HDFNL Round 11 Football Preview | Cats up for fight with Dogs at Lockington


THE Cats and Bulldogs are ready for another fight when Lockington Bamawm United plays North Bendigo in Saturday’s 11th round of senior footy in the Bendigo Bank Heathcote DFNL season.

There’s plenty riding on this contest as the fifth-placed LBU aims to strengthen its position, while North Bendigo is on the rebound from its first defeat this season.

For the Stacy Fiske-coached Cats there’s also the memory of the final quarter in round two when the Bulldogs charged home to claim a 10-point win at Hibo Hotel Oval.

LBU had the bye last round which followed an eight-point win at home against Mount Pleasant in the ninth round.

It was Mounts which broke North’s winning streak last round.

Key match-ups for the Cats and Dogs showdown include the ruck where dual Sam Cheatley medallist and LBU star Tyler Phillips is up against Jeremy Lambden.

The Cats have Brodie and Jesse Collins capable of doing plenty of damage in on-ball or midfield roles, or in attack.

LBU’s best in the win against Mounts included Baxter Anderson, Thomas Eade, Charlie Hinks, Fraser Monahan and Jeremy Mundie.

For the Rob Bennett-coached North Bendigo a key will be clearances and centre ball-ups.

The Bulldogs were outpointed in that area by the Blues last round.

In-form players for North Bendigo include key forward Dylan Klemm, midfielder Nic Waterson, Tim Devereaux in defence, captain Aaryn Craig, and tough on-baller Manny Thalasinos.

The Bulldogs’ line-up also includes Shan Harris, Jake Hall and Ben Knight.

Leitchville Gunbower will be chasing another big upset when it plays Heathcote at Gunbower.

Sixth on the ladder, the Shannon Keam-coached Bombers start the day four points behind Lockington Bamawm United.

The Bombers did upset LBU in the fifth round at Leitchville, so Heathcote will be wary on this road trip.

In round two the Andrew Saladino-coached Heathcote beat LG by 103 points at Barrack Reserve.

Leitchville Gunbower is on the rebound from a four-goal loss at White Hills last Saturday.

The Saints overcame a slow start to beat Colbinabbin by 13 points at home.

Key match-ups for Saturday include Lachlan Martini at full-back against Saints’ star full-forward Corey Grindlay, and Caleb Hislop in the centre to take on Jesse Davies.

Other key players for Leitchville Gunbower include Chris Horman and Tom Brereton in attack, captain Jye Keath across half-back, and on-ballers Zac Hislop and Mitchell Candy.

Key drivers in the Saints’ charge to second in the premiership race include Liam Jacques, Braden Padmore, Will Direen and captain Codie Price.

A strong line-up from Heathcote includes Brayden Klemke, Will Long, Jordan Cavallaro and Billy Price.

After a breakthrough victory the Harlowe Huntly Hawks are back on their turf at Strauch Reserve to take on Mount Pleasant.

The Harry Whittle and Jayden Cordy-coached Hawks showed plenty of fighting spirit to win at Elmore by 27 points last round.

Now the challenge is against a Mount Pleasant line-up which beat the ladder-leading North Bendigo last Saturday.

Lachy Wilson has had a superb year in attack for the Hawks and will test a Blues’ defence that is led by William Wallace and Michael Whiting.

Hawks’ captain Steve Kairn did well in the forward line against the Bloods, but was named in the centre.

Other key players for the brown and gold include Jackson Fry, Harry McCormick, Abe Sladden, Harrison Campbell, and Mitch Billings.

Mount Pleasant co-coaches Adam Baird and Ben Weightman were superb against North, whether it was in on-ball roles or closer to goal.

The elusiveness and pace of Mitch Rovers will test the Hawks all match.

Mounts also has Chris Down in the ruck, Zebb Murrell on a wing, Riley McNamara, Jack Craig and Pat O’Brien able to win plenty of the ball.

Colbinabbin is on home turf at M.J. Morgan Reserve to take on Elmore.

In round two it was the Jed Brain-coached Colbinabbin which marked a seven-point victory under Elmore’s lights.

The Grasshoppers will start favourites to mark their third win of the season.

Colbinabbin’s line-up includes Ben Barton, James Brain, Jai Carn, Laine and Logan Fitzgerald, Jasper McArdle, David Price and Stephen Tuohey.

A win for the Dylan Friedberger and Mick Woolhouse-coached Elmore will put it above Colbinabbin on the ladder.

The Bloods will look for big games from the likes of Jordan Buckley, Nathan Kay, Zac Laffy, Daniel Russell, and Max, Rhys and Zack Holmberg.

White Hills has the bye.

Heathcote DNL senior footy ladder:

North Bendigo 138 per cent, 32 points; Heathcote 149, 28; White Hills 140, 28; Mount Pleasant 168, 24; Lockington Bamawm United 116, 16; Leitchville Gunbower 71, 12; Colbinabbin 79, 8; Elmore 65, 8; Huntly 42, 4.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

45 Corey Grindlay, Heathcote.

41 Ben Weightman, Mount Pleasant.

36 Kaiden Antonowicz, White Hills.

29 Lachy Wilson, Huntly.

28 Dylan Klemm, North Bendigo.

26 Jordan Ford, North Bendigo.

24 Chris Horman, Leitchville Gunbower.

24 Mitch Rovers, Mount Pleasant.

18 Liam Bartels, White Hills.

18 Anthony McMahon, Lockington Bamawm United.

15 Thomas Leech, Lockington Bamawm United.

13 Liam Birch, Heathcote.

13 Jai Carn, Colbinabbin.

12 Aarryn Craig, North Bendigo.

12 Laine Fitzgerald, Colbinabbin.

12 Hakeem Johnson, North Bendigo.

12 Darcy Laffy, Elmore.

12 Braden Padmore, Heathcote.

12 Cody Riddick, North Bendigo.

11 Cohen Kekich, White Hills.

11 Tyler Phillips, Lockington Bamawm United.

10 Adam Baird, Mount Pleasant.

10 Bayden Fallon, White Hills.

10 Liam Jacques, Heathcote.

10 Riley McIvor, Lockington Bamawm United.

10 Riley McNamara, Mount Pleasant.

10 Abe Sladden, Huntly.

10 Nic Warnock, White Hills.