Mount Pleasant’s best were Jackson Hufer, Jack Teasdsale, Jacob Hopley and Taig Griffin.

A high-scoring match in round two at the Scott Street ground ended in a 106-69 victory for White Hills.

The Demons led 80-22 at half-time.

Best for White Hills were Rohan Cadzow, Jarrod Prentice, Sam Williams and Chris Wild.

Ned Burke, Mitch Bennett, Connor Moore and Jeremy Brewer played well for Mounts.


It’s been a big run through the finals for the Blues.

They kicked off the campaign with a 43-32 victory against Heathcote at Lockington as James Walsh, Jackson Hufer, Jacob Hopley and Jack Teasdale were best.

After being beaten by White Hills in the second semi, Mounts took on Heathcote again in last Saturday’s preliminary final at White Hills.

Jesse O’Connell, Jacob Smith and James Walsh kicked two goals apiece in a 73-58 win.

Best for the Blues were James Walsh, Matthew Fitzgerald, Jackson Hufer and Ned Burke.

There are plenty of goalkicking options in the White Hills line-up.

Leading goalkickers for the Demons are Joe Gardy, 30; Rohan Cadzow, 23; Oli Chivers, 19; Sam Williams, 18; Dean Bowles, 15; Ethan Arnold and Mitch McConnell on 14.

A major threat to White Hills is Mount Pleasant full-forward Jesse O’Connell who kicked a league high 71 goals.

The Blues will also look to Jack Mackenzie, 35; Jacob Smith, 26; and Jack Hetherington, 15, to finish of the hard work of the midfield, on-ballers and defence in the fight to be number one.

The Demons and Blues clash starts at 11.50am.

After a four-quarter showdown it will either be White Hills captain Jason Clark, or Blues’ on-field leaders Jeremey Brewer and Jacob Smith who raise the premiership cup.


Written by Nathan Dole.