Hooper earns Geoff Macilwain Medal as Maryborough’s best

GUN midfielder Jayden Hooper has joined many of Maryborough’s best by winning the Geoff Macilwain Medal as senior footy best and fairest for  the 2019 season.

Hooper’s play was among many highlights in the Magpies’ resurgence throughout the Bendigo Bank Bendigo Football Netball League action.

On the netball court, Keely Hare earned the A-grade best and fairest award.

A joint winner in 2018, Hare capped another superb season for the Pies.

The talented goalshooter was first in the duel for the team champion award ahead of Jordan Macilwain, a dual winner of the A-grade best and fairest.

Top two in the race for the Geoff Macilwain Medal were Hooper and previous winner Coby Perry.

The Richard Peart Memorial trophy, awarded on votes cast by senior players, was earned by Jayden Hooper.

Leading goalkicker was Matt Bilton on 27 in his return to the club.

Highlights of the club’s presentation night included life membership being awarded to Tony Vadala.

Best clubperson awards went to Nick Adams and B-reserve netball coach Stacey Russell.

Bella Westbrook and Aiden Hare were joint recipients of the Don Ferguson Memorial award, and Jayden Templeton was presented with the A.G. Leech Meritorious Service for deeds on and off the field.

In a year where he played his 400th match for Maryborough, Cam Skinner was runner-up for the reserves best and fairest.

Team champion for the reserves was Kellan Maffescioni, who also kicked 51 goals to win the goalkicking award.

A great season for the Ben Lavars-coached senior footy team included a win-loss record of 6-12 and sixth in the Bendigo FNL senior premiership race.

After a winless run in 2016, and 1-17 records the past two seasons, Maryborough was a dramatic improver this year.

The Magpies have appointed Justin Abrams as senior coach for the 2020 campaign.

Maryborough FNC award winners for the 2019 season:

Senior football:

Geoff Macilwain Medal, best and fairest: Jayden Hooper.

Runner-up: Coby Perry.

Most determined: Daniel Vadala.

Most consistent: Lachlan Butler.

Richard Peart Memorial, seniors best player, as voted on by the players: Jayden Hooper.

Most improved: Mitch McClure.

Goalkicking: Matthew Bilton, 27.

Coaches award: Liam Latch.

Maryborough Advertiser awards:

Seniors best and fairest: Jayden Hooper, 40 votes.

Runner-up: Lachlan Butler, 35.

Third: Matthew Bilton, 32

Reserves football:

Best and fairest: Kellan Maffescioni.

Runner-up: Cam Skinner.

Coaches award: Sam Flynn.

Leading goalkicker: Kellan Maffescioni, 51.

Richard Giles Memorial, best first-year player: Kyle Downs.

Carl Lawrence Memorial, most courageous player: Riley Kaye.

Netball awards:


Best and fairest: Keely Hare.

Runner-up: Jordan Macilwain.

Coaches award: Maggie Tranter.


Best and fairest: Dani Cain.

Runner-up: Rachael Palmer.

Coaches award: Elisha De Amicis.


Best and fairest: Breanna Mullen.

Runner-up: Ashleigh Ripper.

Coaches award: Rebecca Mills.


Best and fairest: Gina Ross.

Runner-up: Myah Linton.

Coaches award: Caitlin Britten.


Coaches award: Talia Arrowsmith.


400 games: Cam Skinner.

250 games: Eathen Jennings.

200 games: Rachel Palmer.

100 games: Sharine Lanfranchi, Ella Tranter.

50 games: Megan Calleja, Myah Linton, Bella Westbrook, Ellie Wright.

Club awards:

Netball clubperson of the year: Stacey Russell.

Don Ferguson Memorial: Aiden Hare, Bella Westbrook.

A.G. Leech Meritorious Service, on and off-field: Jayden Templeton.

Best clubperson: Nick Adams.

President’s trophy: Barry Gaylard.

Life membership: Tony Vadala.