Huntly aims to upset Mount Pleasant again

HUNTLY will aim to stun Mount Pleasant for the second time this season when they clash in Saturday’s 11th round of the Bendigo Bank Heathcote District Football Netball League senior footy action.

A win for the Hawks on Mounts’ turf at Toolleen would put Huntly in the top five at the Blues’ expense.

When these clubs met in round four it was the Hawks who soared to a 90-55 victory at Specialist Breeders Australia Oval in Huntly.

Mounts and Huntly are both on the rebound from defeat.

The Darren Walsh and Adam Baird-coached Blues will be keen to see gun forward Ben Weightman hit form, while Baird, Billy Mahony and Liam Collins are capable of setting up plenty of attacks.

Huntly has brought in Matt Jeffries and Jake Semmel, but Max Edwards and Anthony Tanner are out.

Key players for the Hawks include Ryan Semmel in the centre, Tyler Miles, Luke Semmel, Jay McDonald, Jaydon Cowling, and coach Stacy Fiske.

Heathcote and White Hills meet in the battle of the Saints and Demons at Pigeon Park in Heathcote’s Barrack Reserve.

The Saints won by 23 points at Leitchville last week, while white Hills went down by seven points in a hard-fought contest with North Bendigo.

In round four, Demons’ full-forward Jed Lamb kicked 13 goals against the Saints.

Lamb has a season tally of 60 and looms as a big threat to Heathcote.

Hayden and David Wright, ruckman Lachlan Sidebottom, Eli Pearce and Rhys Irwin were among the best for White Hills last week.

Key players for the Wayne Primmer-coached Saints include Kai Cavallaro, Billy Price, Jake Condon, Brayden Klemke and Louis Piccolo.

Jackson Bailey was added to Heathcote’s squad.

After a bye, Elmore is back on home turf to face the unbeaten Lockington Bamawm United.

James Harney leads Elmore’s attack on 26 goals.

It’s in midfield and defence where the Bloods will have to keep the pressure up.

Elmore defenders Zac Laffy, Joe Harney and Zack Holmberg will be up against Patrick Gardiner, Anthony McMahon and Ben McPhee.

Key players for the Bloods include Ben Makepeace, Mitch Cricelli, Dylan Oaff and coach Dylan Friedberger.

The Cats regain Ben McPhee from injury and have brought in Will Roffey, but Lachlan Atherton and Trent Bacon are out.

The Brodie Collins-coached LBU has stars on every line.

Colbinabbin and Leitchville Gunbower clash at M.J. Morgan Reserve in Colbinabbin.

Hugh Barlow, Michael Battista, Laine Fitzgerald, Joel Sacco and Jason Turnbull are in Colbo’s team for Ben Barton, Tom Hill, Geordie McMurtrie, Patrick O’Brien and Ben Southam.

A strong Grasshoppers’ line-up includes Lochlan Sirett in the ruck, Todd Clarke in the centre, Jedd Brain and Matt Riordan in attack, James Lawless and Nick Knight in defence.

The Bombers will look for strong games from the likes of Lee Pollock in the ruck, Nathan McLellan, Ayden Walton and Alex Keath in defence, Tom Brereton, Toby Duncan and Josh Hawken in midfield.

North Bendigo has the bye.

Heathcote DFNL senior football ladder:

Lockington Bamawm United 296 per cent, 36 points; White Hills 169, 32; Colbinabbin 151, 24; North Bendigo 99, 24; Mount Pleasant 87, 16; Huntly 94, 12; Elmore 59, 12; Heathcote 77, 8; Leitchville Gunbower 35, 0.

Leading goalkickers:

29 Jarod Bacon, LBU; 26 James Harney, Elm; 23 Ben Weightman, MP; 22 Thomas Leech, LBU; 21 James McPhee, LBU; 20 Shane Harris, NB; 19 Lachlan Collins, LBU; 18 Stephen Tuohey, Colbo.; 17 Dylan Klemm, NB; 16 Jed Brain, Colbo.; 16 Rhys Deacon, MP; 15 Mitch Dole, WH; 14 Flynn Campbell, Huntly; 13 Anthony McMahon, LBU; 13 Kai Cavallaro, H’cote; 12 Patrick Gardiner, LBU; 11 Lachlan Collihole, WH; Aarryn Craig, NB; Mitch Cricelli, Elm.; Ben McPhee, LBU;  Ryan Semmel, Huntly.


Written by Nathan Dole.