HDFNL Round 5 Football Preview


Bulldogs face Demons heat at North Bendigo

NORTH Bendigo takes on a red-hot White Hills in Saturday’s fifth round of the Bendigo Bank Heathcote DFNL senior footy action.

A big crowd is likely to pack into Bendigo Club Oval in North Bendigo’s Atkins Street for the clash between the unbeaten teams from 2.15pm.

A hat-trick of wins by North Bendigo included a 10-goal triumph at Heathcote last Saturday.

On-ball and midfield contests will be vital to the hopes of both teams.

The Bulldogs and Demons have plenty of goalscoring power.

North Bendigo’s attack includes Dylan Klemm, Jordan Ford, Jake Dean and Hakeem Johnson.

At the other end of the ground, White Hills has co-coach Kaiden Antonowicz, Liam Bartels, James Davies and Cohen Kekich.

Players to watch for the Rob Bennett-coached North Bendigo include Nick Waterson, ruckman Aidan Brohm, wingman Riley Paetow, Ryan Hartley and Tyson Findlay.

White Hills won its latest hit-out against Colbinabbin by 12 goals.

In-form players for the red and black are Ryan Walker, Alex Davis, Thomas Brereton and Nick Warnock.

White Hills also has co-coach Jack Fallon, Callum Crisp, Jack Lawton, Mitch Dole and Jayden Sheean to test the Dogs in every quarter.

It’s a big day at Elmore as the club marks its 150th year celebrations when it takes on Heathcote.

There is a great rivalry between the Bloods and Saints.

Elmore will look to brilliant forward James Harney, ruckman Daniel Russell, Nathan Kay, Rhys Holmberg, and Luke Price to lead the way.

Massive test against a Heathcote team on the rebound from defeat.

Expect the Andrew Saladino-coached Saints to be fired up from the start.

Heathcote has plenty of goalscoring power through Corey Grindlay, Cooper Webber-Mirkin and Braden Padmore.

A talented Saints line-up includes ruckman James Orr, Cheatley medallist and on-baller Liam Jacques, Codie Price, Rhys Bolton and Jackson Conforti.

Colbinabbin is home at M.J. Morgan Oval to take on a Huntly team chasing consecutive victories.

Big test for the Jed Brain-coached Grasshoppers against the Harlowe Huntly Hawks.

Key players for Colbinabbin include Jai Carn and Alex Carr in attack, captain Will Lowe, centreman Nathan Basile, Julian Bull, and Hugh and Jimmy McMurtrie.

Will be a big match for Grasshoppers defender Connor Aldous against his former club.

The Hamish Morcom-coached Hawks outplayed and outran Lockington Bamawm United to win last Saturday’s match by 34 points.

Players to watch in the brown and gold include Dale Lowry in the centre, Abe Cladden and Lachy Wilson in attack, ruckman Jackson Fry, and Ben Daley and Steve Kairn in defence.

Lockington Bamawm United is back at Lockington’s Nichol Trading Oval to take on Mount Pleasant.

A 1-3 record has the Stacy Fiske-coached LBU in eighth place.

Will not be an easy task against the reigning premier which had the bye last round.

LBU will look for big games from Brodie and Jesse Collins, ruckman Tyler Phillips, Jeremy Mundie, Anthony McMahon, Brock Kennedy, Matt Hore and Thomas Leech.

The Cameron Carter-coached Mount Pleasant won its round three clash with Huntly by 104 points.

Highly-prized recruit Jack Hickman, ruckman Chris Down, and Caelan Smith were best.

The Blues have Ben Bisset in top form in attack.

A talented Mounts line-up includes Zeb Murrell, Mitch Rovers, Bailey and Fletcher White, Riley McNamara and Christian Hatzis.

Leitchville Gunbower has the bye.

Heathcote DFNL senior footy ladder:

White Hills 247 per cent, 16 points; North Bendigo 210, 12; Heathcote 150, 12; Leitchville Gunbower 78, 8; Mount Pleasant 118, 4; Colbinabbin 69, 4; Huntly 56, 4; Lockington Bamawm United 56, 4; Elmore 46, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

21 Corey Grindlay, Heathcote.

14 Dylan Klemm, North Bendigo.

13 Kaiden Antonowicz, White Hills.

12 Alex Carr, Colbinabbin.

11 Liam Bartels, White Hills.

11 James Harney, Elmore.

10 Anthony McMahon, Lockington Bamawm United.

10 Zak Saad, Heathcote.

7 Ben Bisset, Mount Pleasant.

7 James Davies, White Hills

7 Jake Dean, North Bendigo.

7 Cohen Kekich, White Hills.

7 Lachy Wilson, Huntly.

6 Christian Hatzis, Mount Pleasant.

6 Chris Horman, Leitchville Gunbower.

6 Stuart Taylor, Lockington Bamawm United.

6 Cooper Webber-Mirkin, Heathcote.

5 Liam Birch, Heathcote.

5 Jed Brain, Colbinabbin.

5 Hakeem Johnson, North Bendigo.

5 Thomas Leech, Lockington Bamawm United.

5 Nathan McLellan, Leitchville Gunbower.

5 Jake Miller, White Hills.

5 Nick Warnock, White Hills.