HDFNL Round 12 Football Preview | Saints confront Demons on Heathcote’s turf


A SHOWDOWN between the Saints and Demons highlights this Saturday’s round 12 action in the Bendigo Bank Heathcote DFNL senior footy season.

It’s first against fourth as Heathcote takes on White Hills at Heathcote’s Barrack Reserve from 2.30pm.

When these clubs met under the lights at Winslow Constructors Oval in White Hills in round three it was the Demons who fought on for a 115-113 victory.

On that night the Demons held a 25-point lead at half-time and were up by seven goals before the Andrew Saladino-coached Saints unleashed a brilliant eight-goal blitz.

Heathcote led by a goal going into the final term, but it was the red and black which hit back to take the points in one of the games of the season.

Kaiden Antonowicz kicked a match-high nine goals for the Demons and will be a major threat to the Saints again.

Heathcote’s attack in round three was led by Corey Grindlay, eight goals, and Shannon Dowsett.

Both are on the sidelines for Saturday’s match.

Grindlay broke a finger in the round 10 win against Colbinabbin, so last week it was Victor Butler and Braden Padmore who led the attack in a seven-point win against Leitchville Gunbower.

In-form players for the Saints include rover Liam Jacques, captain Codie Price at half-back, Will Direen and Connor Hamilton in defence, and Thomas Pain.

White Hills had the bye last round.

Win at Heathcote and the Jack Fallon and Jake Pallpratt-coached White Hills will climb into the top three as North Bendigo has the bye.

Those to play well for the Demons in the round 10 win against Leitchville Gunbower included Liam Bartels, Patrick Crawford and Ben Taylor.

White Hills also welcomed back on-baller Thomas Brereton who had not played since being injured against Mount Pleasant in the fifth round.

The Demons team bound for Heathcote includes Jake Allport, Brady Childs and Patrick Eefting, and classy half-forward Mitchell Dole is back in the attack.

After a six-goal win put North Bendigo off the top rung, Lockington Bamawm United is back at Nichol Trading Oval in Lockington to take on the Harlowe Huntly Hawks.

Since a 33-point loss at Heathcote the Cats have struck back to win their past three matches.

It’s a big game for LBU coach Stacy Fiske against his former club.

LBU’s best last round included Charlie Hinks, Ben Holman and Anthony McMahon.

The Cats also have premiership-winning players such as Brodie Collins, Riley McIvor and Tyler Phillips to take on the Hawks.

A high level of pressure will be vital for the Harry Whittle and Jayden Cordy-coached Hawks against the Cats.

Huntly’s best in last week’s clash with Mount Pleasant were Harry McCormick, Kyle Forster, Jackson Fry and Mitch Billings.

Key forward Lachy Wilson has played well to be fourth in goalkicking stakes on 32.

Mount Pleasant is back at Toolleen to play Colbinabbin.

The Adam Baird and Ben Weightman-coached Blues are likely to have too much scoring power for the Grasshoppers.

In-form players for Mounts include William Wallace and Bryce Hinneberg in defence, forward/onballer Mitch Rovers, and Fletcher White.

Captain and ruckman Chris Down also provides the Blues with first possession many times.

Colbinabbin drew last Saturday’s home game against Elmore, 79-all.

Best for the Grasshoppers in that match were Luke Moore, Laine and Logan Fitgerald, Connor Aldous, Aidan Basile and coach Jed Brain.

Been a tough run for Colbinabbin which although beaten played incredibly well in losses to LBU, North Bendigo and Heathcote by margins of seven, three and 13 points.

A high of the Hoppers’ season is the play of high-leaping ruckman Jasper McArdle.

Elmore is back on home turf to take on Leitchville Gunbower.

In round three, Elmore beat the Bombers by 25 points at Leitchville.

A win for the Mick Woolhouse-coached Elmore this Saturday will put the Bloods above LG on the ladder.

In last week’s play, Jacob Styles kicked nine goals in Elmore’s draw at Colbinabbin’s M.J. Morgan Oval.

Recruited from Violet Town, Styles was the Bloods’ best last round, along with Kyle Armstong and Mattia Curry.

A highlight of this contest will be in the ruck where Daniel Russell takes on LG star Jobee Warde.

Other key players for the Bloods include Rhys and Zack Holmberg, Darcy and Zac Laffy, Nathan Kay and Nic Kellow.

The Shannon Keam-coached Bombers played well to almost upset Heathcote at Gunbower.

Players to watch in the LG team include rover Mitchell Candy, Billy Hawken, Zac Hislop, Jye Keath and Clay McGregor.

The Bombers also have Caleb and Zac Hislop as ruck-rover and in the centre, James and Tom Brereton on the wings, Chris Horman and Lachlan Sverns in attack.

North Bendigo has the bye.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

Heathcote 145 per cent, 32 points; North Bendigo 129, 32; Mount Pleasant 176, 28; White Hills 140, 28; Lockington Bamawm United 121, 20; Leitchville Gunbower 73, 12; Colbinabbin 81, 10; Elmore 69, 10; Huntly 41, 4.

Leaders in the goalkicking race:

45 Corey Grindlay, Heathcote.

44 Ben Weightman, Mount Pleasant.

36 Kaiden Antonowicz, White Hills.

32 Lachy Wilson, Huntly.

29 Dylan Klemm, North Bendigo.

27 Mitch Rovers, Mount Pleasant.

26 Jordan Ford, North Bendigo.

25 Chris Horman, Leitchville Gunbower.

22 Anthony McMahon, Lockington Bamawm United.

18 Liam Bartels, White Hills.

17 Thomas Leech, Lockington Bamawm United.

15 Braden Padmore, Heathcote.

14 Laine Fitzgerald, Colbinabbin.

14 Darcy Laffy, Elmore.

13 Liam Birch, Heathcote.

13 Victor Butler, Heathcote.

13 Jai Carn, Colbinabbin.

13 Billy Hawken, Leitchville Gunbower.

13 Lachlan Sverns, Leitchville Gunbower.

12 Adam Baird, Mount Pleasant.

12 Aarryn Craig, North Bendigo.

12 Hakeem Johnson, North Bendigo.

12 Riley McIvor, Lockington Bamawm United.

12 Tyler Phillips, Lockington Bamawm United.

12 Cody Riddick, North Bendigo.

11 Jed Brain, Colbinabbin.

11 Liam Jacques, Heathcote.

10 Brodie Collins, Lockington Bamawm United.

10 Coby Dunlop, Mount Pleasant.

10 Bayden Fallon, White Hills.

10 Riley McNamara, Mount Pleasant.

10 Abe Sladden, Huntly.

10 Jacob Styles, Elmore.

10 Nic Warnock, White Hills.